Nude photos of award-winning actress Jennifer Lawrence and other celebrities have leaked online

Joan Rivers' daughter 'in denial' over her mother's condition and believes she'll pull through

The Watch

2012-09-11 09:23
 
The Watch isn't a dreadful film, just a bad one that mistakes use of the word "penis" and its variations for actual humour.
What it's about:

When one of his employees is brutally killed, the manager of a store decides to start up a neighbourhood watch with three other members of his community with the intention of catching the killer. But it becomes clear that their perp might not even be from Earth.

What we thought:

The Watch is the latest addition to that family of films that attempts to marry supernatural fantasy to comedic hijinks. It is a marriage that has borne some successful fruit (Ghostbusters, Men in Black) but, admittedly, there have also been a few bad apples (Evolution, Ghostbusters II). Unfortunately, The Watch falls into the latter category of that family.

This kind of film needs a canny director who knows how to make audiences laugh without undermining the threat of the supernatural aspect. That The Watch manages neither is as much the fault of a poorly plotted script with a low gag count as it is the fault of lacklustre direction from Akiva Schaffer.

Where Ghostbusters had an appealing charm and zest about it, The Watch opts instead for crude humour and vulgarity. Don’t get me wrong, I’ll laugh like a drain at a skillfully deployed potty joke (and with this film’s over-reliance on the word "penis" and its variations, potty is just what you’ll get). But humour, vulgar or otherwise, requires keen timing and a sense of judgement, both of which of are sorely lacking from this film.

The Watch throws out naughty words as if the mere mention of genitalia were enough to have audiences rolling in the aisles. It isn’t, quite frankly, and the film’s dependence on largely one kind of humour becomes wearing and tiresome.

You’d expect that the first meeting of the film’s protagonists could be funny but you’d be wrong. That happens, desperately trying for humour, but not producing much. Perhaps the team’s first night on the prowl might be mined for some humour. Wrong again. They spend the night in an SUV, spouting inane dialogue and then rush off to catch a misbehaving teenager.

Again, nothing really funny happens here. It’s not like there wasn’t an opportunity to make something really interesting from the premise. Exploring what lay beneath the attractive surface of sunny suburbia is one direction the film might have taken, with or without the alien angle.

It would help if the cast were any good but, for the most part, they aren’t. Vaughn mugs desperately but just comes off as loud and obnoxious; Jonah Hill has only one layer to his character and that is grating idiocy while Stiller, lumbered with the role of the straight man, makes virtually no impression whatsoever.

It’s The IT Crowd’s Richard Ayoade who makes the best impression, his goofy charm and light touch providing a welcome change from the otherwise annoyingly abrasive humour.

The Watch isn’t a dreadful film, just a bad one. The first two acts are marginally interesting, and things do kick up a notch come the third act. But it is a film that is woefully short on actual comedy.

You’ll chuckle on occasion, smirk at a few jokes and then spend the rest of the time waiting, hoping, praying perhaps for something funny (or anything of actual interest) to happen.

NEXT ON CHANNEL24X

Hard to Get

2014-08-22 10:14

Add Your Review

(Comments may be edited or deleted at the Channel24 editors’ discretion)
Grai 9/11/2012 9:45 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
"The Watch isn’t a dreadful film, just a bad one".... No I'd say Dreadful! Cant believe I wasted my money on this idiotic so called Comedy.
Schalk 9/11/2012 12:16 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I knew this film was going to slammed by the critics cause its not a good movie. But it has its place, went to watch it over the weekend and I enjoyed it. It was a nice turn of pace from the usual nouveau films I prefer but like Anchorman, Step Brothers, Superbad, Knocked Up etc. it serves a purpose. It is mindless comedy made for those still a little young at hart and who are still prone to giggle at words like doodie.
Reinhardt 9/11/2012 3:19 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I thought The Watch was hilarious! It is very much like Superbad, Harold and Kumar, Old School and movies like that. Basically if you didn't like it you are probably older than 30.
Werner 9/11/2012 3:28 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Evolution a bad fruit? that movie has a massive cult following and quite good! i love it :) agree with everything else though.. trailer looks like cr#p
Joe 9/11/2012 3:34 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
By your reasoning, Space Odyssey, Aliens, Star Wars, Star Trek, Stargate SG-1 and Firefly (etc) are all supernatural movies / tv shows? Give me a break. You do get what SCI-FI means dont you? The general use of the word "supernatural" is something which is unexplainable by natural law - and not the lesser, more stupid definition of "not of this earth". If you write a movie review, try and stick with the colloquial meaning of a word. And those 4 comparisons are really poor in any event. There are about 100 well known movies worse than Ghostbusters 2 or Evolution - which are actually quite good in their own right. This is a terrible, poorly researched, and uninformed review.
Jman 9/12/2012 11:07 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
@ Reinhardt - I am over 30 and I LOVE these movies! (i have not yet seen this one though)
Rob 9/12/2012 11:30 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I agree with Schalk and Reinhardt. The story line of the movie was undoubtedly ridiculously stupid but I found it hilarious. And actually, so did everyone else in the cinema. If you knew what the story was about and went in there looking for intelligent comedy, then sorry but you are the stupid one. It was vulgar and brainless but was really funny and a good way to just relax and laugh after a hard week.
Josh 9/13/2012 9:50 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I personally feel that movie critics are a waste of time, just give the plot and actors etc, we dont want to hear your opinion on the film, let us make up our own minds please. I watched the movie and I thought it was brilliant, perfect for a Saturday night. So what if it was vulgar, thats funny, you try and write a screenplay that will make millions, Mr Justin Hess, I doubt you get very far
Pat 9/14/2012 3:12 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Watched it last night - and laughed my ass off.
Anton 9/19/2012 4:59 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I'm so glad that critics don't make the movies...
Arlene 10/22/2012 3:30 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I agree with Rob. It was mindless fun
Your Name
Comment
Please enter the following text
Captcha
Your rating
for this movie
Rate Me...  
 
 

Recent Reviews

Hard to Get

2014-08-22 10:14

A South African production on par with Hollywood action movies, Hard To Get was probably the best investment ever made in this industry. Read More »
Add your review

Lucy

2014-08-22 10:14

Oozing with bad science, Lucy is a forgettable bad sci-fi which pretends to be something more. Read More »
Add your review

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.