Bolt (3D)

2009-01-14 15:49
 
Bolt

What it's about:

Canine TV star Bolt (voiced by John Travolta) believes his fictional superpowers are real. When his sci-fi action series changes course and his owner Penny (Miley Cyrus) is "kidnapped", Bolt is convinced he can use his powers to rescue her, and embarks on a cross country mission to find her.

What we thought of it:

Animated movies have evolved from moving drawings to wondrous works of genius employing fancy gadgets and effects that leave us gasping "How’d they do that?". The characters have also gone from cute, uncomplicated mice to fish with personality disorders. Such progress...

And then we have this sickly sweet dog, Bolt. It’s one giant leap backwards for animation-kind. Bolt goes from being a dog who thinks he has superpowers to a dog who knows he doesn’t. Where’s the character development? Okay, maybe kids like sweet dogs but I bet they think a fat panda with an inferiority complex and robots with hearts are WAY cooler.

Bolt meets two friends along his journey to find Penny - Mittens, an alley cat with an attitude problem and Rhino, a hamster who is Bolt’s biggest fan. These characters add some desperately needed comedy and dimension to the storyline. But that’s where the humour begins and ends. Clichéd montages of the furry friends playing in meadows and cuddling up together at night are a bit gag-inducing.

If you’re considering trekking far from home to see the 3D version, don’t waste the petrol. The 3D effects are just a lame attempt at elevating this one dimensional character out of an even flatter story. The only time you might find yourself whispering 'oooh' is during the TV show scenes where super-powered scooters and jet-packed villains look fantastical in 3D. But the irritating glasses aren’t worth it.

In Hollywood you have to keep up with the pack. But this movie is just a carcass of a script that they’ve tried to flog to life with 3D effects for the Christmas season. Bolt is about as electrifying as a penlight battery.


The kids will likely squeal with delight, but Disney have dropped the ball on this one-dimensional animated adventure. Check out our review.

Indy-girl 2008/12/23 10:01 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Oh.... this sounds horrendous.
Kevin 2008/12/23 8:12 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I enjoyed it thoroughly. If you didin't, try doing something else aside from watching movies all day and critisising them.
AJ 2008/12/24 7:55 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Samantha have you ever considered the fact that people go to movies for "entertainment"? You should maybe stick to watching the boring art house movies. You critics make me sick always getting so technical with your reviews. Movies are supposed to be fun and if you don't like animation movies then stay the hell away from it and don't review it if you have preconceived opinion already.
E 2008/12/24 9:31 AM
Hahaha! Thanks for the much-needed rip-off, I needed to hear something real. On the plus side I'll probably enjoy this movie more than I would have otherwise, as you've lowered my expectations significantly.
dustin 2009/01/03 10:24 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
to tell you the truth i loved it, was highly entertaining and in 3d, was even better.
BV 2009/01/07 2:41 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
ok, bored at work and read through a few reviews ons this site...wow, such crap. the whole "lack of character development" is so idiotic, nevermind, let me not get started rather go to rottentomatoes or metacritic
Linz 2009/01/08 4:07 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
L0L. What the hell kind of review is this? I saw the movie and it was great. It has 85% at rottentomatoes.com
Kim 2009/01/15 4:18 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
My kids loved it - my eldest 918) hates animal cartoons but even she said it was a really fun movie to watch - I will have to go and see it on their recommendation
Fiekus 2009/01/18 3:14 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I watched it twice with my kids, the 2nd time it was in 3D.I absolutely LOVED it and can't understand this review at all. With so much going on in the world, markets collapsing, wars all over, Zim situation, Cope vs ANC etc.. Samantha do you know how GOOD it was to unwind and just LAUGH? Samantha, I urge you to do get off your critic horse and do the same :-)
Black Blood 2009/02/01 1:03 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
It was great fun, in my book better than Wallee. It didn't try to get up its own ass with deeper messages and the like. The 3D was great, it made it an immersive experience without resorting to the cheap tricks of other 3D movies like Journey to the centre of the earth where every 2nd scene seemed engineered to have a yoyo spin out towards your face. It is definitely not an art film, but it is way better than the usual song and dance affairs one expects from Disney.
NEXT ON CHANNELX
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.