Andriette – Dink Aan My

2009-11-09 09:30
 
Dink Aan My
 
The title track is a sweet, romantic ditty singing about 'wit perde' and 'berge'; essentially a great sokkie treffer, as are "Wens Jy Was Nou Hier" and "Rock My Weer". Andriette has fun with her songs, and I think she finds a great deal of freedom in making an album like this.

Elsewhere, "Saam Met Jou" drops the ball with bad synth motifs and not enough range to show off Andriette's best talents. It sounds more like a kiddies' TV show sing-a-long than a pop song.

On one of the first studio shows of 2007's Idols, Andriette sang Eva Cassidy's "Songbird". It was such a mature, evocative choice that cemented her as my favourite in the competition. She revisits the song on this album with even more understanding and control, delivering it beautifully. It also proves that even though she's Afrikaans, she's not limited by an accent.

Furthermore, Andriette bravely channels Ma Brr on "African Medley" with "Vuli Ndlela", wrapping her tongue around the lyrics with a little trepidation, but her effort has to be commended. Her tone more than makes up for a missed click here and there. She's also pretty good at mimicking; her interpretations of Mango Groove's Claire Johnston in "Special Star" and "Dance Sum More" are spot on.

Besides all this, the cover is worth a good ogle too. Andriette is looking gorgeous and happy. No more chubby arms, Chris McEvoy!


The former Idols contestant is miles away from that embarrassing moment when a young tartlet stole her shine. On her second album, she's indulging in mostly decadent Afrikaans pop that highlights her incredible voice. I'm a little scared to say her range could match Mariah Carey's, but she'll tackle any note and her velvety tone seems to carry it through.

What to read next: Kalahari
Read more on:    sony

Sean 2009/11/06 8:58 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
"The former Idols contestant is miles away from that embarrassing moment when a young tartlet stole her shine" - this was how many years ago? Isn't it time you get over yourself already?
Anna de Beer 2009/11/06 9:08 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Andriette is a super star and was the true winner of idols. I have both her albums and her album Dink Aan My is an absolute stunner looking forward to many more.
Frances 2009/11/06 1:11 PM
Andriette is the only South African Idols contestant so far that truly has the voice to compete internationally. I also was a big fan of hers in the competition and hope she can sing the right songs to make it really big eventually. Unfortunately I haven't heard this album.
Chellie 2009/11/06 3:04 PM
My God, Chris you wrote something nice - no wonder we are in for a huge storm in Cape Town - thanks dude, I wanted to go and watch my son play cricket tomorrow!!!
sandman 2009/11/06 3:39 PM
How dare you call Josie a young tartlet? She was the best idols singer ever... the only one who could do a flawless Whitney Houston number.
Jan 2009/11/09 8:16 AM
Andriette jy is pragtig, hou aan wat jy doen, dis die regte ding, baie dankie.
Liza 2009/11/09 8:40 AM
Andriette is absolutely fabulous. Her albums are great and her performance at Skouspel proves that she is here to stay. This young girl has talent, she's classy and humble and looks great.
Liza 2009/11/09 8:40 AM
Andriette is absolutely fabulous. Her albums are great and her performance at Skouspel proves that she is here to stay. This young girl has talent, she's classy and humble and looks great.
camy 2009/11/09 9:17 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I agree with Sean. Sam dont u have anything nice to say shut the F#$$# up. Jody rocks period. Andriette is good but she only appeals to certain audiences. Errr maybe u r jealous cos Jody is prettier than u...hahahaha
Gen 2009/11/09 9:51 AM
"No more chubby arms"? Nice comment jerk!
James 2009/11/09 2:11 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Sorry Jody fans, but Andriette is a much better singer/vocalist than Jody. And to top it all, she is doing better with her Afrikaans CD's than Jody is doing with her English CD's. And yes Andriette, you are looking gorgeous!
Nolene 2009/11/19 10:03 AM
Andriette het my siening oor Afrikaanse musiek verander. Diamant was die eerste Afrikaanse CD wat ek nog ooit gekoop het en toe ek hoor dat Dink aan My uit is, het ek dit sommer dadelik bestel. Jy rock, girl!
Claudine 2009/12/21 11:22 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Ek het jou by Ilalla Palms gesien saam met Gerhard Steyn en HELL GIRL jy kook!!! jy sing regtig awsome!!!!
NEXT ON CHANNELX
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.