Amp Events has announced that rock icons Pixies will be touring South Africa in March next year!

Meet Iain Thomas, the 36-year-old South African poet who is famous all over the world except in SA

In Good Company

2006-03-30 13:12


Dan Foreman is headed for a shakeup. He is demoted from head of ad sales for a major magazine when the company he works for is acquired in a corporate takeover. His new boss, Carter Duryea, is half his age - a business school prodigy who preaches corporate synergy.

Both men are going through turmoil at home. Dan has two daughters, Alex, age 18, and Jana, age 16, and is shocked when his wife tells him she's pregnant with a new child. Carter, in the meanwhile, is dumped by his wife of seven months just as he gets his promotion. Dan and Carter's uneasy friendship is thrown into jeopardy when Carter falls for Dan's daughter Alex.

What the critics are saying:

"It sounds crass, but this is actually a warm and witty comedy brimming with sharp insights."
- Stella Papamichael, BBC Movies

"Paul Weitz's engagingly lightweight drama is a gently revisionist fairy tale about good versus evil set on the battlefield of contemporary corporate culture."
- Manohla Dargis, The New York Times

"An often lively comedy-drama that lands some nice jabs at the mega-corp ethos, In Good Company makes for pretty good company until going soft when it counts."
- Todd McCarthy, Variety

A witty drama that pokes fun at ageing, love and corporate culture.

Jack Reacher: Never Go Back

2016-10-14 07:38

Elna Bindeman 2005-08-05 08:14 AM
Enjoyable Thanx MWEB for giving us a chance to see the preview. We thoroughly enjoyed it. Had a good laugh and will recommend it to friends. Will certainly go to previevws again. Yes
Johan Fourie 2005-08-05 08:38 AM
Pretty good I thought it was a better than average comedy, with some insights about life and multinational corporate rat racers. It was nice to see a preview though - thank you to MWEB! Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy
Monica Rademeyer 2005-08-05 09:01 AM
In Good Company Very good entertainment! Good combination of drama and comedy!! We had a good laugh. Will definitely watch again Definitely "In Good Company"
David Palm 2005-08-05 09:03 AM
Mr. A good funny film! Pretty close to many of our lives these days. Thanks for letting us see the preview. I say four stars and recommend seeing this movie. Yes
Bronwyn 2005-08-05 09:50 AM
In Good Company This was good movie, with a great story line! My younger brother who normally only enjoys action movies also enjoyed this movie. definitly
Anish 2005-08-05 09:55 AM
Excellent This was an excellent movie with a very realistic story line. I watched it with my daughter and we couldnt have chosen a better movie for some serious bonding. Dennis Quaid & Scarlet Johansen are terrific in their roles.Dont miss this one!
Malinda Fryer 2005-08-05 10:21 AM
In Good Company Thank You to MWeb for giving me and my husband the opportunity to preview this movie. This movie definately hits home, espcially the part of the take overs of company's as well as the "teenager" dating the older guy. It is a funny "love" movie that is definately worthy of a 4 star movie. Definately
Karin 2005-08-05 04:57 PM
so-so I personally didn't find it "hitting home", as in SA we have a very strong employment structure, where a Company can't just simply fire you if they choose to.. which made me think that we really don't live in such an awful country, as portrayed abroad. Sahara
Cyril & Bridget 2005-08-11 09:03 AM
Excellent The movie was excellent and a true reflection of the real corporate world.THE BIGGER THE COMPANY,THE BIGGER THE PROFITS AT THE COST OF JOBS. It was however nice to see a movie with no sex, violence and foul language, much in the class of 'Shall we dance'.

Recent Reviews

Jack Reacher: Never Go Back

2016-10-14 07:38

Just another typical Tom Cruise action film, with nothing to get too excited about. The film is loaded with action-film stereotypes and cheesy one-liners. Read More »
Add your review

Hands of Stone

2016-10-14 07:38

Hands of Stone is a bland, unlikable portrayal of a real-life boxer that struggles to hit the highs of Rocky IV let alone Raging Bull or the original Rocky. Mark this one down as “for boxing fanatics only”. Read More »
Add your review

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.