Bride Wars

2009-02-04 16:13
 
Bride Wars

What it’s about:

Childhood friends Liv (Kate Hudson) and Emma (Anne Hathaway) have dreamed of having their wedding at the Plaza Hotel in New York since they were six years old. Both recently engaged, their dream is set to become reality thanks to wedding planner extraordinaire, Marion St. Claire (Candice Bergen). After a mix-up, the best friends' weddings are scheduled for the same day! A bitchy battle ensues as each tries to get the other to move her wedding date.

What we thought of it:

"This is a real girls-night-in movie. Kate Hudson and Anne Hathaway play Liv and Emma respectively with a youthful charm: They've got the chick-flick role down pat!

When two best friends end up having to share their wedding day, the ensuing drama is unstoppable. Expect backstabbing, ridiculous pranks and the eventual development from bitch to blushing bride."


Predictable movies should get predictable reviews like the one above. They don’t deserve the effort of deconstruction and critical comment. The only revelation here is that the wedding movie desperately needs to evolve.

It’s sad that after the greatest New York wedding movie of 2008, Sex and the City, there comes this pale, run-of-the-mill afterthought that will never match up to SATC's originality, style and substance. The focus of Bride Wars is supposed to be on the bridal rivalry, but every evil action is sugar-coated with wedding trivialities. So you can be a bitch, as long as you’re tanned, manicured and coiffed while doing it!

From the obvious choice of designer Vera Wang for Liv's wedding dress to the sentimental blue hairpin they picked up at the Plaza all those years ago, every wedding cliché is milked for all it's arbitrary worth. While their sabotage efforts are indeed hilarious, gags aren’t enough to make this a movie you’ll hire ten years from now when taking a trip down chick flick memory lane with your gal pals.

If this is the way wedding movies are going to continue, I’d like to speak now and never hold my peace.



"If this is the way wedding movies are going to continue, I'd like to speak now and never hold my peace." Our reviewer thinks Bride Wars should have been left at the altar.

What to read next: Plan your wedding at Bride24
Read more on:    kate  |  sex  |  and  |  wedding

Anon 2009/01/23 7:23 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Were you expecting anything different. It is a wedding movie...borrriiiinng!
cherise 2009/01/23 10:29 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
i am a chick that recently got married... and i liked it... yeah it was predictable etc. but then again most movies are nowadays... blah blah blah i could carry on for ages... watch the movie and decide for yourself!
Debra Rennie 2009/01/23 11:08 AM
I haven't seen the movie and will probably still watch it because I am an old romantic at heart. I did however see the movie Sex and The City and I thought it was utterly revolting - must be an age thing x
phil 2009/01/23 11:13 AM
I do not mind predictable movies, and if entertaining and relaxing - good. Not sure what critic's want all the time, but that is your work I suppose
Rin 2009/01/23 3:35 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Watched the movie on Girls Night Out last night. While you don't need to use any braincells, it's just relaxing entertainment and should be seen as such. No Oscar material though
Loulla G 2009/01/23 3:56 PM
I've watched SATC and it was brilliant!!!! expecting this one to be good as well.
EC 2009/01/23 4:05 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I reckon be it as it may if people can't give constructive criticism there should go ahead and try and do a better job themselves! Yes, it might have been a very relaxed movie but it was fun at the same time - uncomplicated!
sexcmel 2009/01/24 11:17 AM
MY FEET FEEL HOTTT
Chopperlion 2009/01/24 1:36 PM
I fink dat dis fillem was vary good. I fink dat de kritiks wot say it was boring are lank dof. We don't want to fink when we go to da fillems, we just want to sit and let our brains trikkel out of our nozes, so please stop being so mean. And all de people wot also like dis, GO US! We are de future!
Mandy 2009/01/24 5:51 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
A despicable movie. Both my husband and I were annoyed from beginning to end. Awful characters, awful movie.
FlipCam3l 2009/01/25 8:52 AM
@ chopperlion: are you a simpleton?
Barry 2009/01/26 8:15 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Why film-makers even bother making films like this, is beyond me. The plot is...well there hardly is a plot, apart from ridiculous antics by the actors and, as usual, unfathomable tolerances for insane actions and situations. It makes me wonder why people would want to watch a preposterous movie about weddings, yet diss an intentionally unrealistic movie, like something sci-fi themed?
Lola 2009/01/26 9:45 AM
I went to Ster Kinekor's "Chick Flick" screening of Bride Wars last Thursday at Cavendish. What a joke. The movie was mediocre to say the least and when the movie started we had to watch the first 10 minutes without sound! What a disaster!
NEXT ON CHANNELX
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.