It's been four weeks since hackers calling themselves Guardians of Peace began their cyberterrorism campaign

Brad Pitt was called to perform his civic duty but was then deemed too distracting to pull through!

Verraaiers

2013-02-25 06:10
 
What it's about:

After hearing the news that the British are planning a scorched earth policy, Jan van Aswegen (Gys de Villiers), a respected Boer officer, decides to go back to his farm and protect his wife and children, rather than continue fighting in the war. This decision leads to dramatic events culminating in him and his sons being tried for high treason.

What we thought:

During the third phase of the Second Anglo-Boer War in 1900 Lord Kitchener implemented a scorched earth policy – British troops swept across South Africa systematically destroying crops, slaughtering livestock, burning down homesteads and farms, poisoning wells, salting fields and putting women and children in concentration camps.

At the centre of Paul Eilers' Verraaiers (Traitors) is the character of Jan van Aswegen (Gys de Villiers), a respected Boer officer who takes a stand against continuing to fight for a dream that's no longer attainable, a war that's already lost.

As with Roepman, Eilers tells a riveting story, not only of war, but of the women and children who are left behind to deal with loss and uncertainty on a daily basis.

De Villiers delivers the performance of his life as a man making the most difficult decision of his life, to be branded a traitor, and in the process complicating his relationship with his son and his son-in-law when his return home leads to their imprisonment, a trial and the harshest possible sentence.

His son is played by Viljé Maritz (Binneland) who gives an honest and raw performance and the late Andrew Thompson is brilliant as his son-in-law.

One can also appreciate Rika Sennett, who is heart wrenching as Jan's wife Gerda van Aswegen who slowly but surely loses her mind. Beate Olwagen is sincere as Martha, Deon Lotz methodical as General De La Rey and Jacques Bessenger believable as Scotsman Robert McLaughlin.

From the same team behind Roepman and inspired by true events from Albert Blake's book Boereverraaiers, Verraaiers is utterly captivating, world class and speaks to a universal audience.


From the same team behind Roepman and inspired by true events, Verraaiers is utterly captivating, world class and speaks to a universal audience.

NEXT ON CHANNEL24X

Add Your Review

(Comments may be edited or deleted at the Channel24 editors’ discretion)
JP Koen 2013-02-24 09:16 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Great movie!
Abe 2013-02-25 08:29 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
The British were never held accountable for the appalling death of 27,000 women and children in concentration camps. Shocking! The movie is a great recount of events. "One man's terrorist is another's freedom fighter".
Carl Davis 2013-02-25 11:18 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
One of the best Afrikaans films ever. I believe that money spent on a ticket for this movie is money spent well. More of this please, in stead of the Schuster commercial rubbish that we are so accustomed to.
Chris du Toit 2013-02-25 12:16 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
What happened to the traitor Gert after the execution?
Martin Foster 2013-02-25 01:42 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
It's very thought provoking and I felt Van Aswegens anguish in making his decision to protect his family.
Johan Baird 2013-02-28 08:52 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Gert got of scot free @Chris du Toit. And the worst part of it all, he actually wrote a letter to the British government claiming the 10 pounds because he felt he deserved it. Upsetting.
Frank Ollewagen 2013-03-07 02:43 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
This is the best Afrikaans movie I have ever seen.Congratulations.
Charles van Nuwenhuys 2013-03-10 06:06 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Absolute Brilliant Movie and one of the best ever. We left the cinema with emotion in our hearts.
Susan Lourens 2013-04-03 04:20 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Waar word Verraaiers tans vertoon? Ons bly in die Kalahari...en wil graag die rolprent gaan kyk. Dus moet ons lank voor die tyd reël. Asseblief, laat weet my. Baie dankie.
Marsja Hall-Green 2013-04-17 04:52 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
We felt privileged to see this outstanding movie in Plett. We took my 89-year old, English-speaking aunt who was as deeply moved as we were. Brilliant and dramatic filmmaking that deserves a much wider international audience.Elke Suid-Afrikaner behoort hierdie film te sien.
Marthinus van Loggerenberg 2013-05-14 12:40 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Only saw the film last night - I was extremely impressed - what a sensitive, compelling view on true events in our history. Excellent acting. Strong story line.
Pieter Aldred 2014-11-14 10:44 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Die verhaal is gebasseer op ware verhaal en koerant uitreksel kan op die net "22 Apr 1901 - Wolmerarastad tragedy. Men shot..." Daarvolgens het die 2 Skotte vir my Oupagrooitjie in n winkel in Klerksdorp gewerk. Bly sy naam was nie Gert nie!
Your Name
Comment
Please enter the following text
Captcha
Your rating
for this movie
Rate Me...  
 
 

Recent Reviews

The silliness finally comes to an end in the Night at the Museum franchise, thankfully saying goodbye to the animated museum exhibits. Read More »
Add your review

Mr Turner

2014-12-12 12:43

Although beautifully shot and a superb performance from Timothy Spall, it’s not the most exciting two-and-a-half hours of your life. Read More »
Add your review

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.