In partnership with

Meet Iain Thomas, the 36-year-old South African poet who is famous all over the world except in SA

Trevor Noah has pulled out at the last minute from hosting the MAMAs 2016, due to 'a severe upper respiratory infection'

I Am Legend

2008-03-31 14:00
What it's about:

Somehow immune to a terrible virus, Robert Neville (Will Smith) is now the last human survivor in what is left of New York City and maybe the world. For three years, Neville has faithfully sent out daily radio messages, desperate to find any other survivors who might be out there. But he is not alone. Mutant victims of the plague – The Infected – lurk in the shadows, watching Neville's every move, waiting for him to make a fatal mistake. Perhaps mankind's last, best hope, Neville is driven by only one remaining mission: to find a way to reverse the effects of the virus using his own immune blood.

What the critics say:

"Smith nails the portrayal. It's not the kind of work that will earn him an Oscar nomination, but audiences usually don't see better than this in genre films."
James Berardinelli, ReelViews

"I Am Legend is a wasted opportunity - a rickety, weather-beaten framework around an otherwise strong central performance from Smith."
Eric Alt, Premiere Magazine

"It doesn't serve I Am Legend to give you too much time to think. Better when it's galloping forward at top speed, dodging caribou and translucent zombies and putting the dog in peril."
Carina Chocano, Los Angeles Times

"It's in the last half-hour that I Am Legend imports new elements that both propel the story to its explosive climax and just aren't as compelling as the day-in-the-life story that preceded it."
Richard Corliss, TIME Magazine

"...The film is well-done, a case of suspenseful competence trumping questionable relevance."
Owen Gleiberman, Entertainment Weekly

"The film can never quite decide whether it's speculative fiction or a B-movie horror show. It's not a fatal flaw, though."
Kirk Honeycutt, Hollywood Reporter

"Maybe not the most uplifting choice for a holiday flick, but Smith's riveting performance and tight action scenes make this a smart, gripping view of the end of the world."
Chris Farnsworth, E! Online

"The herky-jerky script, by Mark Protosevich and Akiva Goldsman, favours vignettes and set pieces over dramatic development, and those damned zombies are everywhere, overwhelming the proceedings with their slobbering and howling."
Joe Morgenstern, Wall Street Journal

"Big Willie has no problem holding the screen. In fact, trouble enters only when the script overcomplicates things in the end. Until then, especially in a growling dogfight, director Francis Lawrence keeps you squirming."
Peter Travers, Rolling Stone
Robert Neville is a brilliant scientist, but even he could not contain the terrible virus that was unstoppable, incurable, and man-made.

Jack Reacher: Never Go Back

2016-10-14 07:38

Claire 2007-12-30 08:51 AM
Gripping I am Legend is a thoroughly gripping movie. Even if you hated every minute of it, there is no way you will be bored. It is a mix between a triller and a horror
Dustin 2007-12-31 09:11 AM
Smith at his best! I have never ever seen will smith act this well. He even challenges tom cruise in this role. Not alot happens in the movie, but what will smith does is gripping and entertaining at same time.
ignatius 2008-01-06 10:46 AM
awsome! what an entertaining movie, I did not want the movie to end.
Zk 2008-01-07 11:03 AM
WOW Beautiful action by Will Smith and a very entertaining movie. Will Smith deserves AT LEAST an Oscar nomination for this role...
Stacey 2008-01-20 06:46 PM
I am legend The movie is badly scripted and overacted;especialy the scene he was stabbed. The prime of the movie only ignited at the end. Will Smith is better seen in comedies.
omphemetse 2008-01-25 09:59 PM
fantastic! i think the movie is owesome it is just that people just dont want to admit that Will is one of the best actors....he outdone himself again just like he did on the persuit of happyness.HE DESERVES A RECOGNITION FOR HIS GOOD WORK!
thandi 2008-01-30 03:18 PM
wow i must say he was very good on this one i can watch over and over he really derseve some credit go will u are the legend
thandi 2008-01-30 03:18 PM
wow i must say he was very good on this one i can watch over and over he really derseve some credit go will u are the legend
Andrè 2008-02-09 04:29 PM
very good good action , kept me gripping, at least a nomination for his acting..
Belinda 2008-02-15 03:48 PM
I am Legend Don't waste your money!!! If your idea of entertainment is watching a guy drive around for twenty minutes in a deserted city. then this is your movie. If you at least like to see some sort of plot or story line in the first hour then "Don't waste your money!!!!".
Jenny 2008-02-20 01:09 PM
I am Legend Will Smith makes Tom Hank's "Basketball" look positively dazzling. If you want to waste your money and time, torture yourself and go to this movie.
Andre Jardim 2008-07-10 12:25 PM
Utter load of b*ll*cks I have come to the conclusion that over the last 10-12 years, Will Smith has secretly had a hand in doctoring the scripts of every movie he has acted in. Essentially, what started out as a movie that promised some intelligent thriller, turned into nothing more than another B-grade, bad CGI zombie movie. The plot is paper-thin, the premise is so utterly ridiculous, and the acting so tawdry it was like watching something homemade on YouTube. I am an ardent Sci-fi fan, but I think Will Smith has done for Sci-fi what Timothy Dalton did for the Bond movies - ruined it! And trust me, his latest addition to a growing list of pathetic movies, Hancock, is no better. Sorry, but this movie really licks bollocks! I give it 1/5

Recent Reviews

Jack Reacher: Never Go Back

2016-10-14 07:38

Just another typical Tom Cruise action film, with nothing to get too excited about. The film is loaded with action-film stereotypes and cheesy one-liners. Read More »
Add your review

Hands of Stone

2016-10-14 07:38

Hands of Stone is a bland, unlikable portrayal of a real-life boxer that struggles to hit the highs of Rocky IV let alone Raging Bull or the original Rocky. Mark this one down as “for boxing fanatics only”. Read More »
Add your review

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.