Meet Iain Thomas, the 36-year-old South African poet who is famous all over the world except in SA

Trevor Noah has pulled out at the last minute from hosting the MAMAs 2016, due to 'a severe upper respiratory infection'

How to Lose an Audience in 10 Minutes

2008-12-02 18:11

On paper this romantic comedy should work. It adheres closely to the standard romance recipe: the fated meeting, the truths withheld, the fleeting moment of passion and then, finally, the 'please-don't-leave-the-city-I'm-sorry-I-lied-I-love-you-sob' scene.

Matthew Mc McConaughey, with his sexy Southern twang, was an obvious choice for the lead of the macho, love-'em-'n-leave-'em Benjamin Barry. In order to get a diamond advertising account, he has to make a randomly chosen woman fall in love with him in ten days. The woman that is chosen for him just happens to be journalist Andy Anderson. Well, what do you expect from a script by the writers of 102 Dalmatians?

Andy (Kate Hudson) has a challenge of her own: she has to drive away Benjamin - or Bennie-boo as she at one point calls him - in ten days as research for an article she's writing. Perhaps now you believe me about the scriptwriters.

This movie will disappoint most romcom faithfuls, as it completely fails to charm. It builds anticipation for the unfolding romance between Andy and Ben, and when it does unfold, it's forced and artificial. The disappointment yanks you out of your cocoon of happy fantasy and thumps you right back to earth (or rather your movie seat).

Individually Hudson and McConaughey are credible enough, but together they lack the onscreen chemistry required from this kind of film. While Hudson is relatively new to the scene, McConaughey has done romcom after romcom. You'd think he'd get it right this time. Or maybe we should blame 102 Dalmations?

How To Lose A Guy In 10 Days may have all the right ingredients for a good romantic comedy, but the end result is a flop.

Jack Reacher: Never Go Back

2016-10-14 07:38

Leah 2003-05-12 11:12 AM
How to loose a guy in 10 days Great performance, kept us glued to the big screen & our eyes didn't wonder from boredom - not once!!!!!!!!!!! The Recruit
kay 2003-05-12 11:15 AM
Small chuckles now and then I didn't find it too dire. There were a few amusing moments, but I have to agree Sumeera, the ending just left me a little... cold.
Rosebud 2003-05-12 11:47 AM
very good 5 yes
Paul 2003-05-12 03:10 PM
How to lose a guy in 10 days It was a kewl movie, especially Matthew's BODY! Could have shown more of it i reckon. Whoa! Hey baby, I'd have his children anytime. Kate Hudson is cute and not as giggly as her mother (Goldie Hawn) so is more credible. A nice movie just to pass some time but not Oscar material.
Marie 2003-05-12 03:39 PM
Good Comedy I Just loved the movie - laughted a lot - enjoyed the good body of Matthew and can recommend the movie for good relaxing and laughing. Good clean movie.
vivian 2003-05-12 05:46 PM
cool its just cool and educating too
Isabel 2003-05-12 07:48 PM
How to lose a guy in 10 days loved Matthew's body, could have shown more of it, good laughs. All in all, a great chick flick. yes
Mandi 2003-05-13 01:09 PM
HOW TO LOSE A GUY IN 10 DAYS Great Movie! Good clean humour! Really Funny. Matthew's got a great bod! Yes!
Mandi 2003-05-13 01:14 PM
HOW TO LOSE A CRITIC IN 10 SECONDS! Just reading the comments and once again the general public seem to disagree with the critic (This is always the case - WHY?), this time sumeera. Sumeera has a right to her opinion, and mine is that i disagree with her. The movie was great!
Rehana 2003-05-13 04:37 PM
How to loose a guy in 10days Went in not expecting much, came out feeling great. A must watch. YES!
Sarah 2003-05-13 10:00 PM
Says who? i totally disagree with the critic... i thought the film was fabulous. The interplay between the genders was really interesting and funny. i loved it. Definately.
janice north 2003-05-15 08:46 PM
how to lose a guy in 10 days fun movie, had me laughing sometimes with embarressment .Good if you dont want to watch anything too heavy.
Sone 2003-05-18 07:44 PM
I LOVED IT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I LOVED it so much I would pay to see it again its not only witty but I laughed myself to bits watching HOW TO LOSE A GUY IN 10 DAYS. IT WAS GR8 !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! HOW TO LOSE A GUY IN 10 DAYS
samantha 2003-05-19 01:46 PM
how to loose a guy in 10 days it kept me laugting all the time fantastic movie yes
Raj 2003-05-19 09:58 PM
Cool [obscenity deleted] [obscenity deleted] Movie. Thats all
Lin-mariè 2003-05-22 06:10 PM
How to loose a guy in 10 days The sort of movie I whould watch over and over and over and over. I'll always be a hopeless romantic... Watch it!!! I'll reccomend it.
Lin-mariè 2003-05-22 06:11 PM
How to loose a guy in 10 days The sort of movie I whould watch over and over and over and over. I'll always be a hopeless romantic... Watch it!!! YES!!!
Jilda 2003-05-28 09:35 AM
How to lose a guy in 10 days the best feel good movie ever Definitely
sihle 2003-05-28 01:28 PM
romantic move romantic romantaic
Melissa 2003-06-01 03:53 PM
How to loose a guy in 10 days The coolest romantic movie ever I recommend absolutely

Recent Reviews

Jack Reacher: Never Go Back

2016-10-14 07:38

Just another typical Tom Cruise action film, with nothing to get too excited about. The film is loaded with action-film stereotypes and cheesy one-liners. Read More »
Add your review

Hands of Stone

2016-10-14 07:38

Hands of Stone is a bland, unlikable portrayal of a real-life boxer that struggles to hit the highs of Rocky IV let alone Raging Bull or the original Rocky. Mark this one down as “for boxing fanatics only”. Read More »
Add your review

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.