Iron Man

2008-08-12 14:12
 
What it's about:

The brilliant Tony Stark (Robert Downey Jnr.) is a scientist, weapons developer and playboy living under the delusion that his multi-million dollar arms company helps keep peace around the world. When he is kidnapped by terrorists who demand that he build them missiles, he sees the violence he sells and suffers a crisis of conscience. He builds a robotic suit to escape from his captors and returns to the United States with a plan to make the world a better place. But Stark soon realises he's not out of danger as there are forces out to seize control of his company and his weapons, and he must once again turn to his inventions to save his life.

What we thought of it:

The premise of Iron Man is an awful lot like that of Batman – a genius billionaire with a few close confidantes builds outlandish devices and fights crime. The only difference is that Tony Stark is a happy guy with no inner demons to battle. Iron Man is about fun and perfectly captures the excitement of a child playing with toy robots and gadgets – far more so than in Transformers.

The film's scenario has been played out before in other movies, but it's pulled off pretty well largely thanks to Robert Downey Jnr. who portrays Tony Stark as a conceited college ace gaining compassion through his own suffering. As cocky as he is, he also maintains an air of childlike joy with his robots and gadgets, which the audience feels with him. Neither a brooding tortured hero nor an upstanding naïve kid with super powers, he strikes the perfect balance between sophisticated and awed.

Iron Man takes the light-hearted action movie route with jokes aplenty. It sometimes gets silly and childish, but given the scenario, what do you really expect? There are plenty of explosions, loads of cool gadgets and robotics, decent acting (for the simple comic book characters), and a passable script. Best of all, it's never overly cute, sentimental or irritating – a rare thing in today's kid's movies.

If your idea of fun is a shiny metal guy punching evil henchmen through walls and dicing with fighter jets all to a gloriously loud heavy metal soundtrack, then this is the movie for you. Standing alongside other superhero/sci-fi classics, it's not brilliant, but it'll entertain you to the max.

- Ivan Sadler

Get published on Channel24! Send us your movie, music and live gig reviews and columns and get published on Channel24. Send your articles to PublishMe@sa.24.com.
A brilliant weapons developer is kidnapped by terrorists and builds a suit of robotic armour to escape. After he returns to the U.S. he must face an even greater foe.

sam 2008/05/05 9:39 AM
***** Five Star movie - Comic book brilliantly brought to life.
Julie 2008/05/05 11:44 AM
Iron Man Absolutely loved it. Robert Downey Jnr was fabulous!
Rosi 2008/05/05 11:53 AM
Iron Man So good to see Robert Downey Jnr back on the big screen and looking so smoking hot! Movie is pretty hot too :)
Maxi 2008/05/05 12:15 PM
Iron Man Robert Downey Jnr ..........what's not to like!!
Sean 2008/05/05 1:41 PM
4/5 Solid. I think the transformation from comic book to celluliod was fantastic. I thought the script was very good and believable. I think this reveiwer needs head reading sessions as gadgets will one day become reality. Take the communicator from "Star Trek" it is now called a cell phone. touch screen devices from many sci fi films years ago are employed today. what is shown on screen today will probably be reality in 30-50 years time. So recap. actors were brilliant, FX good & believable, story great transition. Great movie.
downeyjr_fan 2008/05/05 10:42 PM
sadler loses the plot sad to see that with every passing review ivan sadler seems to lose the plot! as far as superhero movies go, iron man is definately up there with christian bale's batman, which was hugely acclaimed! cmon I've what's your game here?
Mark 2008/05/05 11:24 PM
Iron Man Enjoyed the movie!
Robert 2008/05/13 8:05 AM
A Step in the Right Direction I thought it was a great movie. While the plot wasn't the most intense in any movie, I couldn't find fault with it at all. If you want to see Forest Gump... don't watch Iron Man. Downey does a great job, Paltrow was also good! That is even rarer than a good action movie! In all the effects were amazing and the acting good. Very enjoyable.
audilia 2008/05/16 11:36 AM
Iron man I really liked this movie and Robert, that body - yum yum
audilia 2008/05/16 11:36 AM
Iron man I really liked this movie and Robert, that body - yum yum
Seelen 2008/05/28 1:38 PM
Ironman I just gotta say that when I saw the trailer I didn't think the movie was going to be good at all. Well I went and watched it about two weeks ago and I have to say I was very plesantly surprised. Robert Downey really makes this film! The jokes are well timed and had the entire audience laughing at the right times. Go check it out!
jason 2008/06/05 2:15 PM
iron man movie
u 2008/06/08 4:19 PM
deza gud
THE BOSS 2008/06/20 9:53 AM
ABSOLUTE RUBBISH REALLY GETTING SICK OF THIS SUPERHERO CRAP MOVIES COMING OUT RECENTLY. WATCHED THE MOVIE AND THOUGHT THAT IT WAS REALLY CRAPPY. WASTED 2 HOURS OF MY LIFE.....WAIT LEFT AFTER ABOUT AN HOUR AND A HALF....STILL PRECIOUS TIME LOST. SHOULD HAVE WATCHED THE BAFANA GAME...MIGHT HAVE BEEN MORE ENJOYABLE... 0 STAR RATING FOR THIS RUBBISH MOVIE
Sarah Lewis 2008/06/23 10:33 AM
Iron Man WOW!!!!!!!!!!!! I loved the movie from start to finish.
celeste 2008/07/23 9:15 AM
EXCELLENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Best movie i have seen in a long while, along with Hulk. BOTH BRILLIANT!!! WATCH THEM!!!
NEXT ON CHANNELX
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.