Godzilla

2014-05-16 09:11
 
What it's about:

The world's most famous monster is pitted against malevolent creatures who, bolstered by humanity's scientific arrogance, threaten our very existence.

What we thought:

Most people born in the time of iPod are unfamiliar with the film Godzilla or the Japanese folk law surrounding it so we’ll break it down for you.

The bad news: This flying monster of doom has awoken in Japan. Turns out that humans have been feeding it radioactive energy for 14 years. Oops.

The good news (sorta): Godzilla has also risen! He also really REALLY doesn’t like the flying monster, so much was listening out for him in hopes to get him. The only problem is that there’s a lot of human infested land between Godzilla and the flying monster. The US Army intervenes. Chaos ensues and we have a beeg summer action movie in the style of Jurassic Park.

Things we love about it:

1.There’s some heart to it: The Notebook, it is not, but it does leave you feeling for the people that get stomped on. It’s not ALL monster movie.

2. The monsters: They’re big. They’re terrifying. They’ll leave you breathless in 3D. Edge of your seat stuff.

3. The references to Jurassic Park throughout the film: From the use of pummelling rain to heighten dramatic moments to the use of sound; to the way in which certain sequences are shot with a from a specific character’s point of view.

4. You don’t have to know the history of Godzilla: Yes, there are movie snobs out there who will tell you that you need to know everything about Godzilla and have watched the original movie. That’s simply not true. This is a fun popcorn movie you don’t need to do research.

5. You’ll get transported to a different world: Our favourite movies are the ones that totally encompass you. Where you walk out after 2 hours and feel like the monsters you just saw on screen were real.





5 reasons why this Godzilla remake is worth watching.
Read more on:    elizabeth olsen  |  bryan cranston  |  godzilla  |  movies

SL 2014/05/18 2:12 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Probably the worst movie I've watched in the last few years. Terrible acting (except for bryan cranston), massive plot holes, huge inconsistencies and laughable character choices. Wait until it comes out on tv, and then watch it only if a better movie like Sharknado isn't on. Worth a watch just to confirm your baseline of what a terrible movie looks like.
RD 2014/05/18 5:10 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I agree with SL. Bad direction, bad cinematography, bad editing and bad writing ruined what could have been a brilliant movie. The biggest problem in my opinion was Ford Brody's impregnable plot armor, which was bad even by action movie standards. Don't even watch this movie on TV, it's not worth the time you'll waste.
Amazing! 2014/05/19 9:24 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
As a 34 year old single male living with his mom i thought this movie was simply incredible! do yourselves a favour and go watch. Brilliant. I recieved my copy from one of those guys selling them on the side of the road when i was driving back from the comic book store and since the opening scene it just grips you. My mother and i were just discussing it this morning whilst i was washing her hair that it truly is a cinemagraphic masterpiece! It makes my outtie an innie its so amazingly good! Take gran and grandpa, it should bring back some classic memories of the 1947 Godzirra movie that the japs made, based loosely on the nuclear fallout from the A bombs good ol Uncle Sam dropped on Hiroshima, which fuelled a ghecko to grow into lobster sized proportions and cause havok on duh wittle jerpernerse people. GO WATCH THIS MOVIE!!!
yvahed 2014/05/20 11:19 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I thought it was quite good visually and the human characters were quite well written. It was different enough from the 1998 movie and felt fresh.
WB 2014/05/21 10:03 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I found it was incredibly entertaining, and beautifully made. I don't think many people realise the skills and talent that had to go into pulling it off. It was true to the original style of Godzilla, and the plot was a lot deeper than just a monster smashing up a city. To those who found it boring, maybe stick to Michael Bay movies with 3 hours of mindless action. This was the best monster film I have seen in ages!
bla bla bla bla 2014/05/21 4:01 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Grrrrr Gozdilla nachos
Aidan 2014/05/22 2:26 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
OMG THIS MOVIE!!!! just wow , been a while since I walked out of a movie and think about how mundane life actually is after this show of awesome shock and awe On another note great first date movie lol
Fortune 2014/05/27 10:54 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Will go watch tonight.
osiris 2014/05/31 7:34 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
agree with the comments above from SL. crap movie. acting by interns. animation is poorly done...must have found some old footage from the 70's. how does a critic give 4 stars.....guess he has rights in the new democracy.
NEXT ON CHANNELX
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.