Meet Iain Thomas, the 36-year-old South African poet who is famous all over the world except in SA

Trevor Noah has pulled out at the last minute from hosting the MAMAs 2016, due to 'a severe upper respiratory infection'

Two South Africa films to battle it out at the AMVCA

2016-03-02 05:00

Cape Town - South African films Ayanda and Tell Me Sweet Something will go up against each other this weekend to win Best Overall Movie at the fourth annual AfricaMagic Viewers' Choice Awards (AMVCA).

In association with MultiChoice, the awards set out to recognise the best that the African film and television industry has to offer.

The ceremony will be broadcast live on all Africa Magic channels on DStv and GOtv on the Saturday, 5 March.

Ayanda leads the way with eight nominations. 

Actress, Fulu Mugovhani will vie for Best Actor and Sara Belcher is up for Best Director.

Other nominations include: Best Writer of a Movie, Best Makeup Artist, Best Sound Editor, Best Cinematography and Best Movie – Southern Africa. 

Tell Me Sweet Something is a close second with an impressive 7 nominations, including Best Director for Akin Omotoso.

Take a look at the full list of nominees for the AMVCAs 2016:

Best Overall Movie (Africa)

Dry – Stephanie Linus
Freetown – Adam Abel and Garrett Batty
Ayanda– Sara Blecher
Tell Me Something Sweet – Akin Omotoso
Road To Yesterday – Chinny Onwugbenu, Genevieve Nnaji, Chichi Nwoko
Silverain – Juliet Asante
House Arrest – Joseph Kenneth Ssebaggala

Best Television Series

Jane and Abel – Dorothy Ghettuba
How to Find a Husband – Erica Sugo Anyadike
Santalal – Gbenga Kayode
Officer Titus – Olabisi Jinadu
Daddy’s Girls – Ariyike Oladipo

Best Writer of a Movie/Series

Freetown– Melissa Leilani Larson
Anniversary– Afe Olumowe
Road to Yesterday – Emil B. Garuba/Ishaya Bako
Iquo's Journal – Blessing Egbe 
Ayanda– Trish Malone

Best Costume Designer (Movie/TV Series) 

Dry – Uche Nancy
Silverain – Patrick Asante
Being Mrs Elliot – Obijie Oru
The First Lady – Tomi Adeoye
Oracle Online – Ejiro Amos Tafiri/Vanessa Otarva
Cougars – Angel Nwakibie/Yolanda Okereke

Best Makeup Artist (Movie/TV Series)

Dry – Gabriel Okorie
Ayanda –  Louiza Calore 
Jaja the Great – Innocent Abba
Ojuju – Funke Olowu
Being Mrs Elliot – Adenike Adepoju

Best Lighting Designer (Movie/TV Series) 

Common Man – Stanlee Ohikhuare
Kpians-the feast of souls – Stanlee Ohikhuare
House Arrest – Francis Lubanjuma
Gbomo Gbomo Express – David Wyte and Paul Gambit
Being Mrs Elliot – Oluwole Olawoyin

Best Actor in a Comedy (Movie/TV Series)

Officer Titus – Kelechi Udegbe
Stop – IK Ogbonna
Caught in the Act – Bishop Imeh Umoh
Head Gone – Bowoto Jephthah
Jenifa’s Diary – Folarin Falana

Best Actor in a Drama (Movie/TV Series)

Breathless – Mike Ezuruonye
Being Mrs Elliot – Majid Micheal
A Long Night – Van Vicker
A Soldier's Story – Daniel K. Daniel
Jaja The Great – Segun Arinze
Falling – Blossom Chukwujekwu

Best Director

Road to Yesterday – Ishaya Bako
Dry – Stephanie Linus
Tell me Sweet Something – Akin Omotoso
Ayanda – Sara Blecher
Gbomo Gbomo Express – Walter ‘Waltbanger’ Taylaur
Rebecca – Shirley Frimpong-Manso

Best Actress in a Comedy (Movie/TV Series)

Jenifa's Diary – Funke Akindele
Being Mrs Elliot – Lepacious Bose
Skinny Girl in Transit – Abimbola Craig
An African City – Nana Mensah
Desperate House Girls – Ini Edo

Best Actress in a Drama (Movie/TV Series)

Road to Yesterday – Genevieve Nnaji
Don’t Cry For Me – Mary Lazarus
Stop – Belinda Effah
Ayanda – Fulu Mugovhani
Falling – Adesua Etomi
The Visit – Nse Ikpe-Etim

Best Picture Editor

Tell me Sweet Something – Vuyani Sondlo
Road To Yesterday – Chuka Ejorh
A Soldier’s Story – Frankie Ogar
Rebecca – Shirley Frimpong-Manso
Special Crimes Unit: Lasgidi Cops – Adeyemi Olowoshagba

Best Documentary

The New Africa – Ada Afoluwake Ogunkeye
Faaji Agba– Remi Vaughan-Richards
Goge Africa Encounters Wild Gorilla - Nneka Isaac-Moses
Demystifying Autism – Dotun Akande/Grace Edwin-Okon
Dawn To Dusk – Nanmet Anthony

Best Movie – Southern Africa

Ayanda – Sara Blecher
Tell Me Sweet Something – Akin Omotoso
Lilongwe – Joyce Mhango Chavula

Best Supporting Actor

A Soldier’s Story – Sambassa Nzeribe
Stolen Water – Blossom Chukwujekwu
Stigma – Soibifaa Dokubo
A Soldier’s Story – Olumide Oworu
The Department – O.C. Ukeje

Best Supporting Actress (Movie/TV Series)

Before 30 – Beverly Naya
Tell Me Sweet Something – Thishiwe Ziqubu
Before 30 – Tunbosun Aiyedihin
Dry – Zubaidat Ibrahim Fagge
The Green Necklace – Lepacious Bose

Best Art Director (Movie/TV Series)

Stigma – Dagogo Diminas
Dry – Gabriel Okorie
Common Man – Stanlee Ohikhuare
The Refugees – Frank Raja Arase
Elephant in the Room – Patrick ‘koinage’ Nnamani

Best Cinematographer (Movie/TV Series) 

Ayanda – Jonathan Kovel
Couple of Days – Tolu LordTanner
The Refugees – Okey Oku and Robert Peters
Dry – Angel Barroeta
Common Man – Stanlee ohikhuare
Tell Me Sweet Something – Paul Michaelson

Best Short Film or Online Video

Panic Button – Bongiwe Selane
Yawa – Kassim Braimah
A Day with Death – Oluseyi Amuwa
Blood Taxi – Folasakin Iwajomo
A Cup of Sugar – Bongiwe Selane

Best Indigenous Language Movie/TV Series - Yoruba

Taxi driver (Oko Ashewo) – Don Omope, Daniel Emekeoriah and Ayobami Macaulay
Victims – Mercy Aigbe Gentry
Ayomi – Bukunmi Oluwasina
Shadow – Aishat Lawal
Binta Ofege – Abiodun Jimoh and Jumoke Odetola

Best Movie – West Africa (Drama/Comedy)

Dry – Stephanie Linus
Stigma – Dagogo Diminas
The Visit – Biodun Stephens (Koga Studios)
The Refugees– Frank Rajah Arase
Silverain– Juliet Asante
Common Man – Stanlee ohikhuare
Road to Yesterday – Chinny Onwugbenu, Genvieve Nnaji, Chichi Nwoko

Best Sound Editor (Movie/TV Series)

Ayanda – Guy Steer
Road to Yesterday – Kulanen Ikyo
Dry – Marquex Jose Guillermo
Candle in the wind – Bernie Anti
Bambitious – Maurice Kings
Tell Me Sweet Something – Gavin McCullough

Best Indigenous Language Movie/TV Series - Ibo

Chetanna – Chigozie Atuanya
The Missing God – Ubaka Joseph Ugochukwu
Udo Gba koi koi – Onyekachukwu Okeke
Nduka – Charles Novia
Usekwu Igbo -  Paul Igwe

Best Indigenous Language Movie/TV Series - Hausa

Sarki Jatau – Bashir Abdullahi
Inji Yan’ Ca Ca – Najjashi SB Jakara
Sakaina – Abubakar mai shadda and Hafizu Bello
Baya Da Kura – Nuhu Adullahi
Dadin Kowa – Salisu Balarabe

Best Indigenous Language Movie/TV Series - Swahili

Nyumba 10 – Damaris Irungu-Ochieng
Samaki Mchangani – Amil Shivji
Fihi– Caroline Mbaturia
Sumu – Anne Hamberger
Kitendawili – Josephat Lukaza

Best Movie – East Africa

House Arrest – Joseph Kenneth Ssebaggala
Mapenzi – Elizabeth Michael
Call 112– Joseph Kenneth Ssebaggala
Kitendawili – Single Mtambalike
Mpango Mbaya– Staford Kihore
Daddy's Wedding – Honeymoon Aljabri



Recent News

Everything you need to know about the 4 new flicks releasing at the cinema this weekend. Read More »
Add your review

The opening scene of the movie Spectre shows James Bond chasing a bad guy through a Day of the Dead parade in Mexico City. Read More »
Add your review

inside channel 24

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.