Meet Iain Thomas, the 36-year-old South African poet who is famous all over the world except in SA

Trevor Noah has pulled out at the last minute from hosting the MAMAs 2016, due to 'a severe upper respiratory infection'


2008-11-04 10:13
What it's about:

Wes (James McAvoy) is a puny, nervous wreck who mundanely goes through the motions of life when suddenly über sexy assassin Fox (Angelina Jolie) turns up to rock his crusty world. He soon discovers that the father he never knew was the #1 in a fraternity of assassins but was recently killed. Now it's up to him to avenge his father's death with the help of some brutal training by the fraternity. But that's not where the story ends.

What we thought of it:

If you're expecting a one of a kind, trendsetting, knock ya socks off flick, it's not going to happen with Wanted. That's not to say it's no good, it's just Hollygood.

Think Matrix (1999, 2003, 2003) à la Kung Fu Panda (2008). A loser becomes the chosen one and discovers his destiny in a world he thought only existed in his dreams. And everything that happens after this turning point only ever happens in movies.

So why should you watch it? Because its predictability is just enough to comfort you through the overload of fake blood and special effects; because it's simultaneously the worst film you'll ever see and the most fun you'll have in a cinema. But primarily this film should be watched for the momentary return of the bad-to-the-bone Angelina Jolie we knew and loved before that soft, blonde Brad domesticated her.

Based on the comic book miniseries by the same name, the film has a dark, satirical tone which will have you laughing in places you wouldn't expect to. Visually, there's never a dull moment – eye candy and special effects galore. Adrenalin-pumping, eye popping, skin crawling viewing - it's a well rounded story and a brilliant English-language debut for Russian-born director Timur Bekmambetov (Night Watch [2005] and Day Watch [2007]). Top notch cast aside, it's probably Bekmambetov's storytelling that makes this film worth watching.

- Natalie Sineke

Get published on Channel24! Send us your movie, music and live gig reviews and columns and get published on Channel24. Send your articles to
A dead-beat gets the shakeup of his life when destiny calls him to follow in the footsteps of his estranged father and join a fraternity of assassins.

Jack Reacher: Never Go Back

2016-10-14 07:38

Francois Kruger 2008-07-10 06:36 PM
Wanted Love the trailer, will absolutely go see it!
Mark 2008-07-11 11:57 AM
Wanted Whent and saw it this morning.Really enjoyed it,quite violant but great action.Special effects are exellant!
nina 2008-07-11 02:29 PM
love is ageless love is ageless 'yes i believe that since i get help from It is a gating site . Agegap is nothing !!!
nina 2008-07-11 02:33 PM
wanted if love is really ageless? i want to know more sites that there the people can tell me that right answer! and i just know the site is the one .
nina 2008-07-11 02:41 PM
how cool how cool the woman is !! If you want to dating with a lady just like her in Oh yeal
Charlie B 2008-07-16 09:33 AM
Long time wanted What a great movie, packed with action, if i could would definately go see it again. Definately worth something since the days of Matrix.
Lukhanye Somtunzi 2008-07-17 07:56 AM
exagarated but Awsome I must say that i love the special effetcs in movies, its what gives a movie the juice but as much as WANTED was exagarated in what is impossible stunts and special effects, it was awsome, I enjoyed it to the end.Angelina's moves complimented her being sexy and I just wondered how excellent she would be in real life if she was what she was in that movie.I give the movie, 4 out of 5
Bjorn 2008-07-31 11:17 AM
Wanted Sucks How can u dare give this movie 3 stars, The script for this movie sucks, action was off da hook but there was no real storyline. Morgan,Common and Angelina were used to promote this movie.........but it failed hopelessly. Im dissappionted, even the end punchline made me more upset where he looks at the Camera and says, "Now what you going to do with your life"....END of movie
Guy Tomlinson 2008-07-31 09:40 PM
Wanted Wanted is one of the best movies I have seen this year. Realy good.... Go see for yourself
Angelique 2008-08-06 09:56 AM
Way too exaggerated The ONLY good thing about this movie was Angeline Jolie, but still I can not believe she agreed to act in this dumb movie. You just can not compare this movie to the Matrix. The fact that people were actually "in" a "Matrix" was what made the Matrix good. Wanted on the other hand ... there is no "other world" that can justify their ridiculous over-the-top exaggerated special effects. I think the movie would've been ten times better if it weren't so exaggerated. I mean.. bending bullets? Lol, what crock.
Charm 2008-11-28 11:44 AM
Awesome! The best movie I have seen this year! I found the story line very interesting, as it kept me guessing. The special effects were out of this world. It made the unreality of it appear more than just feasible and probable. The acting were some of the best, complementing the story line 100%. The eye candy provided by Angelina Jolie made it worth seeing, even if you hate and cannot tolerate these type of action movies.

Recent Reviews

Jack Reacher: Never Go Back

2016-10-14 07:38

Just another typical Tom Cruise action film, with nothing to get too excited about. The film is loaded with action-film stereotypes and cheesy one-liners. Read More »
Add your review

Hands of Stone

2016-10-14 07:38

Hands of Stone is a bland, unlikable portrayal of a real-life boxer that struggles to hit the highs of Rocky IV let alone Raging Bull or the original Rocky. Mark this one down as “for boxing fanatics only”. Read More »
Add your review

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.