Eat Pray Love

2010-10-14 14:26
 
 
What it's about:

Liz Gilbert (Julia Roberts) realises that she's deeply unhappy in her marriage, and to some extent, her life. She divorces her husband and embarks on a journey of self discovery through Italy, where she learns to appreciate food; India, where she learns to acquire peace through prayer; and Bali, where she learns to love.

What we thought of it:

I have not read the book. I'm definitely one of those 'wait for the movie' types. So this is my first encounter with Liz Gilbert.

Before I delve into my many gripes with this story, it has to be acknowledged that it's the perfect one to have re-imagined into a film. The exotic locations, colourful landscapes and all that Italian food look great on camera! As a travel doccie, this scores a solid 8/10. Director Ryan Murphy should perhaps consider expanding his portfolio in this direction.

This film celebrates indulgence; from exotic travel to selfish acts. As Liz plods along her journey of self-discovery, she leaves many broken hearts and promises in her wake. Sure, it takes balls to admit something is wrong and actually take the action to correct it, but do we as a society really need another lesson in fixing ourselves when there are so many more important things in the world that need our attention?

Despite my distaste for the main character, Julia Roberts is luminescent in the role – literally. She's continually enveloped in a halo of light. But it doesn't necessarily give her this ethereal beauty. It's clear that Julia has moved into a new phase of her career. She looks and sounds older; giving her the authenticity she needs to pull off this flawed character.

The supporting cast is magnificent. James Franco is adorable as her toy-boy David, Richard Jenkins delivers an emotional and dramatic performance as Richard from Texas, and Javier Bardem as Felipe is the best father in the world! Liz Gilbert was incredibly lucky to come across such unbelievable people in her life, especially compared to her cookie-cutter ex-husband.

Of all Liz's experiences through three different countries, her toughest hardship was dealing with mosquitoes in India. Poor baby. I don't suppose Liz will ever take a holiday in Mozambique then.

It's a pretty amazing story resting on the laurels of truth. I'm not saying it's not the truth, it's just the travel agent's version of it.

Eat Pray Love is a beautiful exhibition of a romantic life, and if you're looking for some escapism, drink it right in. Just don't miss your appointment with your therapist thinking a R40 movie ticket will give you the answers or the courage you're looking for in your own life.


This beautiful travel documentary is the film equivalent of the 'babbling brooks' music you hear in the dentist's chair.

Nastar 2010/10/08 8:20 AM
Interesting review, though I'd like to hear from someone who's read the book too.
Josie 2010/10/08 9:41 AM
Haven't read the book but saw the movie last night. Cast & acting was good, however, very long (137 mins), slow & drawn out, particularly the Italy & India parts, then rushed through the Bali part which was really the most interesting. How many women could afford to take a year off to go and find yourself in exotic locations? Didn't feel empathy with Liz Gilbert as millions of women all over the world are in unhappy marriages & deal with it, so her situation is not unique. Not sure men would appreciate the movie too much. I'd give it a 3/10.
Linz 2010/10/08 9:45 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Disappointing!
JC 2010/10/08 10:56 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I have read the book and saw the movie last night after much anticipation. It was well rewarded with everything I imagined coming to life on screen. The book is a different experience for every reader and the film managed to capture those aspects which are universal and present those to us in the film. In the conservative society in South Africa, both the novel and the film were wonderful ways to reconsider your life and do some introspection and just consider the...."what if". I would give the film a 8/10
Foodie 2010/10/08 11:06 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Did read and loved the book, thought the movie was OK, but there is no way on earth that you can ever really make a movie about a story that plays itself out in someones head as they try to sort themselves out. Do yourself a favour and go an buy the book.. It is spectacular, the movie I would give 6 out of 10..
GK 2010/10/08 12:11 PM
Wouldn't we all like to run away and leave reality behind. Such is dreams. Sad that it is only woman that thinks they feel that way. Men do too.
@ josie 2010/10/08 1:55 PM
The author afforded it cos she received a $1mill advance on the book. The whole book is a fraudulent charade aimed at bored housewives with crappy suburban lives. GAL!
JJ 2010/10/08 6:36 PM
Can't say I'm that keen on watching a privileged woman moan about her life for over 2hrs. one of the least worthwhile films of the year.
ND 2010/10/10 12:35 PM
Why on earth would we take any real cognisance of a reviewer who has 1. not read the book 2. hates the main actress ?? The book is good & I am looking forward to seeing the movie WITH MY WIFE knowing that most movies cannot capture the books anyway.
WaynesWorld83 2010/10/13 10:35 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I'm sure the book gave enlightening insight into how Elisabeth Gilbert found her inner strength and self while traveling the globe, but this movie is really about a selfish woman who takes a gap year and visits some beautiful, exotic locations and eats some delectable food. Which is great if you are the person on this holiday otherwise it is as exciting as looking through a travel brochure while visiting a Flight Centre. I give it two stars- one for the truly breathtaking locations and the other for Julia Roberts' hair.
Lerato 2010/10/21 4:43 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Watched it and thought it was too long. 2 and a half hours is just boring. I think I fell asleep once or twicw. Didn't really see what all the fuss was about. Casting Julia Roberts was a great move for marketing but her role in the movie was not wow like her other roles. Thought the movie would give insight on how to let go of the past and find yourself but its just about a lonely women. Disappointed.
Kels 2010/11/10 4:08 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Watched the movie. It was tooooooo long!! I fell a sleep a couple of times, and i went to the early show. Its a very pretty movie though, awesome locations, etc, But i found Liz to self-absorbert to find any real kinship. Seriously: Looking for balance!! WTF? Thank goodness I watched it using a free movie voucher. would have been very upset if i had to pay for it.
Catwoman 2010/12/08 8:55 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Read the book, amazing!!!! Then again so many women are in marraiges where they are not happy and we deal with it!!!! Its an amazing story of selfdiscovery, but not for the real world. However did not watch the movie, dont want to spoil the message I experienced in the book
Belle 2011/09/26 2:39 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I find Elizabeth Gilbert to be a self-indulgent whiny American with now real grip on reality outside of herself. She has not known struggle or has been through hardship (REAL hardship, not the kind of cr@p like mosquito's irritating her). I could not identify with the book - it's just not real. And like one user said, what ordinary woman can afford to take a year off and indulge herself with travels? I suppose this is good for some sort of escapism to those unhappy wives looking for something more in life than what they have - but this is def not real, nor is it a guide to how to overcome obstacles. I do love Julia Roberts though - but this character is just plain annoying. I don't think I'd like Elizabeth Gilbert much in real life either.
NEXT ON CHANNELX
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.