Meet Iain Thomas, the 36-year-old South African poet who is famous all over the world except in SA

Trevor Noah has pulled out at the last minute from hosting the MAMAs 2016, due to 'a severe upper respiratory infection'

Alternative music gets snubbed at biggest Afrikaans award show

2014-05-02 12:56
Cape Town – Huisgenoot on Friday announced the nominees for this year’s Huisgenoot Tempo Awards.

The list is jam-packed with the cream of Afrikaans artists except for one glaring exclusion from the list.

All the alternative Afrikaans musos were snubbed after the "best alternative album of the year" category was removed from the long list.

Die Heuwels Fantasties took home the trophy at last year’s award show. Huisgenoot has been embracing more alternative music in recent years and even invited Die Heuwels Fantasties onto the Skouspel stage.

According to the publication some music categories had to be removed from the list to make place for the TV and movie categories. The "best instrumental album" and "best children's album" categories were also cut.

The winners of the Tempo Awards will be announced at a glitzy ceremony at Emperors Palace on 3 June.

The nominees are:


Newcomer of the year:
A1 Anneke Hanekom – Kom Nader
A2 Appelblou – Sonskyn in die Aand
A3 Elvis Se Seun – Boere Rock
A4 Joshua na die Reën – Joshua na die Reën
A5 Rozelle Blackie – 01
A6 Stephan Visagie – 4 Keeps

Gospel album of the year:
B1 Broers – Voetspore 2
B2 Chris Chameleon – Herleef: Psalms en Gesange
B3 Ghapi – III
B4 Leon Ferreira – Asemrowend
B5 Piet Smit – Eerste Liefde
B6 Romanz – Lig Jou Stem Op

Contemporary album of the year:
C1 Andriëtte – Wat Rym met Liefde?
C2 Bok van Blerk – Steek die Vure Aan
C3 Dozi – Hande Vol Genade
C4 Elvis Blue – Afrikaans
C5 Koos van der Merwe – Leonard Cohen in Afri-Kaans
C6 Pieter Koen – Wat die Hart van Vol Is

Pop/Sokkiedans album of the year:
D1 4 Werke – 4 Harte
D2 Gerhard Steyn en Anaïs – Liefdesoorlog
D3 Heinz Winckler – Jy’s Bonatuurlik
D4 Jay – #DisHoeOnsRol
D5 Karlien van Jaarsveld – Uitklophou
D6 Kurt Darren – Seerower

Music video of the year:
E1 Ampie – Plain Jane
E2 André Schwartz – Ek Kom Huis Toe
E3 Andriëtte – Sewe Oseane
E4 Dans Dans Lisa – Ons teen die Wêreld
E5 Elvis Blue – Rede om te Glo
E6 Karlien van Jaarsveld – Hande

Song of the year:
F1 Adam – Sal Oorlog vir Jou Maak (geskryf deur Johan C. Venter, Hugo Ludik en Joe Foster)
F2 Andriëtte – Sewe Oseane (geskryf deur Rudi Claase)
F3 Bobby van Jaarsveld – Totaal Finaal (geskryf deur Bobby van Jaarsveld, Johan Vorster en André Odendaal)
F4 Bok van Blerk – Land van Melk en Heuning (geskryf deur Johan Vorster)
F5 Corlea – Swart Koffie (geskryf deur Johan Vorster)
F6 Elvis Blue – Rede om te Glo (geskryf deur Elvis Blue)
F7 Jay – #DisHoeOnsRol (geskryf deur Ewald Coleske en Christoph Kotzé)
F8 Joe Foster – Pad na Jou Hart (geskryf deur Joe Foster)
F9 Karlien van Jaarsveld – Hande (geskryf deur Christoph Kotzé en Johan Vorster)
F10 Kurt Darren – Seerower (geskryf deur Don Kelly, Marc Brendon, Kurt Darren en
Adolf Vorster)

Movies, TV, Radio, books
TV presenter of the year:
G1 Coenie de Villiers – Kwêla
G2 Freek Robinson – Robinson Regstreeks
G3 Hannes van Wyk – Bravo!
G4 Nataniël – Die Nataniël Tafel
G5 Paul Rothmann – Pasella
G6 Pieter Koen – Jukebox

TV Series of the year: actuality, games, reality:
H1 Boer Soek ’n Vrou
H2 Bravo!
H3 Die Nataniël Tafel
H4 Mooiloop!
H5 Noot vir Noot
H6 Pasella

TV Series of the year : drama, sitcom:
I1 Donkerland
I2 Geraamtes in die Kas
I3 Swartwater
I4 Treknet
I5 Vallei van Sluiers
I6 Vir Beter of Baie Beter

Afrikaans movie of the year:
J1 As Jy Sing
J2 Bakgat 3
J3 Die Laaste Tango
J4 Faan Se Trein
J5 Molly & Wors
J6 Pad na Jou Hart

Actor of the year: Afrikaans film, TV drama, sitcom:
K1 Brendon Daniels – Vallei van Sluiers
K2 Gys de Villiers – Geraamtes in die Kas, Jimmy in Pienk
K3 Ivan Botha – Pad na Jou Hart
K4 Jacques Bessenger – Donkerland
K5 Louw Venter – Swartwater, Jimmy in Pienk, Die Laaste Tango
K6 Willie Esterhuizen – Molly & Wors, Faan Se Trein

Actress of the year: Afrikaans film, TV drama, sitcom:
L1 Anel Alexander – Geraamtes in die Kas, Faan Se Trein, Donkerland
L2 Donnalee Roberts – Pad na Jou Hart
L3 Heléne Lombard – Donkerland, Geraamtes in die Kas
L4 Jana Strydom – Donkerland, Swartwater
L5 Lizz Meiring – Molly & Wors
L6 Rolanda Marais – Donkerland

Soapie actor of the year:
M1 Erik Holm – Binnelanders
M2 Marcus Muller – Villa Rosa
M3 Ramey Short – Binnelanders
M4 Reynardt Hugo – Binnelanders
M5 Theodore Jantjies – 7de Laan
M6 Werner Coetser – 7de Laan

Soapie actress of the year:
N1 Andrea Streso – 7de Laan
N2 Annelisa Weiland – 7de Laan
N3 Desiré Gardner – Binnelanders
N4 Nadia Valvekens – Binnelanders
N5 Shaleen Surtie-Richards – Villa Rosa
N6 Therese Benade – Villa Rosa

Soapie of the year:
O1 7de Laan
O2 Binnelanders
O3 Villa Rosa

Radio presenter of the year:
P1 Amore Bekker – RSG
P2 Andre Kunz – OFM
P3 Johan Rademan – RSG
P4 Martelize Brink – RSG
P5 Rian van Heerden – Jacaranda FM
P6 Tracey Lange – Smile 90.4FM

Afrikaans book of the year:
Q1 Deon Meyer – Kobra
Q2 Dominique Botha – Valsrivier
Q3 Etienne van Heerden – Klimtol
Q4 Irma Venter – Skrapnel
Q5 Madeleine Volschenk – Elke Dogter Het ’n Ma
Q6 Mariël le Roux – Klara

How to vote:

SMS the letters TEM plus the code of your favourite artist with your name to 32113. (Example: TEME5) Each SMS costs R1. Only 20 votes perscellphone number is allowed. Visit for more information. Voting closes at midnight on 28 May.

Read more on:    celebrities  |  music
NEXT ON CHANNEL24X publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Comments have been closed for this article.

Recent Gossip

Shailene Woodley has written an essay detailing her arrest for trespassing and what people can do to help protest the Dakota Access Pipeline. Read More »

Benedict Cumberbatch's wife Sophie Hunter, who already has 16-month-old son Christopher together, is pregnant with their second child. Read More »

inside channel 24

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.