The Phantom of the Opera

2006-03-30 12:52
 

Synopsis:

Christine Daee (Emmy Rossum) is a promising young Opera star in 19th century Paris. She is haunted by the voice of the Phantom (Gerard Butler), a musician who hides in the shadows to hide a facial disfigurement, yet sings to her obsessively.

Dwelling in the dark, damp chambers beneath the Paris opera house, the Phantom lords over the cast and management with artistic autocracy - he writes the shows, casts them, and threatens all who disobey his plans with dramatically violent outbursts.

But when his young student Christine falls for the rich and dapper Raoul (Patrick Wilson), the phantom descends into madness...

What the critics are saying:

"...part of the pleasure of moviegoing is pure spectacle -- of just sitting there and looking at great stuff and knowing it looks terrific. There wasn't much Schumacher could have done with the story or the music he was handed, but in the areas over which he held sway, he has triumphed."
- Roger Ebert, Chicago SunTimes

"For those whose primary experience with musicals is on the screen, this melodramatic tale with the familiar soundtrack should hold substantial appeal."
- Claudia Puig, USA Today

"...feels less like a movie than a nonstop amusement park ride designed to make people feel they really got their money's worth."
- Stephanie Zacharek, Salon.com


A lavish, passionate and utterly over-the-top version of the beloved musical that will delight Lloyd Webber fans, but may stupefy others.

Jean 2005/02/02 9:33 AM
thanks for the warning Anything that delights Lloyd Webber fans is almost guaranteed to horrify me. I would wager a million bucks on him having plastic plants around his indoor swimming pool. Moulin Rouge
Trudie Cannon 2005/02/02 7:28 PM
Phantom of the Opera A great cast and great show. A MUST SEE FOR ALL LIGHT OPERA LOVERS AS WELL AS ALL WHO LOVE ANDREW LLOYD WEBER. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK - THE PREVIEW MADE IT WORTH WAITING FOR THE SHOW TO RUN AGAIN IN THE CAPE.
Carla 2005/02/03 5:30 AM
Breath taking Fanstastic,singing,costumes and the music will knock you off your feet!!!! Phantom of the Opera
J.P. FLEURIOT 2005/02/04 5:31 AM
Mr. J.P. Fleuriot IPFA (UK); AIMTA (SA) Type your review here I saw the opera twice at His Majesty's Theatre in London and ranks it on a par with such classics as "La Bohème", "Carmen", "Rigoletto"and as good as any opera I have ever seen - and I have seen most of them
Mariska Nell 2005/02/10 2:37 PM
The Phantom of the Opera The cast, the set, the music. It all let you into a fantacy world of wanting to feel with every human sence. Each one was satisfied. Emmy Rossum has a voice so clear, it gave opera a new face. Don't understand what she's doing in acting. The directors & producers truly did this story justice. Well done. It did have a slight empty feeling, but the obvious passion between 'Christeen & the Phantom', made up for it. I'll recommend it to the strongest critics. Definately
Louise 2005/02/11 8:25 AM
Brilliant From the first to the very last note I had goosebumps! This production was brilliant! Their choice of stars were spot on. Ms Rossum has the voice of an angel and gives Sarah Brightman competition! A must see for all Lloyd Webber fans.
HELEN HORNSBY 2005/03/11 6:04 PM
MRS I ABSOLUTELY LOVED THE MOVIE - I SAW THE STAGE PRODUCTION AT THE STATE THEATRE BUT THE MOVIE IS SOMETHING YOU CAN KEEP FOREVER! I LOVED IT, I CAN'T WAIT FOR IT TO COME ON DVD
Marilize 2006/01/04 3:55 PM
Amazing I saw the movie in the theater. At first I was disipointed, because of the black and white movie, till the colour came. I totaly fell inlove with the movie!! I have the dvd now and I'm sure I'm the girl who watched the movie the most!! If you are a music lover and you also love singing, you must watch it for sertain!!
Kestrel Siparti 2006/03/11 10:18 AM
Phantom Review This is the best movie I have ever seen in my entire life. It is beautifully done, and might I add that The Phantom ((Erik) If you have read the origional book) Is slightly romanatsised but we don't care. Though Raoul remains the annoying FOP that he always was in the book, he is WAY overshadowed by the gorgeous Phantom and all in all we have decided that Christine made the wrong descision. ERIK THE PHANTOM 4EVER!!!!!!!! DUHH....PHANTOM OF THE OPERA AND STAR WARS III
summer moss 2007/11/02 6:09 PM
Spectacular! This was a wonderful movie. Never before have i been a fan of musicals... but The Phantom changed that. The actors were wonderful, except i was a little disappointed with Patrick Wilson's performance. He is supposed to be a professional singer and yet his voice was not near strong enough to out shine Gerard Butler's sensual, although ameatuer, voice. All in all the movie was spectacular and i cry every time i watch it. But that is only because Christine left a man who was desprately in love with her for a guy who never noticed her until she was in the spotlight.
NEXT ON CHANNELX
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.