The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor

2008-11-04 10:04
 
What it's about:

Rick O'Connell (Brendan Fraser) and his wife Evelyn (Maria Bello replacing Rachel Weisz) are bored by their early retirement and agree to courier a priceless gem to China. Little do they know that the gem holds the key to resurrecting the long dead Dragon Emperor Han (Jet Li), who is awoken by an ambitious military officer (Anthony Wong Chau-Sang). Aided by their son Alex (Luke Ford) and a group of oddball characters, the intrepid couple must try to stop Han before he awakes his undead army and conquers the world.

What we thought of it:

The Mummy movies were never great, but they were fun – fast, action packed and loud, with tongue firmly in cheek. The third instalment in the series has unfortunately lost the plot and seems to be trying to outdo the latest Indiana Jones (2008) film in sheer volume of CGI and absolutely ludicrous moments that would make a 12-year-old sneer.

Brendan Fraser returns as the affable Rick O'Connell, with Maria Bello replacing Rachel Weisz as his wife, Evelyn. The story is set some years after the last movie as the couple's son Alex is now a student/adventurer organising archaeological digs. The father son dynamic doesn't work that well here, as both Rick and Alex have the same shtick, and look as though they were born within five years of each other.

In the first quarter of an hour, the film moves along smoothly with that blend of action and silly comedy that made the other ones so popular. After an amusing chase sequence involving undead horses and loads of fireworks, director Rob Cohen ditches his ambitions of making a decent Indiana Jones knock off and creates a mash up of amusement park rides, computer games and a whole load of post modern referencing that does nothing other than reinforce the fact that you are watching 100% recycled crap.

The volume of CGI effects is astounding, even though the quality isn't, and most of the time there is very little thread or logic to tie all these strange action sequences together. In an attempt to outdo the previous movies, we are treated to a ton of barely adequately rendered monsters, from mummies to dragons, and as many plot holes as there should've been amusing one-liners.

If you aren't a 10-year-old on a sugar rush this all gets tiring really quickly, and in boredom you might start to think about the plot – try to avoid this, it'll only make you angry. If you're waiting for some spectacular kung fu from Jet Li and Michelle Yeoh, don't hold your breath, because their single fight of the entire film is dwarfed by thousands of CGI zombies going crazy around them.

All in all there is worse than Tomb of the Dragon Emperor (10 000BC [2008] for one), but that is still no reason to subject yourself to this chaotic mess. There are still traces of the silly slapstick fun, but everything else has been buried beneath the flood of crappy graphics.

- Ivan Sadler

Get published on Channel24! Send us your movie, music and live gig reviews and columns and get published on Channel24. Send your articles to PublishMe@sa.24.com.
Rick O'Connell and his wife must stop an ancient emperor from stealing a priceless jewel and gaining immortality - and taking over the world with his undead army.

Carien van Schalkwyk 2008/08/08 12:42 PM
Mummy movies I really loved the first two Mummy movies and actually watched them again recently in anticipation of the third movie. I am disappointed by the abovementioned review. Was looking forward to the third movie. Was disappointed that Rachel Weiss would not be part of the new movie. Hate it when they use other actors to do sequels. Will watch it in any way.
vyron 2008/08/08 6:47 PM
terrible critic how many crits does any one know that gives a movie a good crit???my answer none???unfortunately we have crits that on like or believe in their own kind of movie theme, i have read many of Ivan's comments and most them point that he has no idea about the future and CGI.dude if you can not put the two together and understand fantasy 'action, please do not give a crit.in this the time and age people love to watch 'black verse white';'good verse evil', it gives us hope.please do not give movie bad credits becuase you are boring,consider the other public that prefer that.
Dustin 2008/08/09 10:29 AM
Critics of critics To keep this response short and sweet - Ivan, can't u guys put in a note that goes as follows... "Any idiot that criticizes a critic need not waste their kilobytes, pls only criticize the movie"
Ivan 2008/08/11 11:48 AM
Response to vyron Vyron, if you have read many of my reviews, then you'll know I give praise where it's due. I really think you just posted a comment to have your voice heard, because you liked this movie, or the other Mummy movies, and you don't like people disagreeing with you. How about I make you a deal? When you stop having the mind of a 6 year old child, I'll stop being 'boring'.
THE BOSS 2008/08/12 9:18 AM
GREAT MOVIE-TERRIBLE REVIEWER IVAN, YET AGAIN YOU HAVE TAINTED A GOOD MOVIE OR SERIES THAT A LOT OF PEOPLE ARE LOOKING FORWARD TO AND WILL DEFINATELY ENJOY. YOU ARE BORING AND ONLY GIVES CREDIT TO WHAT SUITS YOU. GOOD SPECIAL EFFECTS IS WHAT KEEPS THE CROWD COMING BACK FOR MORE AND AS FOR CGI EFFECTS, WELL YOU NOT GOING TO FIND ANY REAL MOMMIES OR SKELETONS WALKING AROUND NOW ?? SO OBVIOUSLY IT IS NEEDED YOU DUMMY !! ESPECIALLY FOR A MOVIE WITH A PLOT OF ANCIENT TIMES. AS SAID BEFORE, GO GET A LIFE !!!!! YOU ARE DEFINATELY A DRAMA QUEEN......
Ivan 2008/08/12 1:46 PM
@THE BOSS Why do you even bother reading these reviews? Judging by your writing, reading the big words I use must take you a very long time. Why don't you just go and watch the movies you want to see, and spend the rest of your time playing with your Lego? That way you can be happy, and everyone else doesn't have to read the utter sh*t that comes out of that funny shaped lump sitting on top of your neck.
Silver Arrow 2008/08/12 2:55 PM
MUMM BETTER THAN RING The mummy movies are good for a nice laugh. I enjoy them but don't think it is mind blowing. Far better than the Lord Of The Ring Movies.
YTAH 2008/08/12 3:13 PM
To the PR Stooge who calls himself "Boss" So far, you've said that you liked Hancock and The Mummy 3, but you didn't like Iron Man or The Dark Knight. Why can I not take you seriously?
Brendan Fraser Fan 2008/08/12 5:53 PM
Mummy Why do Fraser's movies always seem to be full of slap stick crap? Journey to the centre of the earth, altho fun and novel, was also so unbelievable and silly, it almost spoiled it for me. At least there was the 3D aspect. I do so like the man, tho. I think he should do more George of the Jungle things, if he takes his shirt off, the movie doesn't matter!
BladeMaster 2008/08/28 9:55 AM
Silver Arrow, ARE YOU INSANE? LOL To me it seems that your sense of judgement is just as good as your love for the cinema...
thandi 2008/09/01 8:40 AM
mummy why do peaple even bother to go and watch a movie if they always have to come back and say negative things only,and lets not forget no one is holding a gun in ur head u chooce to go there so live with it and i think the mummy was graet and jet lee did what he does best. good jo guys!
YTAH 2008/09/01 5:17 PM
@Thandi Ivan is a reviewer. A film reviewer. He gets paid to go to movies and tell other people whether it's worth shelling out money to watch it yourself. *THAT'S* why he bothers.
louisa 2008/09/06 12:44 PM
all scense the movie is the best 7/10
nikita 2008/09/11 11:26 AM
Mummy 3 I so enjoyed mummy 1 and 2. I was expecting a lot more from the movie. Brendan Frasier is always funny but i just think they tried to do to much in 1 movie.
mariah 2008/10/03 9:43 PM
mummy....... mummy is one of my favourite movie, i was total blown by part 2
NEXT ON CHANNELX
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.