Zack and Miri Make a Porno

2009-05-08 12:52
 
Zack and Miri Make a Porno

What it's about:

With mountains of overdue bills piling up, Zack (Seth Rogen) and his roommate/childhood friend Miri (Elizabeth Banks) aren't sure how they're going to stay in their Pittsburgh apartment. But a chance encounter at their 10-year reunion gives them the idea to make money producing a porn movie. When it comes time for the friends to do the deed, they begin to realise that perhaps they're more than just friends.


What we thought of it:

Zack and Miri Make a Porno is an unpretentious f-bomb of a movie. Don't over-think this one - the title is bang on, and that's probably all anyone needs to pique their interest in the movie.  

Seth Rogen is that guy every girl has a crush on, but would never admit to it. He's not particularly dashing or handsome in the traditional Hollywood sense, but has still managed to become one of the hottest comedy properties around. Zack is a typical Rogen character – a surprisingly articulate and gentle slacker who gets the girl. As with Knocked Up and Pineapple Express, Rogen is paired with a blonde bombshell who's way out of his league. In this case, said bombshell is downgraded to a granny-panty-wearing broke loser in the form of Elizabeth Banks' Miri.

In true Kevin Smith style, the dialogue is a colourful tapestry of f-bombs, c-bombs, p-bombs – practically making use of the full range of alphabetical vulgarities known to man. Zack and Miri enlist the help of six other downtrodden has-beens, including Craig Robinson (The Office) as Delaney, Jeff Anderson (Clerks) as Deacon and real-life porn star Katie Morgan, star of such gems as Desperate Housewhores: Butt Hole in One. Also making an appearance is 1984 Playhouse Playmate and old-school pornster Traci Lords.

Banks and Rogen outperform the script and save it from being just another frat boy T&A (tits and ass) flick. The humour is crude as expected, but even crude should have standards, and at some points, Zack and Miri loses the plot.

There is a moment between the climax and the movie's final throes that makes you long for the end credits already. And then Smith ends it just as you'd expect, betraying the build-up he'd been working towards. And just like any porno, Zack and Miri's best bits, er, come in the middle, because that's where all 'action' happens - the beginning and end are mere formalities.



That title says pretty much all you need to know about this hilariously unpretentious f-bomb of a comedy. Not one to see with your mom.

Ganguly 2009/05/08 11:16 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Saw, the pirated version at fordsburg...zack is gay in that movie!!!
Amanda 2009/05/08 3:40 PM
It's so nice to see that children are also involved. How?? The little guy walks into the room while mommy and daddy are busy with his camera in his hand. They should hang the bastard that made this movie and it should be banned in South Africa. If Americans find it funny to involve children while the parents are busy with each other then let is be. Voertsek!!!!Jy is niks meer niks minder as siek. Laat lees jou kop asseblief. DID I see the movie and will I ever pay to do so??/ Nope. I'll rather spend the money on RATTEX and send it off to the sick brain behind the movie. Rate this movie gosh don't vote burn the flippen rubbish!!!
Uncle 2009/05/08 4:09 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Dearest Amanda - It's a movie. More specifically, it's a movie not made for the holier than thou likes of you. For somebody like you, I'd recommend the rather excellent and heart wrenching tale of root vegetables reaching their spiritual pinnacle in "Faith Like Potatoes" Or perhaps the utterly sumptuous and socially conscious revelation, "Poena is Koning" - Go ahead, knock yourself out.
Carla 2009/05/08 7:40 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Load of Crap !
Amanda 2009/05/08 8:45 PM
Oom het oom 'n treinspoor naby die huis?? Gaan speel op die treinspoor asseblief. Jou kommentaar is ongevraad en jy moet 'n brain so groot soos'n peanut hê. Are you one of the "open" mindend oupas who's grandchildren from the age of five are allowed to sit and watch the movie with oupa??? Your snotty remarks reminds me of the kleinmannetjiesindroom oom Did I ask for you opinion oom?? Gaan weg jy is seniel en baie siek oom. Ek wonder of die tannie weet oom kyk die tipe van goedkoop walglike gemors. My tyd is kosbaar ek hou my nie op met die gemors wat opgedis word vir die breinlose tipe soos jy!!! Gaan slaap jy is oor jou bed tyd.Nag oom u is een van daai ooms wat ek baie bang voor is!!!
Nick 2009/05/08 10:28 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Amanda... may i ask you a question? are you sure you are commenting on the right movie? I've seen this film, and its actually quite funny, and whilst yes its about Porn, and has it "porno" moments, its actually not half bad. i'm really really not understanding your comment regarding children at all. This film, if anything, makes a point that porn is, alas, a part of our everyday culture despite what some people may like. it uses this medium to convey a much deeper message about finding love, despite the trivialization of sex that pervades our society. So next time you wish to criticize a movie suggest you do it with something more than an opinion based solely on its title.
Nogge Oom 2009/05/09 7:45 AM
@Amanda: Let me guess - your kids are allowed to watch violent movies and openly use the word murder or rape in conversation but as soon as there's some loving human interaction, you probably yell for them to close their eyes or go to their rooms... Speak about "kleinmannetjiesindroom"... sounds like you suffer from "Voortrekker-Soustannie-Sindroom". Now because of your bad attitude and my spiteful nature, I have to go find the movie and actually watch it.
Amanda 2009/05/09 12:08 PM
Nee oom ek weeg 47kg en is nog baie jonk net 26 jaar oud, en het nie kinders ek swot nog.Thanks Nic I will make sure, saw a trailor where a plus minus seven year old has a camera in hand while dad and mom are busy. I will make sure and if I am aloud to voice my opinion it sounds like you're the only one that's not a oom.Many things in life I do not understand. One individual says something minding her/his own business giving an opinion.No names are mentioned and all the ooms go ballistic getting their brains in a knot, goodness.So to all the ooms, Nick is the only one that speak sense. Baai oom's I am leaving for Amsterdam to do a project.Hou asseblief julle speelgoed in die kot tot ek terug is in twee maande!!Maar moenie vergeet van die treinspoor asseblief.
Mark 2009/05/10 11:43 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I've watched this movie several times.. there's no kid in the movie, and it's a hilarious comedy, if you're looking for some deeper meaning (not in that sense), then you're looking in the wrong place.. If every movie was serious and carried an intense moral meaning then we'd live in a very boring world where not much is worth a laugh. If that's the life you wanna lead, go live in with the Taliban in Swat valley. Long live Zack and Miri!
Long John 2009/05/10 12:48 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Hey Amanda, Bokkie kom oor dan maak ons ons eie porno, wat se jy. 26 and 47 kg, klink reg vir die pot!!!Na dit gaan jy nie meer n granny pantie soustannie wees nie, maar n g-string bombshell. Stuur jou mommer. O ja, weet jy wat gebeur alles in Amsterdam, as die movie jou upset, gaan jy vrek neerslat in Amsterdam, glo my. ZACK AND MIRI RULES!!!! PS.trailor is verkeerd gespel, swot nog so bietjie of los dit en laat ons 2 ons porno maak.
Grant Aubin 2009/05/11 9:34 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
What a sweet, delightful, gentle movie. It's probably not aimed at prurient viewers, but I don't see how any normal person could be offended by such a warm hearted comic love story. It's often hilarious and will leave you feeling all warm and fuzzy at the end. The anal sex joke is a bit tasteless (and the poor actor who had to be drenched in chocolate: at least I hope it was chocolate; was very brave), but gosh did I laugh. Kevin Smith is back on form. UIt's his best movie since "Clerks". I would like to ask the poster calling herself Amanda if she's actually seen the film. Or is she just a troll. PS. The 18 age restriction is a bit harsh, it should have been a 16 LS at max.
Anonymous 2009/05/11 9:26 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
nah best movie since Dogma (beacause Dogma was his best movie since Clerks)
K1d 2009/05/27 11:39 AM
this movie - nah ? certain PorN definitely has a place, but I'm still glad I never married the gal who got group shagged & covered in jizz > for fun. I'm also glad I'm not a donkey-man who can only get my rocks off pumping some mis-educated woman up the butt. One tends to hold off from people like that & regard them as hmmm. nah...
NEXT ON CHANNELX
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.