Crazy, Stupid, Love.

2011-08-24 17:19
 
Crazy Stupid Love
What it's about:

Cal Weaver (Steve Carell) just found out his wife Emily (Julianne Moore) cheated on him and wants a divorce. While seeking solace in a pink drink at a swanky bar, ladies' man Jacob Palmer (Ryan Gosling) takes pity on him and offers his assistance. A wardrobe makeover and one-night-stand later, Cal is confident and stylish, but still trying to piece together the remnants of his relationship with his family. Meanwhile, Jacob swops flirting for fidelity after meeting Hannah (Emma Stone) and the babysitter develops a crush on Cal. And then there's this family lunch...

What we thought:

It's a great title, isn't it? Whatever your opinion on love, there's no escaping its less attractive, unstable qualities. In many ways this film is a colonoscopy of the love lives of the characters.

A rom-com is a rom-com is a rom-com... and so is this. But it's a really fun one. It's more-ish, funny and clever and while the trailer delivers many of the hilarious punch lines, the best are yet to come.

Who would have thought awkward funnyman Steve Carell and brooding heartthrob Ryan Gosling would make such a good team? They've even got a bit of a bromance going. While the premise of ladies' man Jacob helping Cal, a social invalid, for no apparent reason is slightly implausible, it's fascinating. It's like when Edward takes Vivian shopping in Pretty Woman, except Cal's not sleeping with Jacob in exchange. At least I don't think so.

Julianne Moore is intriguing as the misguided Emily while Emma Stone doesn't get to flex her comedic muscles as much as she has in films like Easy A and Zombieland, which is a pity. Jonah Bobo is incredibly authentic as lovestruck teen Robbie and his dad's love guru. The kids take love way more seriously than the adults here.

What's crazy is how good Ryan Gosling looks without a shirt on. I have no doubt that this is the reason many ladies will watch this movie. And that's all good. Ryan Gosling is abulous.

The witty writing and the surprises make the odd cliché totally worth it too, should you not be into abs.

Crazy Stupid Love is this year's It's Complicated.

 

Steve Carell manages to marry 'OMG 'and 'aaawww 'moments so well in this clever, grown-up rom-com.

Brandon 2011/08/24 5:42 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I thought it was going to be one of that cheesy girlie movies where we all know whats going to happen at the end. There was a nice twist at the end of the movie. The thing about movies where woman cheat on their husbands, its always the man's fault because he stopped dressing well, stopped buying flowers, stopped showing love like he did years ago. Woman always have a reason to cheat in the movies and the men must humble themselves, put their pride in their pockets and fight back. But when the man cheats in the movies, the women must be strong and walk away because he will never change his ways. I think the movie should have made the husband more upset, the wife go through more pain. The kids had to also look like their suffering. Then that speech the son and father gave at the end would have been perfect. I did have tears in my eyes and did feel i should step my game on my relationship and love my girlfriend the way i did in the start. I enjoy the movie and wished he didn't take his cheating wife back.
Brandon 2011/08/24 5:49 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I thought it was going to be one of that cheesy girlie movies where we all know whats going to happen at the end. There was a nice twist at the end of the movie. The thing about movies where woman cheat on their husbands, its always the man's fault because he stopped dressing well, stopped buying flowers, stopped showing love like he did years ago. Woman always have a reason to cheat in the movies and the men must humble themselves, put their pride in their pockets and fight back. But when the man cheats in the movies, the women must be strong and walk away because he will never change his ways. I think the movie should have made the husband more upset, the wife go through more pain. The kids had to also look like their suffering. Then that speech the son and father gave at the end would have been perfect. I did have tears in my eyes and did feel i should step my game on my relationship and love my girlfriend the way i did in the start. I enjoy the movie and wished he didn't take his cheating wife back.
Trish 2011/08/27 4:40 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
LOVELY MOVIE! Found it very touching, very funny and even more sexy thanks to Ryan Gosling. Loved it loved it loved it!!
Schalk 2011/08/29 12:32 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Went to watch yesterday and thought that the movie was truly well written and the casting could not have been done better. The twist was a little predictable if you are good at math. Enjoyable and guys don't have sit very sappy love stuff so that is a big plus.
jeanette 2011/08/29 1:06 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
for me it was a bit boring, the last 15minutes were good.
Keith Liebenberg 2011/08/29 1:52 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
The movie was quite funny when you think about it in retrospect. Very slow at first but the last 15 minutes were great.
salim 2011/09/01 8:44 PM
no
Cindy 2011/09/01 10:46 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
My boyfriend and i went to the preview of this movie and for the first time we enjoyed a romantic comedy together.Im definitely getting thisone on dvd once it gets released
Amy 2011/09/07 8:12 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Not a huge fan of Steve Carrell, but I loved it. Funny, Sad at the same time as well as oh-so-sexy (Emma Stone & Ryan Gosling) I would recommend it! :)
Tumza 2011/09/08 4:59 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Saw the movie on the 6th of September, enjoyed the movie but it does not come close to Horrible Bosses
Jackie 2011/09/20 12:16 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Not being a big fan of Steve Carell I was a bit sceptical about this movie but ended up being pleasantly surprised by the end of it. Carell is very convincing as Cal, a clueless middle aged husband who doesn’t see it coming when his wife demands a divorce. He goes to a trendy bar to drown his sorrows and it’s there that he meets the womanizing Jacob (Ryan Gosling) who takes it upon himself to mentor Cal in the ways of the single life. Gosling offers more than just eye-candy, bringing a lot more depth to the role than I had expected. The supporting cast all do really well in their roles and the movie offers some surprising twists which makes it more enjoyable than the usually predictable rom-coms. This is not just a chick-flick but a romantic comedy with some very emotional and real elements that both guys and girls of different generations can relate to and enjoy.
Me 2011/09/26 8:46 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Motivation for seeing this movie: Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone. Neither of them disappoint, I am pleased to say. I really enjoyed this one! Originality in RomComs is rare, and this one actually managed to pull something off. It touched base on different aspects of love and different stages of relationships at different stages of life! Yes, it covered a lot of ground, which is part of what made it so good! While most romantic comedies are too predictable, this one will actually manages to surprise you. Kudos to the writers on this one. Go see it!
NEXT ON CHANNELX
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.