WATCH: Meet the ex-rugby player who’s a brilliant ballet dancer in a new short documentary series titled, LIFE

WATCH: Very proud penguin from Edinburgh Zoo gets promoted from knight to Brigadier in the King of Norway's Guard.

The Grey

2012-04-20 12:31
 
What it's about:

An unruly group of oil-rig roughnecks' plane crashes into the remote Alaskan wilderness.

Battling mortal injuries and merciless weather, the survivors have only a few days to escape the icy elements – and a vicious pack of rogue wolves on the hunt – before their time runs out.

What the critics thought:

"It's a fine, tough little movie, technically assured and brutally efficient, with a simple story that ventures into some profound existential territory without making a big fuss about it."
- A.O. Scott, New York Times


"Liam Neeson confers weight and muscle on the movie, and endows it with a kind of emotional dignity it would not otherwise have."
- Peter Bradshaw, The Guardian


"When I learned of Sarah Palin hunting wolves from a helicopter, my sensibilities were tested, but after this film, I was prepared to call in more helicopters."
- Roger Ebert, Chicago Sun-Times



Live or die on this day.
Read more on:    liam neeson  |  movies
NEXT ON CHANNEL24X

Bad Moms

2016-08-12 08:44

jeanette 2012-04-23 12:25 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
no-no
Derrick 2012-04-26 02:03 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Reminded me of a 'flight of the phoenix' re-run, but with wolves. But it was okay.
Candice 2012-05-03 12:32 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I didn't think it was a bad movie, I just wish they showed what happened at the end exactly, instead of one making all different scenarios.
Melanie-ann Diesel 2012-05-03 03:27 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
"The Grey", though excellent, is not a fun film. Feel-good this ain't. It's stark, brutal and intense. Liam Neeson heads a fine cast including Frank Grillo, Dallas Roberts and a virtually unrecognisable Dermot Mulroney. Each actor has his moment to shine but Liam Neeson once again brings to life a character to sympathise with. He does anguish so well and bad-ass even better. The film works as a drama and a thriller. The suspense builds up slowly, the wolves at first only heard howling and seen as menacing eyes gleaming in the dark. The terrifying scenes of violence are brief and shocking. This movie left me rattled. 9/10 PS: Stick around for an extra scene after the credits have rolled.
 

Recent Reviews

Bad Moms

2016-08-12 08:44

Bad Moms will make you feel like you’re the best mom in the world, even if you’re a 'bad mom'. Read More »
Add your review

Nerve

2016-08-12 08:44

This flick warning on the dangers of the worldwide web and social media comes at the right time and should be a cautionary tale. Read More »
Add your review

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.