M-Net officially turns 30 years old today – celebrating three decades of bringing viewers across the African continent premium TV content

Reeva Steenkamp's best friend finally breaks her silence with beautiful tribute on Instagram

The Passion of the Christ

2006-03-30 12:21

The Passion of The Christ is a film about the last twelve hours of Jesus of Nazareth's life. The film opens in the Garden of Olives (Gethsemane) where Jesus has gone to pray after the Last Supper. Jesus resists Satan's temptations. Betrayed by Judas Iscariot, Jesus is arrested and taken back to within the city walls of Jerusalem where the leaders of the Pharisees confront him with accusations of blasphemy and his trial results in a condemnation to death.

Jesus is brought before Pilate, the Roman Governor of Palestine, who listens to the accusations levelled at him by the Pharisees. Realizing he is confronting a political conflict, Pilate defers to King Herod in the matter. Herod returns Jesus to Pilate who gives the crowd a choice between Jesus and the criminal Barrabas. The crowd chooses to have Barrabas set free and to condemn Jesus.

Jesus is handed over to the Roman soldiers and flagellated. Unrecognisable now, he is brought back before Pilate, who presents him to the crowd as if to say "is this not enough?" It is not. Pilate washes his hands of the entire dilemma, ordering his men to do as the crowd wishes.

Jesus is presented with the cross and is ordered to carry it through the streets of Jerusalem all the way up to Golgotha. On Golgotha, Jesus is nailed to the cross and undergoes his last temptation - the fear that his Father has abandoned him. He overcomes his fear, looks at Mary, his Holy Mother, and makes the pronouncement that only she can fully understand, "it is accomplished." He then dies: "into Thy hands I commend my Spirit."

And at the moment of his death, nature itself overturns.

What the critics are saying:

"I was moved by the depth of feeling, by the skill of the actors and technicians, by their desire to see this project through no matter what."
- Roger Ebert, Chicago Sun-Times

"The Passion of the Christ is so relentlessly focused on the savagery of Jesus' final hours that this film seems to arise less from love than from wrath, and to succeed more in assaulting the spirit than in uplifting it."
- A.O. Scott, New York Times

"In the end, one can respect Gibson's high intentions and dedicated work, while remaining spiritually and dramatically unmoved by the result."
- Michael Wilmington, Chicago Tribune

"A film so narrowly focused as to be inaccessible for all but the devout."
- Kenneth Turan, Los Angeles Times

Mel Gibson has faithfully recreated the last hours of Jesus' life in painstaking detail. The result is both powerful and disturbingly violent.

Jack Reacher: Never Go Back

2016-10-14 07:38

Judy Paschall 2004-03-20 05:58 PM
Housewife/piano teacher Outstanding; the most accurately portrayed account of Jesus' on film in 2000 years. Absolutely
George 2004-03-20 11:36 PM
Mr. Excellent it was more than likely even worse than it was depicted here, but it was real and HE did it for you and me HOPE of Eternaty yes
Derick Brown 2004-03-21 04:14 PM
The Passion of the Christ Shows that there is a real God that we worship and that all the bad movies that Mel has done, it was God that pick him to do this outstanding movie. I wish every reborn Christian would take one unsaved soul to see this movie, just think how the angels will rejoice when they realize that to worship a living God is no Super Hero Comic. The Passion of the Christ
Father Robert 2004-03-22 04:28 PM
The Passion of the Christ Unfortunately the movie is full of historical and biblical inaccuracies. To much emphasise is laid on the cruel violence. This spoiled it for me. No.
Zoni Venter 2004-03-22 05:47 PM
The passion of Christ Wish and pray that this film-will reach people who would never came in contact with the living God,and that their lives will change for good. YES YES YES !!!
ALLAN STROUD 2004-03-22 06:15 PM
The Passion of the Christ I would like to re-iterate what Derrick Brown has mentioned. I also recommend "The Passion of the Christ", for all christians who have feelings for Jesus and what he did for us. He didn't have to die for us but it was His love for us that put Him on the cross to reconsile us back to the Father. I'd recommend this with an infinitive amount of YES's
Andre Jacobs 2004-03-22 07:11 PM
The Passion of the Christ I havn't seen The passion of the Christ, but it is about time somebody made a film about the most influencial person in history. It doesn't matter if there are minor historical inaccuracies in the movie, the important point is that the message of Christ's redeeming death is proclaimed. YES
Bill 2004-03-22 08:46 PM
The Passion of Christ I have not seen this movie yet, but from the buzz it is causing, Jesus remains a controversial person, even today. Why is this ? Simple - he was who he claimed to be and he has the power, still today, to change lives forever. Go Mel Go ! and may the Lord Bless you and all who watch this movie.
Maggie 2004-03-26 07:27 AM
The passion of the Christ Although I have not seen the movie, I believe the story needed to be told, and thats why I rate it so high. I believe people are so narrow minded these days, and thats why they say the movie is too gory with blood - yet this is what happened!! I mean, how would they look after having nails driven into their wrists, and having walked so many hours with a thorn crown??People need to open their eyes and realise the reality of the whole story!
Gillybaby 2004-03-26 07:37 AM
The Passion of the Christ Any movie Mel Gibson makes or shows in has gotta be good. One up for you Mel and good for you to stand by your principles.
ALEX 2004-03-26 07:51 AM
The Passion of Christ I feel positive about the film and going to see the film this weekend, will review it Monday again
michelle 2004-03-26 07:52 AM
hollywood's about to change havn't seen the movie yet, but know the story of Christ's death good enough to say it's time that it was told in the language the wolrd knows. great to know that Mel Gibson,someone so big in the movie world could make a difference. Those who don't know the story will get to know it, and those who do know, can be reminded.
F Joubert 2004-03-26 08:27 AM
The Passion of the Christ Powerfull, Real in the realization that it is based on historical fact. Awesome in the lifelike grafic detail. A defining moment as a life experience - But NOT entertainment. Cold Mountain
Corne 2004-03-26 08:40 AM
The Passion of the Christ Never in my life have I been moved like this. Please go and see this movie, all the critics and synics out there.
Astrid 2004-03-26 08:41 AM
Borne again Christian There was nothing nice or not violent about the actual crucifiction which took place then. In fact then people were more cruel than can be imagined. There is no use we try to shy away from reality. It happened. Maybe worse than what is portrayed in the movie. This movie made it more real to me what Christ went through on the cross for you and me. It is not sugar coated nor was it then. I could only sit and cry. I felt guilt, joy and I was amazed. It drew me in. It was as though it was not a movie or a story being told. It felt real to me for a while, as though I was there. When the movie was finished I did not know what to feel or think. I could not talk about it right away. We left it there. The next day at work everyone asked me how it was. I could not speak about it without starting to cry again. I also did not want to reveal the contents and advised them to experience (not just see) it for themselves. Yes, I would more than recommend it. If I could buy them the ticket to convince everyone in the world to go and watch it, I would. It should actually be free so that everyone can see it.
Norman 2004-03-26 09:01 AM
The Passion of the Christ This is a reminder to us all of how Christ suffered for our sins,which is taken for granted today is this age of movie violence people just accept when someone is shot or killed as a norm,therefore when one sees the grafic beating of Christ one cannot help but to feel great sorrow and so it should be with any loss of life
Elmin 2004-03-26 09:37 AM
The Passion of Christ Thank You Mel Gibson I cried a lot, prayed a lot and slept very little. I lost my appetite aswell, in a nutshell every emotions within me had been shaken. I wish I could have been there with him. I realised that there is a huge room for improvement in my life and I that I do love Jesus Christ, I also know that I could never express my gratitude enough towards God for giving his son to die for our sins. Needless to say the materialism in this world easily derails us and I can't help but wonder what Mel Gibson is going to do with all the money he'll be making from this wonderfull movie.............Charity for children, the abused, homeless or fatally ill ones, would be nice wouldn't it. The passion of Christ
Magriet Fick 2004-03-26 11:07 AM
The Passion becoming my passion I recommend that each person go and see this movie. Even if it is just to see what the controversy is all about. But don't just leave it at the movie. Go to your local church and go through the small group study sold by Walk thru the Bible. This study will explain to you exactly what the movie means. Excellent to see!
LISA MERRICK 2004-03-26 11:51 AM
THE PASSION OF THE CHRIST I thought this movie was outstanding, it has opened my eyes to many things and touched my heart dearly. We need more of these movies to teach us lessons in life and to boarden our minds. Well done Mel Gibson you really have out done yourself. OUTSTANDING THE PASSION OF THE CHRIST (OVER AND OVER AGAIN)
Jerome Evertson 2004-03-26 01:11 PM
Excellent this move is a masterpiece whichever way you look at it, its in my opinion the closest to reality to how Christ died for our sins. The fact cannot denied that this is realy a true reflection of how things were. the controvercies around this film have no grounds. This is just the way people want to deny the fact that Christ died for us. yes

Recent Reviews

Jack Reacher: Never Go Back

2016-10-14 07:38

Just another typical Tom Cruise action film, with nothing to get too excited about. The film is loaded with action-film stereotypes and cheesy one-liners. Read More »
Add your review

Hands of Stone

2016-10-14 07:38

Hands of Stone is a bland, unlikable portrayal of a real-life boxer that struggles to hit the highs of Rocky IV let alone Raging Bull or the original Rocky. Mark this one down as “for boxing fanatics only”. Read More »
Add your review

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.