Nick Jonas feels he is a much 'cooler' artist away from the Jonas Brothers.

President Barack Obama says the U.S. is reviewing whether to put North Korea back on its terror list.

The Twilight Saga: Eclipse

2012-11-15 09:03
 
The Twilight Saga: Eclipse
What it's about:

Seattle is being ravaged by a string of mysterious killings and a murderous vampire whose continuing quest for revenge inevitably puts Bella in danger once again. In the midst of impending doom, she finds herself in a love-triangle and is finally forced to choose between her love for Edward and her friendship (and unresolved feelings) for Jacob - knowing that doing so could ignite the age-old struggle between the vampires and the werewolves.

What we thought of it:


Love it or hate it, The Twilight Saga is without a doubt the biggest phenomenon to hit pop culture since Harry Potter. With the massive amount of support it has garnered from fans around the world, both Twilight and New Moon quickly exploded and became box office hits (the psychotic Twi-hards unfortunately seem to wield a large amount of power).

While it mattered little to them that the movies were actually poorly produced and poorly directed (sorry Twi-hards, but over-the-top effects can't mask poor acting, lame dialogue and bad script writing), the movies were never a hit with critics.

That said, I think Eclipse may change that.

Making use of a bigger budget, better effects, and a more assured director (David Slade, best known for two rather hardcore movies - Hard Candy and 30 Days of Night) Eclipse is, by far, the most cinematic of the series. The movie is far from perfect, but it does leave one with the feeling that someone actually read the book and caught the underlying tone and nuances that Stephanie Meyer conveys throughout her books.

The opening scene which introduces local small-town boy Riley being bitten by an unknown vampire in a dark and gloomy Seattle, sets the tone for a fast-paced, understated (read: non-hammy) movie filled with surprising twists and turns before the build-up to the action-packed climax.
 
Despite the generally morose, 'woe-is-me' tone of the Twilight Saga, Eclipse manages to be light-hearted with some much needed humour injected into the script.

The problem with the last two movies was that, for the most part, the script stuck too closely to the  dialogue as it appeared in the novels, resulting in a stilted onscreen translation and phony performances from an otherwise good cast. Kristen Stewart and Robert Pattinson, we've always felt, were better than this.

Screenwriter Melissa Rosenberg has long been blamed for sucking the life out of the story, so to speak. Thankfully, she's learned some hard lessons from her previous adaptations (and the fans' online wrath, no doubt) and has taken some liberties with her script. Maybe it's due to the influence of a new director, or the effect of spending so much time together, but Stewart and Pattinson are, for the first time, almost believable as madly-in-love couple Bella and Edward.

Their performances have certainly improved, but that curious lack of chemistry between them (considering that they're an off-screen couple too) has endured. They still have a long way to go before shaking off that eerie flatness in their scenes together. And, at this stage in the saga, Stewart's vapid attempts at emoting have become tiring and inexcusable. Bella Swan is not the most inspiring of literary creations, that's for sure.
 
The real stars of the show are Taylor Lautner (as werewolf Jacob), Jackson Rathbone as sullen vampire Jasper and newcomer Xavier Samuel as Riley. Considering that he is shirtless for most of the movie (yes ladies, your prayers have been heard) and delivers the best one-liners, Lautner is as captivating as he was in New Moon - even with his clothes on. He has an engaging expressiveness about him and seems far more at ease in front of the camera than his co-stars. Rathbone also surprises with a much better and more emotive performance. Samuel is certainly one to keep an eye on too, making an instant impression as bad-ass vampire Riley.

Another surprising factor was how the background characters came into play. We get to see the backdrop to both Jasper and Rosalie's histories with a couple of well-placed flashbacks that do not detract from the movie at all.

The action scenes, CG wolves and all round visual effects have noticeably improved and the climactic fight scene proved to be no let down. Minus the awful make-up, creepy contacts, lack of gore and the fact that most of the movie was spent building up to the action,  Eclipse redeems itself with just a few well-placed tweaks. It's not as bad as you probably think it is.


Twilight didn't sparkle and New Moon should have stayed in the dark, but Eclipse finally offers some much-needed redemption for the massive pop culture phenomenon.

NEXT ON CHANNEL24X

Add Your Review

(Comments may be edited or deleted at the Channel24 editors’ discretion)
preshen govender 2010-07-01 07:30 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
she is torn between necrophilia and bestiality
Liz 2010-07-01 08:55 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Just saw the movie last night! I absolutely loved it! I always loved Edward, but after Eclipse, i might be leaning towards Jacob. Bella always irritated me since Twilight - but i guess that's just her character! Loved the Wolf scenes - they were brilliant, i actually expected worst. Overall, I LOVED IT! Can't wait for Breaking Dawn :)
GypseyT 2010-07-01 08:59 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Agreed, Eclipse was the best of the three so far. And how we woman can so easily relate to and laugh at men and their egos and possesiveness. I have always been Team Jasper, so yes it was good to see him coming into his own. At least Mike never had a fake tan this time, nor did Rosalie have fake hair. And the wolf animation was much better. Great movie!
Rapunzell 2010-07-01 09:14 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Definately the best out of the Saga so far - Eclipse offers a storyline that is closer to the book and has better special effects than its predecessors. With the occasional bad acting and questionable costume enhancements aside, this movie is entertaining and worth a watch. For the not-so-die-hard-fans, I recommend to watch the movie in a few weeks time to ensure that the screaming teenagers and bored housewives do not spoil your cinema experience.
Rapunzell 2010-07-01 09:14 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Definately the best out of the Saga so far - Eclipse offers a storyline that is closer to the book and has better special effects than its predecessors. With the occasional bad acting and questionable costume enhancements aside, this movie is entertaining and worth a watch. For the not-so-die-hard-fans, I recommend to watch the movie in a few weeks time to ensure that the screaming teenagers and bored housewives do not spoil your cinema experience.
twihard 2010-07-01 09:47 AM
I love love love the twilight saga, but this movie was too rushed, it was like the director took the best pieces of the book and just stuck them together with no flow. maybe when i go watch it again i'll change my mind, but other than that it delivers, just like all the others.
Anny 2010-07-01 10:04 AM
I hope this movie is better than New Moon. The movie was dragged out to make up time that they did not really need. There was also just one part worth watching in the whole movie. Then again, the book was also not one of the best.
Michael 2010-07-01 10:52 AM
"It's not as bad as you probably think it is." This line says it all, I'll give this one a skip thanks. Can't believe this crap became popular, sparkly vampires indeed.
kim 2010-07-01 11:47 AM
Seeing it tomorrow - can't wait - loved the books except the second one that just dragged so I will enjoy the movies I am sure - just wondering how they plan on putting breaking dawn together without it looking silly.........apparently it will be in 2 movies
Bullion 2010-07-01 01:03 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I watched the premier and it was the nest one so far. I love the werewolf's.
Gizelle 2010-07-01 01:05 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Seen it 5 times since it opened and Edward is definitely the one for me!!!
Twilight saga fan 2010-07-01 01:07 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I loved it. It did justice to the book (which was my fav out of the 4) AND the special effects and makeup were better in this one too. Jacob and Jasper were also much more loveable in this film - which was a nice change. Cant wait for next book, Breaking Dawn, to be made (apparently it will be made in 2 films) I think, like with all the films, the twi-hards and the people who have actually read the books will be the biggest fans :)
Lydon 2010-07-01 01:33 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
It was way better than New Moon. I loved the intro...stupidly I didn't even realise it was the movie! I thought it was a trailer haha.
Tigra 2010-07-01 03:51 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Saw the movie yesterday. The acting was flat and the loud OOOOHS and AAAAHS from the appreciative audience when Taylor was shirtless was truly ridiculous. So he has nice abs. So WHAT! I've seen better in real life - nevermind on-screen. No need for the swooning I heard in the theatre. CGI could have been much better too - use Avatar as a benchmark and the CGI might improve in the next movie. I'm not even going to bother going to the next movie. I'd rather spend my time re-reading the book...
PRESHEN GOVENDER 2010-07-02 08:15 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Gayest movie of the year
Priscilla 2010-07-02 01:00 PM
This one was certainly way better than the first two, and much more in line with the novel. Given some things have changed, but it makes for better viewing. I do agree with @Rapunzell... wait a couple of days before going to watch, the teeny ooohss and aaaahhhsss were definitely annoying.
Cynic 2010-07-02 01:15 PM
Had a good yawn and went back to sleep. Horny vampires vs horny werewolves. Honestly.
WAYDA 2010-07-02 02:20 PM
Have not seen the new one yet....dying to see it and indulge in eye candy
Corry 2010-07-02 02:59 PM
Should bring the "Trueblood" vamps, they'd kick these wimpy twilight vamps arses
Paul 2010-07-03 10:54 PM
Boring!
Your Name
Comment
Please enter the following text
Captcha
Your rating
for this movie
Rate Me...  
 
 

Recent Reviews

The silliness finally comes to an end in the Night at the Museum franchise, thankfully saying goodbye to the animated museum exhibits. Read More »
Add your review

Mr Turner

2014-12-12 12:43

Although beautifully shot and a superb performance from Timothy Spall, it’s not the most exciting two-and-a-half hours of your life. Read More »
Add your review

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.