White Wedding

2009-05-01 11:41
 
White Wedding

What it’s about:


The loyal, committed and very decent Elvis (Kenneth Nkosi) leaves Johannesburg en route to pick up his best friend and best man Tumi (Rapulana Seiphemo) in Durban. The two will then journey on to Cape Town to begin rehearsals for Elvis’s wedding to the beautiful Ayanda (Zandile Msutwana). But things don’t go according to plan when they get lost. As Tumi and Elvis struggle to find their way through the Eastern Cape they are picked up by Rose (Jodie Whittaker), a young English doctor on the run from her own wedding.


What we thought of it: 

This movie sits nicely between two extremes we have in South African cinema. It's humorous, but not laden with toilet jokes and offensive rhetoric that gets people's backs up. Nor is it a deep and serious exploration our apartheid past with heavy agenda as we've seen in movies like Forgiveness. These kinds of movies certainly have their place in our cinematic landscape, but it's refreshing to find a production which does not ascribe to either.

This comedy of errors is cleverly played, although the jokes tend to rely heavily on stereotyping, which becomes dull and stale after a while. There's a depth to the three main characters: Elvis, Tumi and Rose, at the expense of the rest of the cast who come across as one dimensional placeholders, even though, on paper, the gay wedding planner, the suave ex-boyfriend, the traditional mother figure and racist Afrikaners sound like ripe territory for exploration.   

Veteran actors Nkosi and Seiphemo (who were also co-stars on SA classics Tsotsi and Jerusalema) are strong in the leads. There is an effortless dynamic between the two that is effective during the more intimate, calm moments of the movie as well as in their scenes as extrovert masters of disaster. Not only is their acting top notch, but with writing and producing credits, their multi-skilled work on White Wedding is pretty impressive.

The cinematography is wonderful, and as a road trip movie, it also works well as moving picture postcard of the gorgeous South African landscape, taking in the sights of rural Eastern Cape, bustling Joburg, tropical Durban and colourful Cape Town. The proudly South African feeling runs rife throughout.

White Wedding also carries a positive message about the importance of sticking to goals, no matter the challenges you have to go through to achieve them. It celebrates the beauty of our country both in its landscape and people. It may not be Oscar-winning stuff, but it’s worth viewing. South African comedy is going places.


Everyone's invited to the wedding of the year!

Rob 2009/05/04 7:56 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
A white chick hiking through the Eastern Cape on her own? I dont think so.Very enjoyable afternoon at the movies nonetheless.The acting was a good advertisment for the quality that we all know exists in SA.If it only cost R6 million to make this movie as I read in the weekend papers then why are we not making more of them ?
Nolitha Kutsu 2009/05/04 11:23 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
The movie seem to be very interesting, no ways I can't watch it. Big ups to Rapulana & Kenneth
Deeloshnee 2009/05/04 12:16 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I thoroughly enjoyed watching this movie. it'a a must-see for all south africans. Truely a proudly south african product! :)
Billy Idol 2009/05/04 12:44 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Another reason to be proud of SA comedy movies only a month after Finding Lenny was released! Haven't seen it yet but it looks like the better of the two... Great stuff!
Cilla 2009/05/04 2:54 PM
i cant wait, watching it tonight at eastgate
Mario Bongani 2009/05/04 5:00 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Keep it up good family comedy make more them
Yaya 2009/05/06 4:25 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Wow – what a brilliant movie. I wouldn’t mind watching again. Big ups to Rapulana and Kenneth. A must see
litha salimani 2009/05/14 12:24 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
wow what a great great movie i wouldnit mind watching it again well done to you
vuyo mlaza 2009/05/14 12:37 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Wow!! great movie, I watch it twice already, my girl and I, we crazy about Nkosi and Seiphemo.
Sobhuza Tshobeni 2009/05/18 11:19 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
It is an excellent clean movie that I've watched in a long time. At least there were no drugs and things. It captures the essence of what South African society is about; vision, obstacles, victory and celebration. Keep more of these coming, this country needs them. I really liked Stephanus van Zyl on the set.
thandeka 2009/05/18 4:02 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Ay inswempu lempahla!!!!. cela isamo
Boledi 2009/05/20 8:06 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Nice one,I appreciate your talents guys keep up the good work. South Africa is proud of you.Youre the stars of this country.White Wedding is rocking as usual!
Nelson 2009/05/25 1:19 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I found the movie to be very funny. The two leading men make a superb team. I was laughing through-out the entire movie. I'd definitely recommend it to anyone to go and watch it!!!
Sisanda 2009/05/29 9:58 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Il b watching the movie 2mrw in dbn musgrave and damn i cant wait!!
mojalefa 2009/05/29 1:50 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
the movie is enjoyable
blacktouch 2009/06/01 12:22 PM
wow i wil go and watch de movie 2morrow.coz it sound intresting and these 2 guys are my favourate actor and i want to c dat white whomen who is hiking.
Shirley Mashishi 2009/06/02 2:49 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
well done
kamogelo phahlane 2009/06/05 10:19 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
the movie is brilliant, well done!we are expecting more proudly south african movies from you guys. you really are good!!!
Paul Mothotse 2009/06/09 10:54 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
The movie is down to earth and nicely planned. its about forgiveness and being committed to one true LOVE
Sexyness 2009/08/11 9:02 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
It was an awesome movie!!!!Keep up the good work SA!!!!!
NEXT ON CHANNELX
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.