Avatar (3D)

2010-08-31 12:26
 
Avatar

What it’s about:

On the planet Pandora, humans are in conflict with the indigenous Na'vi population for access to a precious mineral, unobtanium. Jake Sully, a marine in the Avatar programme, which links his mind to the body of a Na'vi, finds his loyalty torn between the human race and his newfound tribe.

What we thought of it:

James Cameron, budget-buster extraordinaire of the Hollywood director circuit, has again been given the film industry’s most expensive toys to play with. The result is Avatar, a $400m sci-fi fantasy shot in three glorious dimensions.

While 3D specs don’t lend the movie all of its power, anyone in driving distance of a 3D cinema should make the trip and see Avatar the way it was intended. Precious few of us are used to seeing so much action popping out at us all the time, and there is a good chance the first few minutes of 3D viewing will make you naar. Eventually, you’ll get used to it.

Which is a good thing, because Avatar is a story made for the big screen. It follows the exploits of Jake Sully (Sam Worthington), an Avatar pilot on the mineral-rich planet of Pandora. Jake is linked to the body of a Na'vi male via computer and can use its body as if it was his own. His mission, along with the other Avatars, is to reach a diplomatic solution to the human-Na'vi deadlock over Pandora’s minerals. Without divulging too much, we can say that Jake becomes far more involved in the Na'vi than he expected, and when the conflict inevitably escalates, his allegiance is called into question.

Like many of Cameron’s films, Avatar clocks in well over two hours but rest assured that from start to finish, it never neglects to entertain. The flora and fauna of the Pandoran jungle offer some unforgettable visuals, while the epic conflict swirling around Jake Sully as he becomes more and more embroiled in it, puts recent blockbusters like Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen and Terminator Salvation to shame. Those with a weakness for mounted warriors charging into battle be warned, you will be bawling your eyes out when the robotic fist hits the fan.

With a minimum of star power (Sigourney Weaver and Giovanni Ribisi are less of a draw than, say, The Jonas Brothers) and a maximum of story power and eye-popping visual trickery, Avatar is both an important film for its technological achievements and an endlessly entertaining spectacle for you and your popcorn-munching friends and family.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Check out the Avatar Mobi site.
We have Free Wallpapers, Movie Trailers and more!

Just follow these easy steps:
1) Go to m.24.com using your phone's wap browser.
2) Click on Downloads and then Avatar
3) The wallpapers and videos are free.
4) Standard Data Charges apply.


James Cameron’s mind-blowing 3D epic relies on minimum star power and maximum story power.

Jane 2009/12/18 7:41 AM
CANT WAIT TO SEE IT!!
shaun 2009/12/18 8:56 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
absolut brilliant, truely worth the money and time, mindblowing
Sam 2009/12/18 9:07 AM
Seeing it tonight in 3D, can't wait!!!!
Will 2009/12/18 9:11 AM
Seeing it tomorrow night and looking forward to it. And boy am I glad the Jonas Brothers AREN'T in it.
Mike 2009/12/20 11:44 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Great effects, rubbish acting and story.
Sarietha 2009/12/21 2:44 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Loved it!
Liezel 2009/12/22 8:15 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I already saw it and loved it. Will go and see the 3D version tonight...
Sasha 2009/12/22 9:31 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Saw it last night, already considering going for the3-D version as well!
Johnathan 2009/12/22 10:12 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
The best Movie I have ever watched
Shamiel 2009/12/22 11:20 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Did anyone think that this was retelling of Pocahontas...like Pocahontas on steriods..
Anton 2009/12/23 1:56 AM
Pocahontas, Dances with Wolves etc, etc. It's true, but don't let the story put anyone off. It is just a vehicle to demonstrate the most amazing visuals that has ever been put on a movie screen. Don't even bother with 2D, this has to be EXPERIENCED in 3D. This movie will change the way future movies are made! I can already see another Star Wars remake, even Lord of the Rings.
Nazeem 2009/12/23 9:35 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
The movie was absolutely fantastic. I unfortunately did'nt manage to see it in 3D. The very clever ster-kinekor employee who took my booking messed it up. So I had to be satisfied with 2D. But nevertheless, the movie draws you in and makes you feel part of it all. Thoroughly enjoyed it.
Shawn 2009/12/27 10:35 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Excellent production and mind blowing imagery.. The story line is fantastic and they way the characters are portrayed is realistic, I really think James Cameron may have been in for an Academy award until the movie became quite anti-war/ anti-american occupation of "Tree hugging savages", the "green" message is strong through out the story line, but over all the best movie I have seen this decade? And of course has to be seen in 3-D to get the full effect of the story. Cant wait to see James Caeron next movie, should be about 2019?
eedgan 2009/12/27 4:50 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Enthralling movie - I did not want it to end!The special effects were simply breathtaking.
Alan 2010/01/01 10:14 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Boring homily on just how bad the corporate military complex REALLy is, how unfeeling the corporate executives and their military dogs REALLY are and then the indiginous people are one cliche after another. They even copied the Zulu greeting "I See you" as a profound reflection of just how pure the N'Avi are. Bullshit, Bullshit, Bullshit. Dont waste your money.
Roger 2010/01/01 11:07 AM
Absolutely brilliant !! Wanted it to carry on. Thank god for this movie to end all the rubbish i have seen lately coming out of Hollywood.
Keith 2010/01/01 2:34 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Don't bother unless you can see it in 3D. Avatar is a stunning visual accomplishment that kept me spellbound for its duration. Without the 3D it would merely be a good Sci-Fi movie with a particularly corny story-line. I've just got to give it high-fives though. Amazing!
Mike 2010/01/02 11:27 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Excellent visuals and graphics combined with a unique storyline....a must however in 3D. Whats also significant is the spiritual message how man,animals etc, are in reality interconnected with nature.....
Theza 2010/01/02 11:48 AM
Its precisey what movies should be, sheer entertainment. Its the best to come out of Hollywood in a long time!!
Sinudeity 2010/01/02 2:46 PM
District 9 and Avatar, the best and most original movies of 2009. The one cost 30 mill to make, and the other one 300 mill. Respect to both.
NEXT ON CHANNELX
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.