Bruno

2009-07-15 17:10
 
Bruno

What it’s about:

After being booted from Austrian TV, gay fashionista Brüno (Sacha Baron Cohen) makes his way to America to find fame, fashion and the odd handsome hunk. His bid for celebrity sees him colliding with a diverse cast of real-life celebrities, agents and other unwitting victims.

What we thought:

Stop right there if you are gay, religious, Austrian, or have any kind of aversion to merciless close-ups of dancing genitalia. There is little to no prospect of you enjoying this film. By all means, read the review, but don’t you dare watch the film.

There are many reasons why Bruno’s predecessor, Borat, was a cult hit. Like Borat, Bruno follows the exploits of a foreigner travelling in the United States on a naïve quest (Bruno is a gay Austrian fashion reporter who wants to become famous).  Both lasso a massive contingent of real-life people, famous and anonymous alike, into an elaborate series of horrifying pranks. Like Borat, Bruno plumbs the depths of shock humour but also casts a genuine satirical light on that greatest of countries, the "US" of "A".

But while Borat left viewers with an impression that they had looked straight through the Stars & Stripes and seen something genuinely ugly, Bruno revels in being an exploitative shockumentary, and little else besides.

You will laugh, though. That’s just what people do in the face of excruciating discomfort. I laughed when US politician Ron Paul was made the unwitting participant of a sex tape. I laughed when Bruno tells a live-in-the-flesh terrorist that "your king Osama looks like a sort of dirty wizard." It’s all so horrifying, so real and so weird at the same time, you either have to walk out the cinema, close your eyes or laugh until you cry.

Predictably, inevitably, the film’s politics are already being called into question. Gay rights advocates are wary that Bruno will entrench harsh stereotypes of homosexual men (presumably like Rambo entrenches the stereotype that Americans like to kill Vietnamese… whoops). Austrians and Jewish people will argue that Hitler jokes just aren’t funny anymore. Many, many others have a huge problem with the film’s foul language and toilet humour.

But that’s the point of a Sacha Baron Cohen film, isn’t it? Some people will be made to look ridiculous. Others are meant to be deeply offended. Finally, a tiny contingent of the audience, those of us who delight in the discomfort of others, are meant to have a ball of a time. And they will. Leave the kids and your manners at home. You’ve been warned.


There is an audience for Sacha Baron Cohen’s latest farcical shocker, but it’s an absolutely tiny one. We review one of the most controversial films of the year.

Sasha 2009/07/10 1:11 PM
I seriously can't wait... think it will be the funniest movie of the YEAR.... Everyone must watch it...
dani 2009/07/10 2:52 PM
I must fall into that tiny group of evil people as well. I also cant wait to see the show!!
BigBoer 2009/07/10 3:39 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I find this guy disgusting.
Aleks 2009/07/10 3:47 PM
I've just booked my tickets. It's gonna be a good one....i hope!! :-)
MK 2009/07/10 3:54 PM
can't wait either !
Frank 2009/07/10 4:31 PM
Ali G was great. After that all went down hill I'm afraid.
Sachafan 2009/07/10 4:33 PM
I wish this guy would come to SA with one of his alterego's. There are as many "victims" out here... think Vavi, Nzimande, MALEMA(!!), Terreblanche, Orania, Cosato. Can't wait to see this film.
SmallBoer 2009/07/10 5:40 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Get a life bigbroer...he doesn't appeal to you...I cannot wait to see it - a break from our local political clowns [comment edited for an unfortunate spelling error]
Marius 2009/07/10 6:18 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Saw it this afternoon. Very funny at times, but sometimes losing the plot(?) I did not like the end,otherwise enjoyable if you can take all the nudity and are not homophobic.
james 2009/07/10 8:37 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I just came back from this movie. This review is a good one. If i had went to the movie with family or friends we would have walked out within the first 3 min. I was alone (having learnt my lesson from watching Borat) and i couldnt stop laughing. So yes, be warned. If you are going to watch this with a group, you wont enjoy it. watch it alone!!!!!!!
AllBoer 2009/07/11 7:31 AM
I'll wait for the DVD. The funny thing is, his movies are not about either Borat or Boris, really. The characters are just over-the-top stereotypes to draw out reaction from people. If you are offended by Borat or Boris, you've missed the point. He shows how superficial differences between people really are but what fools people make of themselves because they fear his strangeness. Clowns use exactly the same method to get laughs; by dressing themselves up in bright colours and funny. Clowns are cute and makes you smile, Boris is vulgar and makes you cringe: there really is very little difference.
biggup 2009/07/11 8:47 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
anyone who cant appreciate this show, is a sad case. he is a genius. he knows no boundaries. we need stuff like this in this day and age
karen 2009/07/11 10:48 AM
yes, dani you must be a real dimwit to love a stupid movie like this...it shows by the way you use the word "as well" at the end of a sentence.....why dont you just say "aswell"....
Anonymous 2009/07/11 5:27 PM
I'm sorry, but most of this is utter BS. I just came back from seeing it and I can't remember when last a movie has been so full and when last so many people were crying with laughter. It was absolutely hilarious...and I'm gay and watched it with a gay friend and neither of us were offended...
@ karen 2009/07/12 3:45 PM
Perhaps dani doesn't use "aswell" because it isn't a word! Now who's the dimwit?
WTF 2009/07/13 5:34 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Like him or not, Sacha cohen Baron has taken movie making to a whole new level with his antics. Nobody expects this to be a funny comedy for the whole family and if you get offended. then rather go back to your ox wagon and laager. Both Borat and Bruno were made with the intention of bringing out the prejudices that exist in the world. Nobody said it was going to pretty and they were warned so to write a article lambasting the movie is just plain wrong!!
Mr.Ryan 2009/07/13 8:22 AM
My Monday got off to a bad start. I haven’t seen the movie yet but I must admit, just reading this makes me feel a lot better lol
Jus _cru_Zn 2009/07/13 8:54 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
One has to wonder how far one will go to get a laugh these days... Ulitmatley Sacha plays on our subtabooed alter ego`s... if there is such a thing - All in all, we are all human and its like driving past a scene of an accident, we try not too look but we do, much like this flick, you cant help to peep at what you know is basically below the belt porn... well done Boris, he will be laughing all the way to the bank - def worth my 40 bucks of laughter anyhow...
Paul 2009/07/13 9:32 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I laughed so much I sprayed coke through my nose, hyperventilated, built a six pack and cried myself dry with laughter. Sasha Baron Cohen, I salute you. Blows Borat out the water. If you liked Borat, go watch this. If you didn't then don't bother even commenting.
GM 2009/07/13 4:40 PM
Why would being gay stop someone from enjoying this film? I'm sure some of us has the right sense of humour for Cohen...
NEXT ON CHANNELX
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.