In partnership with

MAMAs 2016: The winners of the annual MTV Africa Music Awards were announced during a glitzy ceremony

Meet Iain Thomas, the 36-year-old South African poet who is famous all over the world except in SA

An Inconvenient Truth

2007-04-14 12:09

Former vice-president Al Gore presents a documentary shoot, capturing his presentation on the devastating effects of global warming.


As someone who collects activist documentaries, I have been looking forward to the chance to see Al Gore’s An Inconvenient Truth for months, so I leapt at the chance to go to this press screening, even though 5.30pm is an inconvenient time.

Boy, was this movie weird: really good and really bad. Basically, it is a video of a slideshow that Al Gore delivers around the world, interspersed with footage from his life and childhood.

First of all, Al Gore is the greatest PowerPoint person in the UNIVERSE. Seriously, if I was that good at public speaking, I would run for President. He takes the global warming issue apart, and explains each bit so that you not only get it, but that you care about it in exactly the way he wants you to care about it. Which is no mean feat, as this movie is stuffed with science and you still walk about feeling like you’ve got it.

That was the really good bit. The really bad bits were the bits about his life. They were chair-writhingly unnecessary, over-scripted and annoying. Honestly, great swathes of footage are wasted on thoughtful poses of Al in front of his iMac… and why? It didn’t add to the movie at all. Unless of course he is planning to make a presidential comeback as the Enviro-Martyr once New Orleans becomes the New Orleans Bay. But then couldn’t he have just put those scenes in the US version?

Bottom line? Go see it. It’s your best shot at a comprehensive Global Warming 101 lecture, which, let’s face it – we all need.

And, if you are now feeling prickles of enviro-panic, assuage yourself by visiting and finding out what you personally can do to reduce global warming.

- Sam Wilson

Al Gore confirms our worst fears about global warming. Thankfully he also shows us how we can all make a difference.


Jack Reacher: Never Go Back

2016-10-14 07:38

Cath 2006-10-16 02:37 PM
Global Warming I want to take it seriously but find that the infrastructure is not there in my community to really make it easy and worthwhile. In Canada you HAVE to recycle and they come like the garbage men once a week to collect!
Chris Cox 2006-10-16 06:19 PM
aaq ll
Vic 2006-10-18 12:11 PM
Nut Al *I-invented-the-Internet* Gore is a joker. Gore spend $400.000.00 on jet fuel to fly from the States to Japan and back - on a private jet to attend a Climate Change conference for 3 days with only 4 people on board. How’s that for a global warming activist documentarian ;-)
Hendrik Bosman 2006-10-20 03:58 PM
Global Warming Skewed As a Geologist I find other scientists, specially global warming "experts" an proponents ignorant, shortsighted and even maybe not so truthful as they should be. One only has to look at the geological record to see that drastic global climate change has been and will always be with us.
Tommy Boy 2006-10-20 04:08 PM
Global Warming Chicks opening their legs influences global warming. We can all do something about it.
Kobus 2006-10-20 04:21 PM
Cant wait Cant wait to see it - did "Hennie - the Geologist" actually see the movie and what did he think of it? Is it just a coincidence that our weather started to deviate from projections just as we hit the industrial revolution? The question isn't does "drastic global climate change" happens, but if we are contributing to it.
Hennie Bosman 2006-10-20 04:32 PM
Global Warming Global warming and global climate change are two different but related subjects.
Hennie Bosman 2006-10-20 04:32 PM
Global Warming Global warming and global climate change are two different but related subjects.
Nico 2006-10-21 01:57 PM
Global warming Al Gore's a fraud. He said 30 years ago we have less than 10 years before being destroyed by this. He's still crying that people, who are able figure out for themselves that we cannot change rain storm from wetting a wedding, won't take him seriously. Poor sap.
rewind 2006-10-21 05:21 PM
???? reviews of the film above are disturbing. there is no question that mankind's wanton lifestyle is having an enormous impact on our planet - just look at the amount of packaging you throw out having made just one sandwich. come on people - wake up.
Chris van Eeden 2006-10-23 09:35 AM
Global Warming Truth Al Gore presents the data behind Global Warming in a rather objective fashion. However, he just presents it. The data is there for anyone to read and scrutinize. The Drastic Global Warming we are seeing IS caused by humanity. The data and calculations have been done. It's not a question of IF at all. Change your attitude, change your life.
Chris van Eeden 2006-10-23 10:02 AM
Research the Research & decide for yourself
THULI 2006-10-23 01:49 PM
Philip Pohl 2006-10-23 03:38 PM
An Inconvenient Truth I saw the Preveiw on the Telly the other night and can wait to see the futadge . Can Wait
Chantal 2007-01-23 06:45 PM
Disturbing We all need to wake up before its to late
Vic 2007-02-27 08:45 AM
The Real Al Gore The Tennessee Center for Policy Research, an independent, nonprofit and nonpartisan research organization committed to achieving a freer, more prosperous Tennessee through free market policy solutions, issued a press release late Monday: Mon Feb 26 2007 In his documentary, the former Vice President calls on Americans to conserve energy by reducing electricity consumption at home. The average household in America consumes 10,656 kilowatt-hours (kWh) per year, according to the Department of Energy. In 2006, Gore devoured nearly 221,000 kWh—more than 20 times the national average. Since the release of An Inconvenient Truth, Gore’s energy consumption has increased from an average of 16,200 kWh per month in 2005, to 18,400 kWh per month in 2006. Unprecedented Leadership and commitment

Recent Reviews

Jack Reacher: Never Go Back

2016-10-14 07:38

Just another typical Tom Cruise action film, with nothing to get too excited about. The film is loaded with action-film stereotypes and cheesy one-liners. Read More »
Add your review

Hands of Stone

2016-10-14 07:38

Hands of Stone is a bland, unlikable portrayal of a real-life boxer that struggles to hit the highs of Rocky IV let alone Raging Bull or the original Rocky. Mark this one down as “for boxing fanatics only”. Read More »
Add your review

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.