Trevor Noah’s old tweets have been dug up and they could end his new career before it even starts!

Shocker! Zayn Malik celebrates his 'normal life' by releasing a demo of his brand new single

Inglourious Basterds

2009-10-22 12:39
 
Inglourious Basterds

What it's about:


As the Nazis prepare to host a propaganda film premiere in a Paris cinema during the German occupation of France, The Basterds, a crack team of Nazi-killing American Jews and defectors, attempt to infiltrate the event and assassinate Hitler.

What we thought:

Usually "indulgent" is the word we look for when a director makes a 2 hour 45 minute-long film. But for all its swagger, for all its side-tracking and zaniness and golden Tarantino moments, Inglourious Basterds can perhaps be remembered as the movie where Tarantino didn’t indulge himself enough.

It’s when he really cuts loose – those moments that film school professors will be snorting disgustedly or hiding the party in their pants – that Basterds is at its most watchable. The typical Tarantino badass Col Stiglitz (Til Schweiger), for example, is introduced exactly the way we would expect to meet Shaft – with a huge, funky logo and an over-the-top backstory involving buckets of blood.

We have Kelly’s Heroes, we have Saving Private Ryan already, why couldn’t Inglourious Basterds just dispense with plot altogether and let its maniacal characters have free roam? They’re a wonderful bunch, to be sure. Brad Pitt’s hammy acting somehow befits the self-proclaimed white Apache, Lt. Aldo Raine. Daniel Brühl is disarming as the Nazi sniper-slash-actor Federick Zoller, while Mélanie Laurent is a fiery and determined Shoshanna, a vengeful Jewish heroine.

Christoph Waltz must be singled out, however. The man deserves an award if not his own movie for his portrayal of the creepazoid Gestapo officer, Col. Hans Landa. Ruthlessly efficient, the officer known as "The Jew Hunter” can be accused of many things, but let it never be said he doesn’t offer service with a smile.

Expect spectacular violence. Expect long, winding conversations (and interrogations) about this or that. Expect to be sucked into Tarantino’s wacky pseudo-historic world and its grand finale. Inglourious Basterds is entertaining, just not relentlessly so. It’s all about reining in your better instincts – for the audience, to enjoy this schlocky caper, and for Tarantino, to really hit it out of the park the next time round.


Inglourious Basterds is a movie of moments. But we're not judging on your highlights reel, Quent.

NEXT ON CHANNEL24X

The Boy Next Door

2015-03-19 20:40

Add Your Review

(Comments may be edited or deleted at the Channel24 editors’ discretion)
Badbones 2009-10-22 12:45 PM
CAN'T WAIT ...... I am a BIG Tarantino fan and have seen and enjoyed all his movies, so bring it on, I will have to buy the movie to add it to my collection ......
Liz 2009-10-22 03:06 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Have seen it here in the UK some time ago, best Tarrantino movie in my opinion, it doesn't feel that long.
Garth 2009-10-22 03:46 PM
Doesn't feel that long because it's a good ending, but do feel he could have done more with that time.
Toss the Midget 2009-10-22 04:54 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I saw the movie recently in Frankfurt in a theatre full of Germans and we(including) the Germans loved it....definitely a 4 star movie & not 3 stars.
WaynesWorld83 2009-10-23 02:20 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
"This could be my best work yet" proclaims one character towards the end of the film, and while this clearly self referential quip may not be so true of Tarantino, this film is most certainly one of his best. Its all there; the comic/graphic violence, the often long winded but entertaining dialogue, the music and of course references to every great war movie that has come before- i.e pure Tarantino. A hihglight is of course Christoph Waltz as the gleeful, psychopathic "Jew Hunter"... One of the best performances and ,in my opinion, films of the year
grant aubin 2009-10-26 05:53 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
It's bloody marvelous. It feels like a spaghetti western version of WW11 fueled by the spirit of "The Dirty Dozen" and QT's mad, beautiful passion for cinema. I loved it. In fact, it was too cool for school.
kw 2009-11-04 04:14 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
This movie was AWESOME!!!!! I can't believe it was that long though... really didn't feel it. Fantastically entertaining if you are not offended by some graphic scenes.
AP 2009-11-16 12:07 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
"long, winding conversations"? Come on, its brilliantly written, its great, its good, its awesome, and you should know that Niel! Shame on you for saying ANYTHING nasty about this.
jeffrey shata malatji 2009-11-18 11:04 AM
i like the movie its very interedting to watch
Your Name
Comment
Please enter the following text
Captcha
Your rating
for this movie
Rate Me...  
 
 

Recent Reviews

The Boy Next Door

2015-03-19 20:40

J. Lo is solid in it, and the "boy next door" is actually not a bad actor. It’s worth seeing if you're up for the classic stalker type film. Read More »
Add your review

Top Five

2015-03-19 20:40

Divisive and flawed though it may be, Top Five is unquestionably a major turning point for Chris Rock and a clearly personal and passionate piece of work. Read More »
Add your review

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.