South Africa's first black, live-action TV superhero is set to make his debut in Jongo next week!

The Good Wife may be ending but the creators haven't said 'no' to the possibility of a spin-off

Life of Pi

2013-01-10 12:18
 
Life of Pi
What's it about?

A young man survives a tragic disaster at sea and is hurtled into an epic journey of adventure and discovery. While marooned on a lifeboat, he forms an amazing and unexpected connection with the ship's only other survivor – a fearsome Bengal tiger.

What the critics said:

"Lee's film is stronger as a visual experience-especially in 3D-than an emotional one, but it has a final plot twist that may also change what you thought you knew about the ancient art of storytelling."
- Joe Morgenstern, Wall Street Journal


"This transcendent fable carries a real sting in its tail. Ang Lee has made a bold and wondrous movie, one of his best."
- Tom Charity, CNN.com


"Life of Pi both draws the audience in and encourages it to settle back, the better to enjoy its virtually nonstop display of daring, wonder and cinematic virtuosity."
- Ann Hornaday, Washington Post

Believe the unbelievable.
Read more on:    ang lee  |  movies  |  life of pi
NEXT ON CHANNEL24X

Spotlight

2016-01-29 08:29

No more pie please, I'm full. 2013-01-09 11:09 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
If you suffer from insomnia then this is what you need. Mrs and I managed to sit through it all, with the aid of match sticks for our eyelids. Very, very long winded and boring.
P1373R 2013-01-10 08:05 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
thankfully, we are spared a non-review from Ilan on this fantastic piece of cinema. this is the ultimate 3D experience and you even get a rich and emotional story to boot. ultimately, the visuals are the main point of the film, but like the flawed 300, it is a in the very least like a living painting... a must see and hopefully the Oscar best film winner in a few short weeks...
Terence 2013-01-21 12:48 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Best movie i've watched in ages!!
This piece of Pi was excellent 2013-01-21 07:20 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I cried like a baby during this movie. Really deep but light hearted at the same time. I think this movie deserves a few oscars. The music was marvellous as is to be expected since Lata mangeshkar was the singer.
Touching Piece of Pi 2013-02-18 01:09 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I cried for this movie as it is a very touching and deep movie. something i haven't seen in a long time. it was excellent!!
Logie Thaver 2013-02-28 11:03 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
This movie was the best 3D movie that I have watched in a while. The special effects were amazing. There were a few scenes that could have used a bit more of a 3D effect but overall story and effects were awesome.
peter logan 2013-03-15 02:26 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Definately one of the best movies to see,a real treat from the regular crap out there
 

Recent Reviews

Spotlight

2016-01-29 08:29

You probably won't lose much if you don't catch it on the big screen but Spotlight needs to be seen, both for its beautifully realised, subtle storytelling and for the incredible story it has to tell. Read More »
Add your review

The Finest Hours

2016-01-29 08:29

The visual effects of The Finest Hours are as harrowing as the real event it was based on, masking the Disney-fied corny romance the audience is forced to partake in. Read More »
Add your review

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.