The Day the Earth Stood Still

2009-02-06 13:44
 

20th Century Fox's contemporary reinvention of a 1951 classic. Keanu Reeves portrays Klaatu, an alien whose arrival on our planet triggers a global upheaval.

As governments and scientists race to unravel the mystery behind the visitor's appearance, a woman (Jennifer Connelly) and her young stepson get caught up in his mission - and come to understand the ramifications of his being a self-described "friend to the Earth."

Here's what the critics had to say:

"Add to that some unimpressive CGI and a bizarrely abrupt ending and you have the day your buttocks went to sleep, your brain melted and your will to live evaporated."
- David Edwards, Daily Mirror

"Keanu Reeves stars, giving the kind of torpid performance that lesser beings can only approximate by necking a hundredweight of Temazepam. The lights are on at the top of the spaceship, but there's no one at the controls.
- Peter Bradshaw, Guardian

"Like the big shiny sphere at its center, the film is fairly pretty, but there's no real sense that there's anything inside it."
- Tasha Robinson, Onion AV Club

"If this is the best the human race can do, forget it."
- Andrew O'Hehir, Salon.com

Fan 2008/12/16 1:19 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
According to me this movie has gone straight up to no.1 for the year 2008. It has change the way I perceive life and others around me. I can change
Grant 2008/12/18 9:24 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Keanu Reeves Rocks!!
Bev 2008/12/18 1:20 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
It seemed as if the earth stood still for me! Keanu and the rest of the cast gave robotic, lacklustre performances in a monotonous, meandering mess of a movie - what a waste!
imo 2008/12/30 10:37 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
i walked tentatively into this film not knowing what to expect. the first ten minutes set the mood for an epic movie, sadly the next 110 minutes crashed completly with poor cgi and a storyline that never should have been written
Morgan 2009/01/04 10:58 AM
What a pity - decent production values, big names - it all starts off well enough. Pity some of that budget wasn't spent on a script that made sense. (Reeves apparently strolls out of a high-security military facility with the clever disguise of, wait for it, a suit; and, really, as dumb as the American military is portrayed in movies, their first response on seeing an advanced alien civilisation park, in the middle of a public park, a big ball that looks like it could unleash apocalypse, is to shoot at it? Seriously?) And what looks like a movie that could build up to a clever satire - an absentee president, torturing "aliens" - is undermined by the script's sheer stupidity. And Jennifer Connolly looked so lovely.
kim 2009/01/06 9:18 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
The ending would have been great if human kind was really destroyed for messing up the planet - that would make more sense to the storyline that was heading one way and then - at a whim, turned into another 'we are victorious" load of rubbish for no real reason - suddenly the "it can't be stopped" was stopped - not believable at all - a real let down that left me going "okay....whatever" at the end.
Christoff Kapp 2009/02/07 10:26 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Ok, was verry exited to when I heard the movie is being re made. But after waiting 6 months to see it I wish I never did. They took a masterpiece and destroyed it. This movie is going down the same shoot as War of the worlds.
NEXT ON CHANNELX
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.