Meet Iain Thomas, the 36-year-old South African poet who is famous all over the world except in SA

Trevor Noah has pulled out at the last minute from hosting the MAMAs 2016, due to 'a severe upper respiratory infection'

JK Rowling revealed as crime writer

2013-07-14 17:00
London - An ex-military man tries his hand at writing, publishes a debut detective novel, and wins critical acclaim. But here's the twist in the tale: The true identity of the author is none other than Harry Potter creator JK Rowling.

It's impressive literary wizardry by Rowling, who said she relished the freedom of writing The Cuckoo's Calling under her pseudonym Robert Galbraith.

"I hoped to keep this secret a little longer because being Robert Galbraith has been such a liberating experience," she said in a statement released by her publicist on Sunday. "It has been wonderful to publish without hype or expectation, and pure pleasure to get feedback from publishers and readers under a different name."

The Cuckoo's Calling, a story about a war veteran turned private investigator who is called in to probe the mysterious death of a model, was published to rave reviews in April by Sphere, part of publisher Little, Brown & Co.

The Sunday Times claimed it was investigating "how a first-time author with a background in the army and the civilian security industry could write such an assured debut novel" when it connected the dots.

The paper said clues included the fact that Rowling and Galbraith shared the same agent and editor, and that Little, Brown published Rowling's novel for adults, The Casual Vacancy. It also said the book's style and subject matter resembled Rowling's work.

Best-selling list

Rowling's publicist confirmed the paper's detective work was correct, and the news helped the novel climb straight to the top of Amazon's best-selling list on Sunday.

In her statement, Rowling thanked her editor David Shelley, the publishing staff who worked on the book without knowing her identity, and the reviewers who praised it without knowing about her authorship.

She added that Galbraith planned to keep writing the series, and her publisher said that the second book is expected to be published next summer. Now that her identity is revealed, Little, Brown said The Cuckoo's Calling will be reprinted with a revised author biography.

On its website, the publisher marketed the book as a classic crime novel in the tradition of P.D. James and Ruth Rendell. It said the novel, whose central character is named Cormoran Strike, was the first of a series of crime novels to come.

The publisher described Galbraith as an ex-military man, married with two sons, who wrote the novel based on experiences from his military life. Revealingly, it also stated that Galbraith was a pseudonym.

The publisher lists many favourable reviews to the book, including critics who called it "a scintillating debut novel" and who praised Galbraith for his "superb flair as a mystery writer".

Rowling recently turned to writing for grown-ups after becoming the world's most successful living writer with the Harry Potter books, which sold more than 450 million copies worldwide.

Reviews for her highly-anticipated novel The Casual Vacancy, published last year, were mixed. Some praised the book, a bleak tale about class warfare and the darker sides to a community in small-town England, for tackling difficult subjects, but others thought it lacked the magic touch that made Rowling's books of wizardry so popular.

Read more on:    jk rowling  |  celebrities publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Recent Gossip

Kanye West's sweet birthday message to Kim Kardashian West will have you shed a tear. Read More »

Brad Pitt has missed the deadline to respond to Angelina Jolie's divorce petition, seeking to avoid sparking an acrimonious legal battle. Read More »

inside channel 24

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.