Vaatjie Sien Sy Gat

2009-01-28 10:22
 
Vaatjie Sien Sy Gat

What it's about:

In a spin-off to the juvenile 2007 comedy Poena is Koning, comes the misadventures of Vaatjie Venter, a talented pastry chef and the top student at the hotel school where he is training. He soon becomes the lead candidate to win a scholarship to train under world-famous master chef Pierre Cousteau in Paris. But Vaatjie's charmed life is tested to its limits when his jealous classmate James tries everything in his power to prevent Vaatjie from winning the opportunity of a lifetime.


What we thought of it:

The tone of this movie is set within the first two minutes. We are introduced to protagonist Vaatjie Venter as he is awoken by the sound (and smell) of his own fart. As he gets out of his karavaan, parked in the backyard of his parent’s Gauteng home, he steps in a pile of dog shit.

Although Vaatjie calls his karavaan home, he is no wash out. He is the top student at the local hotel school and has been awarded a 10-week scholarship in Paris (the real one in France, not the Free State).

Enter antagonist James who does not like that the “vetgat boer” is off overseas, while he's due to complete his internship in a Benoni hotel.
In one scene James squashes Vaatjie’s culinary masterpiece, which looks more like a cake a four-year-old threw up than the product of a pastry chef extraordinaire. It figures, considering the Kook and Geniet stands proudly mounted on the desk of the school’s principal, Ms Mammabolo. Not quite the quintessential guide to gourmet cooking. 

The evil James frames Vaatjie for theft and gets him kicked out of the school, hoping to bring himself in contention for the French scholarship. Luckily Vaatjie has a supportive father, Wors Venter (Willie Esterhuizen), who believes in his son’s innocence and decides to call in some professional legal help.

But alas! The odds are stacked against poor Vaatjie and he is soon found guilty by a judge more interested in the sexy prosecutor than the evidence before him. Vaatjie Sien Sy Gat is the story of a poor white Afrikaans-speaking youth battling against the forces of the new South Africa that are bent on destroying him.

You would be hard pressed to find a movie more saturated with racial stereotypes (or any other stereotype for that matter). When Esterhuizen did it in his 1994 comedy Lipstiek Dipstiek, it was in a country still coming to terms with itself, where people could use a laugh at their own expense.

The police, the courts, the criminals – everybody is out to get poor Vaatjie. The rest of Africa is also part of the plot to destroy the poor white boy’s life. After being conned and imprisoned by a corrupt Botswana border official, he curls naked into a foetal position to decry his lot - after all he had done nothing wrong!

However, delving into the (alleged) paranoia of the Afrikaner psyche is going beyond this movie’s worth.

Bad acting. Bad plot. Bad production. Bad themes. Bad jokes. It makes one wonder: what is the point? (The only fun in this movie is trying to spot the number of product placements.)



Tasteless – and proud of it – this Afrikaans "comedy" is all about how the new South Africa is screwing over its poor white hero.

Vinnie Paul 2008/12/29 10:38 AM
Susan Smit, you are not the authority on movie critic. I have never even heard of you, so please keep your thoughts for yourself.
Tumelo 2008/12/29 10:43 AM
I WANT WRONG TURN 2 SEND IT MY EMAIL NOW
Selma 2008/12/29 10:48 AM
De gustibus non est disputandum.
Tessa 2008/12/29 11:02 AM
I saw the trailer and was suddenly very sad for South African movie industry. This looks shockingly poor and only brain dead losers would actually go and watch this pile of excrement.
Ernst 2008/12/29 12:21 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Most likely still Miss Susan Smit
Michael 2008/12/29 12:56 PM
Wie de v@k is Susan Smit?
Awa 2008/12/29 1:06 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Who is Susan Smit? ANC ass kisser? Poena & other movies, Leon Schuster's repeated shitty toilet humor shows the mentality of the New South Africans, not just a part of the white community. Why does Bones 1 & 2 probably many more to come, fetch no.1 every December it starts showing. Why can't we make a better movie than "Australia"? NSA always have to copy from other countries. There must be original, creative and tasteful comedy, drama & action scripts/moviemakers out there?
Elizabeth 2008/12/29 2:51 PM
Why is it that we, since the introduction of telivision in RSA, are able to produce outstanding and popular television series but our local film industry cannot show a profit unless it follows the tried and tested Schuster or Estherhuizen recipes?
Selma 2008/12/29 3:01 PM
Different strokes for different blokes. Willie is au fait with his very loyal audience and caters for them. His work does not appeal to me but he would not be producing this genre unless he had a market.
Gandalf 2008/12/29 3:45 PM
If this movie is anywhere near as hilarious as Poena Is Koning was, I can't wait to see it. Come on SA, Lets support our mivie industry :)
brain dead 2008/12/30 9:20 AM
ai jai jai!!!! moet julle altyd kla oor alles. Tessa dan is ek seker een van die mees geleerde brain dead losers wat ek ken, maar ek gaan die fliek wel kyk. Ek is trots afrikaans en ondersteun alles wat daarmee verbind word. As jy nie van die fliek hou nie, moet dit nie gaan kyk nie...so maklik soos dit!
Skywalker 2009/01/08 4:07 PM
So if its such a waste, why go through the trouble of reviewing it? I know its crap, but its still a laugh, even at how rediculous we can be ourselves. Susan would surely have spotted herself in the movie somewhere.
A 2009/01/09 10:07 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Nog 'n gatkruiping review (Susan, wie jy ook al mag wees). Mooi so, hou vol, dalk is jy volgende jaar in parlement!
Cobus Wiese 2009/01/09 1:52 PM
Ek ken Susan Smit, m03r nice mens, sy het pakkies gepak by my Pick n Pay so ruk terug...
Pe nis 2009/01/09 3:38 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
TUMELO, I have wrong turn 1 and 2 on a DVD Disc, send me your email number.
Gandalf se MA 2009/01/09 3:43 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
HEY Gandalf, Jy het "movie" verkeerd gespel JOU AAP.
jp calitz 2009/01/18 2:25 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
it is a good movie
Mnr. E.Terre'Blanche 2009/01/28 11:21 AM
Susan Smit, as jy 'n resensent se alie werd is, sal jy bewus wees dat die Afrikaanse rolprentbedryf al die jare deur die regering gewurg was en dat daar geen vryheid was in die bedryf nie. Verstaan dan tog dat Afrikaans sy eie sin vir humor het. Ek hoop ONS industrie word nie deur Hollywood (of mense soos jy) beinvloed nie. Ons het kwantiteit veel meer nodig (kwaliteit sal met tyd kom)
Wiehann 2009/02/21 12:58 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Dit was n uitstekende fliek!!!!!!!!Het net gehoop om meer van poena te sien want poena was tog vaaitjie se beste pel.
mr honesty 2009/03/06 5:10 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Goeie FOK! Hierdie is a kak movie! only a loser would think up this crap, why even bother making this movie. kyk die fliek, as jy wil 1 uur van jou lewe weggooi! u have been warned. DEV
NEXT ON CHANNELX
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.