It's been four weeks since hackers calling themselves Guardians of Peace began their cyberterrorism campaign

Brad Pitt was called to perform his civic duty but was then deemed too distracting to pull through!

Iron Man 3 (3D)

2013-04-30 15:27
 
Iron Man 3
What it's about:

Brash-but-brilliant industrialist Tony Stark, aka Iron Man, is pitted against an enemy whose reach knows no bounds. When Stark finds his personal world destroyed at his enemy's hands, he embarks on a harrowing quest to find those responsible.

What we thought:

When we got the first Iron Man film way back in 2008, did we really think that it would only be the beginning, that only a few years later, The Man In The Can would make up one part of a larger universe of heroes and villains? That's precisely where Tony Stark  finds himself, at a loss for where he fits in a world where aliens and gods are real.  And it's got him having  sleepless nights and anxiety attacks. Not only that, but he also has to contend with a terrorist calling himself The Mandarin and a rival businessman making moves on his girlfriend Pepper.

Worry not, if all that sounds a bit serious, because the keyword for Iron Man 3 is 'Fun'. While that other billionaire playboy/costumed hero spends a great deal of time brooding and beset by endless angst, Iron Man's Tony Stark is far more prone to letting loose with quips and one-liners than his DC counterpart. That's never been more apparent than with this third instalment in the series, which owes its enjoyment as much to the laughs as it does explosive spectacle.

As much as Iron Man 3 is obviously a comic book movie, with all the trappings that come with that sort of film, it's also very much a film of its writer-director, Shane Black. Black is responsible for writing action classics like Lethal Weapon and The Long Kiss Goodnight and all the trademarks of that sort of movie are there to see if you're a fan of his work; the snarky banter, an edginess to the material, the buddy movie element and, of course, that most Black-ian of touches, Christmas.

Black and co-writer Drew Pearce are smart enough to avoid the pitfalls of a third entry by bringing a welcome sense of freshness to the material. Taking away Stark's toys and forcing him to use his wits is a smart move and makes for an interesting story, certainly more so than its predecessor, the rather dull Iron Man 2.

The film doesn't fire on all cylinders from the get-go but rest assured, once it gets moving, it keeps building and building. Each set-piece tops the one that came before it, though the stand-out for this reviewer is surely a helicopter assault on the Stark homestead.

Black also does well not to lose sight of his characters amongst all the spectacle and he has a pretty good cast to help him in that regard. Guy Pearce and Gwyneth Paltrow put in good turns (Paltrow gets two very cool moments to shine) and Ben Kingsley surprises as the Mandarin.

It's a pity about Rebecca Hall though, who is a fine actress and does feel a bit wasted given her talents. Cheadle also feels slightly wasted but does get some great chemistry going with Downey when they pair up. I also enjoyed James Badge Dale, whose cool menacing gaze proves very effective as one of the villains.

This is still The Robert Downey Jr Show though, and after two movies he's comfortable enough with his character that even as Stark is taken out of his element, RDJ knows precisely which notes to hit. There's a naturally puckish quality about the actor that lends itself well to Stark.

It's also fun to see some of the small references to the other Marvel films. Lines about what happened in New York or mentions of "the guy with the hammer who fell from the sky" hint at a world beyond what's shown in the film and comic geeks (or any of the 580 million people who watched The Avengers) should get a kick out of this.

Perhaps due to its following in the wake of The Avengers' world saving antics, this one lacks the scope and scale of that film. And despite Black's efforts, this third Iron Man does occasionally feel as if it's treading ground already walked on.

As enjoyably twisty as it is, some viewers may feel that the story suffers one twist too many. As for the 3D, I can't say that it brings much to the table, barring a few instances.

This is looking to be another blockbuster season jam-packed with explosions and over the top special effects. Fun, funny, and action packed, Iron Man 3 has set the bar pretty high for the other big films that have yet to come out this year.


Even though this is the angstiest we've ever seen Tony Stark, Iron Man 3's high fun factor sets the bar pretty high for the other big films that have yet to come out this year.

NEXT ON CHANNEL24X

Add Your Review

(Comments may be edited or deleted at the Channel24 editors’ discretion)
evert 2013-05-02 09:40 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Wait for the DVD, I loved the first two iron man movies, this one just does not deliver at all, very very disappointing
Enrico 2013-05-02 11:04 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Watched the movie, they took away the action and attitude of Iron Man. Not worth paying to watch it on the Big Screen. Just wait for the DVD and go rent it.
Johan 2013-05-02 11:32 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Expected a lot more from the movie.
HJ 2013-05-02 11:38 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
This movie was not made for 3D. Storyline was boring. 4 rating is way too generous.
ScubaSteve 2013-05-02 01:39 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Very disappointed in the movie. Its a feel good Christmas movie. Previous two Iron Man movies had awesome sound tracks with some AC /DC - this Iron man does not have one track that I could recall. Its a feel good fluffy movie. As much as I hate to say it wait for it on DVD. 4 stars is WAY too generous.
oitgh 2013-05-02 06:35 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
hi
Floppy Man 2013-05-02 08:07 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
When I saw this was out I thought, "What's the rush? Now they gonna mess up a good thing!" Looks like I was right. Over at DC, I hear Superman is going to be good though.
Frank-the-Tank 2013-05-03 10:50 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I am a huge fan of the first two Iron man movies as they combined the action of a comicbook adaptation with an well written script. This time round I have to admit that I was really dissapointed. Too long-winded and drags on at times. The character of Tony Stark was a bit of a let-down this time round. Wait for DVD and watch it in 2D....you will feel robbed after paying R65 for the 3D version.
Barnabas 2013-05-03 11:28 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I would like to add my 2 cents to the frey. Iron man 3 was completely rubbish and people should download it...this is why DC is the better choice (excluding the 3rd batman). hope superman wont let us down
Natasha 2013-05-03 12:04 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Fantastic - I'm a Ironman junky.. or should I say, Tony Starck fanatic... love how he brings his personal attitude to the movie. No-one could do thsi any better that RDJ - AGAIN - Fantastic movie
P1373R 2013-05-06 08:04 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
best fun in a cine since The Avengers! Iron Man just became my personal favorite superhero trilogy. Those who dont like this probably prefers the winded, boringingly-serious Dark Knight films...
Bernard Black* 2013-05-06 11:00 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
You guys are full of k*k. BIG step up from the second one. Go watch a Disney movie next time?- ALmost a Masterpiece, can wait for the Blu-Ray!!! Kapiese Maddafakka's!!!
Lizelle 2013-05-06 11:44 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Very good, was not disappointed at all. Robert always bring any character to life.
Pieter 2013-05-06 01:21 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Saw this over the weekend, and I must say, a bit dissapointed. Not exactly sure what Black was trying to achieve with this. It was a combination of Jason Bourne, meets James Bond meets Iron Man meets any small town American movie ever made. First you see Iron Man: Robot than Iron Man: Absent for half of Iron Man 3 and than Iron Man: Look at all the Iron Men. And seriously, Thor could not dent the Iron Man suit with his godly hammer, but humans who burn a little too hot can?? P.S. @Bernard Black, Iron Man 3 was released by Disney, so this is technically is some sort of way, a Disney movie :-)
big K 2013-05-06 01:50 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
hello hi, i write this comment to express my love for IRON MAN. Thank you :)
the man 2013-05-06 04:22 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
This is one of the best action movies, to those who didnt get the plot then sorry for you but i watched it and was very impressed
Jimmy Two Shoes 2013-05-07 08:38 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Big dissapointment. Movie was entertaining but what they did to the Mandarin as a comic fan cannot be forgiven. Took a huge risk doing it and the forum's speak for themselves. The Mandarin is Iron Man's greatest enemy and they portrayed him completely incorrectly. Very very sad. Was looking for an epic battle with the Mandarin and got severly dissapointed.
majikins 2013-05-07 11:42 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
much ado about nothing. Had no substance whatsoever. Very disappointed.
Zayde 2013-05-07 04:22 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
The movie was really bad with too many plot holes... Also the butchering of the Madarin was a total mess up... A very bad start to Phase 2 of the Avengers... Is this what the Disney takeover of Marvel has is store for us? A new set of kids focused movies...
Mr. Wedge 2013-05-08 08:20 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Ummm..porn anyone?
Your Name
Comment
Please enter the following text
Captcha
Your rating
for this movie
Rate Me...  
 
 

Recent Reviews

The silliness finally comes to an end in the Night at the Museum franchise, thankfully saying goodbye to the animated museum exhibits. Read More »
Add your review

Mr Turner

2014-12-12 12:43

Although beautifully shot and a superb performance from Timothy Spall, it’s not the most exciting two-and-a-half hours of your life. Read More »
Add your review

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.