X-Men Origins: Wolverine

2009-05-01 11:41
 

What it's about:

Hugh Jackman reprises the role that made him a superstar – as the fierce fighting machine who possesses amazing healing powers, retractable claws and a primal fury. Leading up to the events of X-Men and elaborating on the events of X2, X-Men Origins: Wolverine tells the story of Wolverine's epically violent and romantic past, his complex relationship with his brother Victor Creed (Liev Schreiber), and the ominous Weapon X programme. Along the way, Wolverine encounters many mutants, both familiar and new, including surprise appearances by several legends of the X-Men universe whose appearances in the film series have long been anticipated.


What we thought of it:

We should be very grateful when comic book movies get their basics right. These can be summarised as:

* Don’t ruin the source material
* Give us lots of fights, and
* Uhm, how about some sexy bits?

And yet every second jelly-head in Hollywood thinks it's their divine right to turn the world’s most beloved franchises on their heads to make a quick buck.

This hasn’t happened with Gavin Hood’s X-Men Origins: Wolverine. The fanboys out there will be breathing a collective sigh of relief. Instead, the genesis of Logan, or the clawed mutant we know as Wolverine, is told so methodically it’s almost… boring.

Not for a lack of action, mind. True to his "stab first, think later" approach, Wolverine (Hugh Jackman) battles almost every imaginable opponent in Origins, including cult Marvel figures like Gambit (Taylor Kitsch) and Deadpool (Ryan Reynolds). That’s a lot of ass to kick.

For the millions of Hugh Jackman fans aching to see him get his kit off, there’s more than enough to go around: Wolverine spends almost half the movie shirtless, and a good few minutes outside of his gnarly-smelling jeans. Expect whistling in the audience, and more Johnson’s Baby Oil than you care to see on screen.

The irking thing about Origins is that it doesn’t take any risks. Nothing is as bold, or visceral or memorable as fans of the excellent trilogy may be used to. Something extra, something dangerous and unexpected would have been welcome. In that sense, perhaps Hood should have taken some liberties with the Marvel canon. As a South African in Hollywood, he has all the goodwill in the world from us in Mzansi, but, to be honest, his superhero debut doesn’t make us nearly as proud as Tsotsi.



Director Gavin Hood clearly loves clawed crusader Wolverine as much as we do, but Origins fails to live up to the excellent X-Men trilogy.

Craig 2009/04/30 7:36 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I loved it! Sit back, relax and enjoy...Well done Gavin!
Linda 2009/04/30 8:18 AM
I haven't seen it yet, but I can't wait! I'm afraid Niel that you migh be in for a big surprise, this film is going to be HUGE at the box office, Wolverine is one of the biggest super heroes ever created and although I don't think it is going to be as big what Dark Knight was, I still think it is going to be huge. Proudly South African!
Rene 2009/04/30 9:08 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Totally agree with the review. People will no doubt be impressed by the CGI and fight scenes, but this movie is an empty shell where a legend used to be. There’s no dynamic between the characters, no gravitas, no sense that any of this is significant or worthwhile. None of the support characters are given enough time to make an impression. Gavin Hood is, of course, a talented director – but he should steer clear of big budget action spectacles.
Dave Lüng 2009/04/30 10:16 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I just saw this movie, and, as a comic book illustrator, inker and diehard fan, all I can say is that something went terribly wrong with this movie. It was like the Producers and Director (Gavin Hood) set out to make a movie which basically, will ostracize the comic book fans and indulged the whims of Hugh Jackman. And it was overindulgent! The big issue is that they screwed up years and years of storyline in one foul swoop! They totally screwed up the Weapon X saga, and not to mention poor Wade “Deadpool” Wilson! What a hack job where Deadpool’s concerned. He is the “Merc With The Mouth”! A smart-aleck nutcase! Deadpool is a high-tech mercenary known for his wisecracks, black comedy, and satirical pop-culture references (which we only get a very slight taste of in the movie). Like the X-Men's Wolverine, Deadpool is the product of the Canadian (NOT AMERICAN) government's paramilitary Weapon X program, although his place of birth is unknown. After Weapon X cured his terminal cancer by implementing a regenerative "healing factor" extracted from Wolverine, Deadpool is left disfigured and mentally unstable. (We wouldn’t know, his mouth is stitched shut!!!!!!!) His abilities are Regenerative healing factor, Superhuman strength, stamina, agility, and reflexes, expert marksman, swordsman, and martial artist, teleportation, "Comic Awareness" or the “Fourth Wall”, Telepathic immunity, "Cursed With Life" (inability to die) by Thanos. Keep this in mind when you watch the movie, and then you’ll understand why comic book fans will be so damn irate with Gavin Hood’s interpretation of one of Marvels Jem’s! Overall, the “Origin” of the Title Character, is completely WRONG! So yeah, my opinion, they really screwed it up… Oh, and the CG of the Claws was really, REALLY BAD!!!
Mario 2009/04/30 12:03 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
What a good movie I'm mad to watch it coz is absolutely something to be watch,those who hate go and kill yourself coz u know nothing about entertainment
David 2009/04/30 1:43 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
What rubbish - the reviewer must have been watching another movie. I thought it was great, perhaps even better than the trilogy!
Ghetto X-Men disciple 2009/04/30 2:10 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
The reviewer is sounds like Mugabe when he says there is no cholera crisis in Zim... I love the movie, hell i watched it yesterday at 9:15 am The Glen, and iam going to watch it again tomorrow same times!!! Gavin Hood out did himself....sheesh..some people with a boring eye for movies can spoil it..like the reviewer here..maybe he watched X-men bought from a pirated version at Fordsburg!
Lance 2009/04/30 3:16 PM
Well, to those who aren't comic book buffs, was the movie any good? To those who are, what did you think about the original XMen trilogy? You talk of how the characters in Origins are as per the comic books, but what about Rogue, Cyclops and ArchAngel in the trilogy...totally way off the comics.
stash 2009/04/30 10:26 PM
For the most part this movie was entertaining even taking into consideration the flaws in the plot with regards to the comic book plot. Which in many cases deviated quite substantially from the origin comics. However The one major flaw I personally can't let slip has to do with Gambit. On first introduction to Gambit (Taylor Kitsch) I was initially impressed, but then he started to speak. How could the directors and producers allow a character, whose distinctive Cajun accent is essential to his charm, botch it so by giving him a terrible Texan accent with a few southern sounding words thrown in. That is a terrible oversight and proves how little attention is paid to retaining the original concept character profile and plot of the comics.
11red 2009/05/01 7:27 PM
Saw this last night and enjoyed it. Thought Hugh Jackman was outshone by Liev Shreiber though.
Penny 2009/05/01 11:54 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Sorry to disagree with you but I just saw this movie and thought that it was awesome. Truly enjoyed it!
Eugene van Tonder 2009/05/02 9:32 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Came to the conclusion all this negative reviews from the critics are shameful and incorrect. What a show Gavin Hood well done, to all critics get fired get a life, thats what i call entertainment even my wife who is not a comic book fan enjoyed the movie it was awsome. Even though Hugh Jackman was sometimes outshined by Lieb Schreiber so what!, it brought about in the beginning he was not as strong as in the X men movies. I will surely like to see the sequel. Fire all critics not one negative review from their lips has been correct maybe they should watch art movies to find fault their too! Ashamed that SA critics respond to a local SA director in that way especially that pirate copies have surfaced on the web. Get the story go and watch Wolverine and support Gavin Hood from South Africa.
Rurapente 2009/05/02 9:26 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
If I want a deep story based on reality,I'll read the newspaper. if I want the comic book - ill read the comic book. What this movie is, is a collection of action scenes, eye-candy and a story, rolled into a well-produced movie that holds you from start to finish. Well done Gavin for giving us entertainment.
Rurapente 2009/05/02 9:26 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
If I want a deep story based on reality,I'll read the newspaper. if I want the comic book - ill read the comic book. What this movie is, is a collection of action scenes, eye-candy and a story, rolled into a well-produced movie that holds you from start to finish. Well done Gavin for giving us entertainment.
Mark 2009/05/03 12:37 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
The biggest load of shite ever!!!Well said Rene!
M 2009/05/03 4:28 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Dave Lüng, Rene: It is IMPOSSIBLE to capture every aspect of a comic strip or book in a movie. Not one single movie based on comics or books lived up to its original written form. So chill out. Rene: "None of the support characters are given enough time to make an impression" The movie's name is Wolverine, not X-men 4!
Theben 2009/05/03 5:04 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
While entertaining, this falls way behind recent movies like Iron Man and Incredible Hulk. A bit disapointing considering Gavin's work on Rendition and Tsotsi. Maybe too much interference from Execs on these big budget movies? Hope Gavin gets another change at Wolverine.
david 2009/05/03 6:55 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
mega crap
SuperZee 2009/05/03 7:49 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Gavin Hood did a great job, movie was great. Not about Deadpool or Gambit or Cyclops, but it was about Wolverine. This is way better than the previous X-men movies. The action, the fights,the speed, the humour. Not as good as Incredible Hulk yes, but way better than Iron man.
Robert 2009/05/04 7:59 AM
I really enjoyed the first X-men movie... it was sadly very quickly downhill from there. I hope that this sticks a little closer to the true story lines.
NEXT ON CHANNELX
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.