Brave (3D)

2012-08-03 13:51
 
Brave
What it's about:

Merida, Princess of Dunbrogh, is a free-spirited, fiery-haired lass who like to take matters – and weapons – into her own hands. When her mother orchestrates her betrothal to one of the firstborns from the other clans in the land, Merida rebels and refuses to be a prize. She follows a magical path in the forest to a witch, and asks her for a spell to change her fate. The details are fuzzy and the results of the spell are totally unexpected. Merida suddenly finds herself having to protect her mother instead of pulling away from her, but will she succeed before the second sunrise?

What we thought of it:

This one's for the girls.

Brave is a bold, fun animation that allows the damsels in distress to save themselves. How fitting that this movie should come out in SA in Women's Month.

The trailer totally sells the movie without giving too much away. I was pleasantly surprised by the turn of events, and you probably will be too, so I won’t spoil anything for you.

The Scottish accents are spot on, except for Queen Eleanor (voiced by Emma Thompson) who slips up once in a while.

Kelly McDonald’s voicing of Merida is outstanding, and her emphatic "ag, Mom" expressions will go down a treat with local audiences.

What else can one say about the great Billy Connolly besides, well, he’s great as the gentle giant King Fergus. He's made out to be this fierce king while he's just a soft-hearted man who wants to enjoy his family.

The animation and 3D is also very noteworthy. Merida's quirky facial expressions are remarkable and different to any other Disney princess you've seen before. Eleanor's laugh lines are expertly "drawn", making her believable as a teenager’s mother while still asserting her beauty as the queen of the land.

The 3D is fantastical, especially in the archery scene where Merida splits an arrow with another arrow. You might feel compelled to close your eyes for fear of splinters!

It’s just so lovely to experience a fairy tale where the mother or queen isn’t the villain; she isn't trying to poison her daughter or steal her beautiful hair. It's simply a story about a mother and daughter meeting each other half way.

Make this weekend "Take Your Daughter to the Movies Day".


An adventurous Pixar animation that isn't afraid to bend the rules, just like its fiery star.
Read more on:    pixar  |  emma thompson  |  brave  |  movies

Judith Taylor 2012/08/05 2:36 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Perhaps it's because I have close Scots ancestry, perhaps it's because I was rebel - must go see for me and I'm 65!
Shoane 2012/08/06 4:12 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I thought it had a strong enough message, but that the actual storyline let the message down. I just figured I'd get more than a bear spell. There just wasn't enough grandeur for me and the scary scenes were not suitable for young ones, as was the case with the Princess and the Frog. Teaming with witchcraft and blood-thirtsy voodoo!!! A hopeless effort for Disney's first black animation pic, what a let-down.
Tessa 2012/08/10 11:17 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I enjoyed the movie, it was entertaining.
Navin Ramsamy 2012/08/13 12:52 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I Took my daughters to see this yesterday,they enjoyed it. Personally I thought it was great,more so that it had a lesson to be learnt ! Needless to say I'll soon be purchasing Bows & Arrows...
Sean 2012/08/14 10:45 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Great movie. I enjoyed from beginning to end. Could be a bit scary for the lil ones. There's a big bad bear and he's really nasty. But there's also 3 really adorable baby bears to make up for that.
Jacques van Zyl 2012/08/14 1:49 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
This was definitely an awesome movie. Would recommend mothers and daughters to watch this movie as it symbolizes the relationship between a mother and her daughter. Definitely brought tears to my eyes as well. Well done Pixar on an awesome movie experience.
Timothy Hill 2012/09/05 10:33 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Once again Disney/Pixar hits the nail squarely on the head with their new venture, Brave. A bit off the beaten path for Pixar, Brave tells the story of a Scottish princess and her personal stuggle to come to grips with the traditions of her kingdom. It is almost time to become engaged to a future prince, therefore her father gathers all the different tribes' best men to compete in a series of games to determine his daughters' future husband. Not content with the way that her personal viewpoint is undermined by tradition, she makes the dubious decision to remedy the situation by consulting a mysterious witch. Needless to say, chaos ensues and our heroine must battle all manner of tricky scenarios to overcome her own prejudice and correct the mess. This films packs quite a punch, so be advised that it contains some scenes which must upset younger viewers. The 3D, annoying at its best, is a bit distracting, but overall the film is a testament to the exhilarating power of Pixar to inform, entertain and thrill at the same time.
NEXT ON CHANNELX
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.