What's Your Number?

2011-10-10 14:33
 
What it's about:

Ally Darling (Anna Faris) reads a magazine article which claims that women who have slept with more than 10.5 men will never find true love. Alarmed to find that her own "number" is well above this, Ally vows to not have sex again until she has tracked down her 19 previous lovers, in the hopes that one of them will turn out to be The One. Helping Ally on her quest is her hot neighbour Colin (Chris Evans), a musician who has had more than his share of partners.

What we thought:

Somewhere out there is the perfect movie role for the unique and charming talents of Anna Faris, but What's Your Number very definitely is not it.

Stuck with the frankly offensive premise that women who have slept with more men than the American average (10.5) will never find a husband, Anna's Ally spends the movie hell-bent on keeping her number constant while tracking down her 19 previous partners in the hopes that he will see what he's missing and make an honest woman out of her.

Lucky for Ally her new neighbour Colin is a hunky layabout musician, who somehow escapes the "whore" judgements that haunt Ally, even though he beds a new woman practically every night of the week. He is also a crack investigator and offers to help her find these elusive exes if she lets him use her apartment to hide from his conquests the morning after.

At the same time, Ally's younger sister Daisy is planning her wedding and the event causes old tensions between their divorced parents to flare up. But foremost in Ally's mind is finding Jake Adams, the one who got away and the answer to her "number" dilemma.

With so much on its plate, What's Your Number opts for the path of least resistance and plays out as a very generic romantic-slapstick comedy, with Faris' increasingly waxy appearance working itself into a froth to make the half-hearted humour work. She's always been a delightfully quirky comedic actress, making silly films like House Bunny and the Scary Movies spark more than they probably deserved to on paper, but she deserves better than what this movie, which she also executive produced, can offer.

There's some fun bits as Ally contrives to meet up with her exes, showcasing great cameo appearances from The Hobbit's Martin Freeman, The Hurt Locker star Anthony Mackie, Saturday Night Live's Andy Samberg and Faris' real-life husband Chris Pratt who plays Disgusting Donald - her once-obese ex who's not so disgusting anymore and is about to marry a hot rocket scientist.

Other supporting roles are wasted, particularly Blythe Danner, who plays Ally and Daisy's high maintenance society mother. She's both harmless and a vapid mother-from-hell and Danner finds herself stuck between a rock and a hard place, looking frazzled throughout.

Of course there is little doubt where this movie is headed and it takes longer than it ought to for Ally to figure it all out - never a good thing when your audience is miles ahead of you and getting bored. To keep attention levels going, director Mark Mylod makes sure his cast show lots of skin and we're treated to titillating scenes of strip basketball and skinny dipping when what this movie really needed was a script with some bite.

What's Your Number doesn't offer any real commentary on its prejudicial premise. Ally even calls herself a whore and just goes along with it, cowering under the weight of this cursed word's implications. That's no way to treat a lady - not even in a bit of throwaway entertainment like this.


Ever wondered if you're a slut? Here's a movie that takes bone-headed pseudo-science and makes a mockery of women - and Anna Faris' comedic talents - to help you figure that out.
Read more on:    chris evans  |  anna faris  |  review  |  movies

GN_26 2011/10/07 3:11 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
It was funny, slightly raunchy and, if you're not too worried about killing off a few brain cells, it's actually pretty entertaining. And by the way, to the person who reviewed the movie for Channel24: the American average is 10.5, not 19.5, otherwise she wouldn't have had to go through the whole business of tracking down the exes.
Shaheema 2011/10/07 3:59 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Doh! Thanks for the heads-up GN_26. I knew there was something fishy with my numbers. This is what happens when you watch movies weeks ahead of release. And are generally bad with numbers.
oraejesi Godday 2011/10/10 9:58 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Acton is best which procures? The greatest happiness for the greatest number
oraejesi Godday 2011/10/10 10:06 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
A vision without action is called a day dreams
Sunshine 2011/10/10 12:29 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Actually enjoyed it, not the type of movie I will buy for my collection but it was a “no brain power required” type of movie where you could just sit and watch…
Trish 2011/10/10 12:39 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
OMG! What was wrong with Anna Farris face?! She used to be so cute. Didn't find the film to be as funny as it seemed in the trailer. Was kinda silly,
Xander Alexander 2011/10/11 10:12 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I loved the movie, watched it with my 13 yr old sister. It ddnt need any brains I agree that is why its 13LS
lala 2011/10/11 3:03 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
a whore?
Gail 2011/10/12 9:44 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I didn't like this movie that much.The storyline is kind of boring and very predictable. Anna Faris is my least favourite actress. To me she will always be the silly girl she played in Scary Movie. I like Chris Evans and he's probably the only reason I watched it.
kaifas 2011/10/12 11:25 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
After i read the article i had to take a look and see just who wrote this article and i guessed it its a lady, lol. It's not for the collection but a worthwhile try.
Themba 2011/10/13 2:42 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
The thing about slapstick humour is that it is not logical and not something to be analysed for a master's thesis. It is harmless fun. The thing is that I now seek movies that receive bad reviews and will go out of my way to watch this one too.
Pienaar Kloppers 2011/10/16 1:04 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Well if you like every single Hollywood stereotype - Whats Your Number is for you. It starts of with the stereotype made famous by US Sitcoms like Friends where out of work people life in studio flats and can afford to live alone - unlike reality where you live in communions, do not own your own bed, let alone your own big screen. Then you look at these two little actors playing the leads - Anna Feris is more known for slap-stick comedic roles and now has to carry the movie as romantic lead. One or two falls, stupid acts and she was well on her way to just repeating every single role she has always played. She lacks that romantic comedy power that a Meg Ryan, Kate Hudson or Reese Whiterspoon could bring to the role. Chris Evens is pretty much who we would all imagine him being in real life - arrogant, flirty and never wearing clothes - they got that right! Then we deal with the obvious American national-past time (not baseball) PROMISCUITY! I do believe America's morals and beliefs has been molded from years and years of being told, shown and having it drilled in that sleeping around is "just how it is" and this movie personifies that truly. Well good for them! Coming into the movie I believed they had the story line with the makings of a great comedy. As I walked out of the movie I realized they missed the opportunity for a great few funny moments that never materialized. Admittedly there was one of two moments that would make you laugh but the screenplay could have driven the nail home - so sad. It lacked something as there was no "funny friend" or famous catch line and therefor as a comedy lacked that "staying power". As a story line it was pretty straight forward, same old thing - girl hates guy, girl likes guy, girl pushes him away, girl gets guy - classic Hollywood. I would have loved to have seen more of a plot twist or more substance to the characters. As for the gullible nature of the American psyche it does not say much that you would make life changing decisions based on a beauty mag. As a way to spend 90min - I could think of worst things to do. Funny moment here or there, little skin for both sides to feat their eyes on and a happy ending to boot. My rating - Solid 2 stars --
andrew 2011/10/17 12:48 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
it is not bad can be better is by 2.
NEXT ON CHANNELX
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.