Comedian Jimmy Carr has blamed Reeva Steenkamp for her own death in shocking joke he made during the Q Awards!

Viral video of the day: Shia LaBeouf the cannibal who lives in the woods and kill people for sport! Watch it here!

The Dictator

2012-07-06 11:56
 
The Dictator
What it's about:

General Aladeen (Sacha Baron Cohen) is the leader of the fictional state of the Republic of Wadiya. His nuclear weapons programme has left the United Nations feeling nervous. They invite the dictator to talks in New York with the hope of signing an agreement that will ensure peace. However, once they get to the US his cousin and lieutenant Tamir (played by Ben Kingsley) has other plans and orders his kidnapping while he signs away Wadiya's oil deposits. Aladeen hides his identity on the way to reclaiming his throne.

What we thought:

Sacha Baron Cohen has done it again. His type of comedy has been unsettling the status quo since Ali G made the town of Staines famous. Cohen's movies are crack-a-minute type of comedy that leaves even the most open-minded souls cringing at their profanity and general anti-social behaviour.

Every joke or insult one has ever wished to throw at the likes of Saddam Hussein, Gaddaffi and Ben Ali, is likely to be in this movie. There are no sacred cows and even the West gets a bashing in a speech at the end of the movie when Aladeen sarcastically ridicules democracy.

He tells the audience at the press conference to continue supporting democracy because a select group of elites will keep making the decisions on their behalf. It is a hilarious speech that is cut short by the emergence of love interest Zoey (played by Anna Faris) who has come to stop Aladeen.

He changes his speech to speak about reconciliation and peace and ends up as a hero in the eyes of the West. However, this only comes after he has offended everyone he meets.

The Dictator is not witty comedy in the league of movies like Due Date and The Hangover movies.

Rather, it is crude comedy in a league of its own and maybe a bit like our own Leon Schuster’s movies that deal with the same (toilet) issues. It is more political and pokes fun at current events that one can easily interlink between the movie and the depicted situations.

The dictator, Aladeen, is a mix up of the world’s most notorious political figures which makes for hilarious viewing once one realises the same qualities in the character. The movie caters to anyone who likes their comedy less intelligent and grosser. However, anyone with an intact sense of humour will enjoy it.


Sacha Baron Cohen is back to his cringe-worthy best, ripping into the West's attitudes towards less developed nations and finding time to have sex with Megan Fox.

NEXT ON CHANNEL24X

A Most Wanted Man

2014-10-16 23:29

Add Your Review

(Comments may be edited or deleted at the Channel24 editors’ discretion)
Nokuthula Zwane 7/6/2012 12:48 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
pissed my pants laughing at the trailer, going to watch this movie tomorrow. cant wait to see it.
osiris 7/7/2012 9:31 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
similar to leon schuster's movies but have to watch it as a tradition.
Vika 7/9/2012 9:52 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Loved the movie, it's a must see.
manicm 7/10/2012 11:31 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I've seen this movie, so please don't compare it with Schuster's dumb, lowest common denominator movies. Yes The Dictator is gross in parts but is way too sophisticated to be compared to Leon's movies. Go see it now. SA journos are hacks.
Rude 7/10/2012 11:40 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
"The Dictator is not witty comedy in the league of movies like Due Date and The Hangover movies" you must be joking...... The Hangover "witty"?
Nicol Crous 7/10/2012 11:49 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Definitely more witty than The Hangover. If you're half up to date with current affairs you'll love it.
Mary 7/10/2012 12:01 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Not as good as 'Borat'(my all time favourite)and 'Bruno' but still a laugh a minute.
Rebel 7/10/2012 12:42 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
If you compare this to Borat, it doesnt come close to the ratings it has been given, i expected alot more from this movie and tbh i only had one solid laugh in this film!!! Sacha is a legend and has taken comedy to a new level, but in my opinion this movie is below his usual standards.
Shah Noor Ahmed 8/7/2012 3:03 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I found the movie funny but not hilarious. It was not all that bad of a movie but not worth watching in the cinema. People that are huge fans of Sacha will laugh for every silly and insane joke that is made, but for the avid comedy movie goer, you might just be slightly anoyed. Yes! the movie has a moral to share in paradox to the whole charachter of General Aladeen, but not worth the effort. You can still have a good laugh, but at home in the comfort of your own living space.
Lucy-Loves-Movies 8/27/2012 1:41 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Loved it! I can only give an Aladeen review. Better that Schuster any day of the week. His humour is fantastic if you open your mind & pay attention to what he says....
Your Name
Comment
Please enter the following text
Captcha
Your rating
for this movie
Rate Me...  
 
 

Recent Reviews

A Most Wanted Man

2014-10-16 23:29

One of Philip Seymour Hoffman’s last films, A Most Wanted Man is an espionage thriller that is all about the intelligence instead of the action. Read More »
Add your review

Magic in the Moonlight

2014-10-16 23:29

Hard to believe a Woody Allen film could be delightful, but that’s mostly because of the delightful performances of Colin Firth and Emma Stone. Read More »
Add your review

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.