In partnership with

Meet Iain Thomas, the 36-year-old South African poet who is famous all over the world except in SA

Trevor Noah has pulled out at the last minute from hosting the MAMAs 2016, due to 'a severe upper respiratory infection'

Aliens vs Predator: Requiem

2008-03-03 10:22
What it's about:

The follow-up to the worldwide hit Alien vs. Predator, the iconic monsters from two of the scariest film franchises ever, wage their most brutal battle yet in an unsuspecting Colorado town.

What the critics say:

"A vile, joyless, murky, moronic, amateurish, contemptuous, numbing, unintentionally hilarious, and thoroughly diseased motion picture... a middle-finger to the paying crowd."
Brian Orndorf,

"Ho, ho, ho - the joke's on anyone who pays to see this."
James Berardinelli, ReelViews

"So lacking in imagination is this movie that the Brothers Strause and writer Shane Salerno keep scrambling back to the original movie for inspiration."
Kirk Honeycutt, Hollywood Reporter

"Occasionally, the filmmakers reveal a cheeky willingness to upend genre conventions, particularly when bending the rules regarding who lives and who dies in this sort of pic."

Joe Leydon, Variety

"After Aliens vs. Predator: Requiem it would be best to simply retire both these by-now over-familiar movie monsters..."
James O'Ehley, Sci-Fi Movie Page

"The result is a complete hash."
Alex Markerson, E! Online
Iconic monsters from two of the scariest film franchises ever wage their most brutal battle yet in an unsuspecting Colorado town.

Jack Reacher: Never Go Back

2016-10-14 07:38

Quinton 2008-01-11 06:25 AM
I'm so curious I have to say that after reading these really horrible reviews of the movie, I have to see it, just to see for myself, just how bad it is. I saw the first AvP movie and didn't think too much of it. How much worse can this one be?
Reg 2008-01-11 07:13 AM
slashfest Usually even horror movies spare mutilating and killing children ... not so with AvP 2. This attempt is a murderous decimation of all or most of the human cast throughout the movie ... many a time in quite vile manner. If you thought pregnant women were immune then hold your breath until about near the end and dont have too much for lunch while you're watching.
Cosgrove 2008-02-28 05:07 PM
Come on, its just mindless entertainment Predator rocks as hard as Alien rocks. I loved AvP. Its extremely cool to see how the two ultimate out of this world movie baddies do against each other. Its just for laughs and really not to be taken seriously, much like Freddie vs Jason. critics never ever like horror action movies, they're all a bunch of jaded hacks who like cinema art noveau movies because they're so danm cultured. BORING! AvP is rock and roll in movie form!
Skillgannon 2008-03-20 10:37 AM
As I have said As I have said before to each his own. This movie is pure action and horror, for those of us who like this sort of think, besides it is refreshing for a change to see that we can not beat them all and are canon fodder for a change. It is what it is..... Bloody LOL....
Jeff 2008-04-24 04:42 PM
AVP Brilliant move, although a bit dark at times, struggling to see. However I'm an Aliens and Predator fan. The movie was great, those that play the games would love it. Nice and Gory...
John Black 2008-04-30 05:58 PM
AVP 2 You really wana know how this Movie is on 1 word, its KAK!

Recent Reviews

Jack Reacher: Never Go Back

2016-10-14 07:38

Just another typical Tom Cruise action film, with nothing to get too excited about. The film is loaded with action-film stereotypes and cheesy one-liners. Read More »
Add your review

Hands of Stone

2016-10-14 07:38

Hands of Stone is a bland, unlikable portrayal of a real-life boxer that struggles to hit the highs of Rocky IV let alone Raging Bull or the original Rocky. Mark this one down as “for boxing fanatics only”. Read More »
Add your review

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.