It's been four weeks since hackers calling themselves Guardians of Peace began their cyberterrorism campaign

Brad Pitt was called to perform his civic duty but was then deemed too distracting to pull through!

Anke - Tribute to the Great Female Vocalists

2009-01-21 15:15
 
Anke
 

The record itself has the same feel: just out of pre-production, ready for the studio, ready for sanding around the edges but most definitely not ready for a post-Christmas, pre-reccesion Seffrican public in no mood for filler.

Backtracks! Tribute is chock-a-block with karaoke-grade backtracks, sweetened only barely by Anke’s reality-contest winning voice. She’s strong, she can hold her notes, but with such terrible production as a platform, the Diamond of Kimberley is left terribly exposed.

Ocassionally, the stars align and we are allowed a little fun. Allanah Myles’ “Black Velvet” is a winner. The melody is mostly cheese-free; Anke sings, rather than recites, and we get an idea of the qualities that pushed her to popularity in 2003’s Idols competition. But failed stabs at Tina Turner’s “The Best” and Madonna’s “Hung Up” make things all too clear: it’s been a rush job.

We like these characters, these brave people who struggle and succeed for their record deals in front of our very eyes. But music isn’t charity. Eventually we all see things from Simon Cowell’s perspective: this music is good enough, or it’s not.

Anke needs a do-over. If she gets one, a little extra graft could help her cause, but not nearly as much as a better title.


Who came up with the title, Tribute to the Great Female Vocalists? It is a working title, a stop-gap between something planned and something finished.

What to read next: Kalahari

Read more on:    music
NEXT ON CHANNEL24X

AC/DC - Rock or Bust

2014-12-02 15:01

Add Your Review

(Comments may be edited or deleted at the Channel24 editors’ discretion)
Martin 2009-01-21 08:28 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Partymaal is daar net een ding wat mens meer frustreer as MWEB...die stront wat hulle kwytraak.
Lily-Anne 2009-01-21 12:10 PM
Martin you're a gift from a God with a sense of humour. You're not ON MWEB. Clearly, you haven't noticed this though.
Martin 2009-01-21 01:03 PM
Hello koekie, as jy nie MWEB kan bekostig om daarop die stront te sien wat hulle kwytraak nie, vra daai "a God" vir 'n ander geskenk sodat jy dit kan sien. Sonie, kom maak 'n draai...
Jannas 2009-01-21 01:46 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Wie is Niel Bekker? Nog nooit van jou gehoor nie. Hou jy nie van Anke nie, of wou sy nie jou patetiese joernalistieke steweltjies lek nie en nou het jy 'n forum gekry waar jy wraak neem? Ag nee man - gaan praat elders nonsens.
Janine 2009-01-21 03:02 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I totally agree, i think this album is terrible. It is a waste of time for her and for her fans. She couldve done alot better, maybe something original for a change??
Shawn 2009-01-21 03:28 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I think the CD should be good because the unkown critic does not like it. Normally that makes for good listening. I think Anke looks good and she has a great voice. However I would love to see her do some more originals
Cedric 2009-01-21 03:35 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Time will tell. If her fans buy the CD and support her shows, then it was not a waste of time. Black velvet - please! This song is so tired. That the reviewer says he likes it a lot (note: two words) reveals more about him than anything else...
cindy 2009-01-21 03:54 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
@ Lily-Anne I'm on MWEB - I can see and read the the review perfectly. Clearly, you're not ON MWEB
Janette 2009-01-21 03:57 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Listen to the preview of the tracks. It's horrible and unpolished. Shame.
Paul 2009-01-21 04:09 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Before you sing other peoples songs (which anyone with a good voice can do), especially if your're selling it - you should first prove yourself as an artist. She may as well call this "Springbok vol 99"
Paul Again 2009-01-21 04:15 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Just listened to some more clips. This is a karaoke night recording isn't it? No actual band member in sight, just a synthesizer
Annie Rennie 2009-01-21 04:18 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Let's compare Anke's singing talent to yours and once you've proved that your better I'll buy your CD and put Anke's CD away. Quiet strange, all these negative comments, have you all been South Africa's Pop Idol as well, if so I missed the whole damn thing .
Janneman 2009-01-21 04:27 PM
People always use the "you can't even sing so you can't criticise them argument". that's stupid. if that was true then nobody should criticise the president. and we all love doing that.
Robert 2009-01-21 04:58 PM
Um... past it? I didn't this she ever was at it! :P
Rob 2009-01-21 04:59 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Well done Anke. Her voice suits the chosen tracks and I for one will defintely buy the CD. Whoever - says its lousy quite frankly does not know a quaver from a semiquaver.
Alex 2009-01-21 05:15 PM
It is hard to not be bias and this does not help me in that regard. As a rule I do not like any covers especially if it is done worse than the original artist or with no new inspiring take on the whole thing. There is a ton of female compilations containing original artists out there to not even bother with this one. (Secret they are cheaper) Hey I was rooting for Anke in Idols from the word go. Well these talent shows always makes heroes of those not prepared to fight it out to the top. Therefore they think Idols standards are good enough to make a real impression. My daughter will never know Anke but certainty know those ladies she sings songs off. I know I know this is like saying Elvis wrote his own songs or sang them first. Pleeeeeeese lets not go there.
Sel 2009-01-21 05:51 PM
I for one appreciate originality which Idols music lacks. This is terrible, BE ORIGINAL for goodness sakes!
Doreen Loubser 2009-01-21 06:32 PM
rumour has it that Anke only recorded this album to fulfill her contractual duties, this is why the album is so crap, Anke has a day job and is not interested in singing full time, when last did you see or hear from her doing any performances......my question is still why did she enter the competition and then decided to not be in the limelight anymore??
peter 2009-01-21 07:17 PM
That red dress on the cover is supposed to sell the CD, not the songs.
Cedric 2009-01-21 10:33 PM
Paul, buddy...it is a pop album. Synth is sort of the point in this genre. By the way Korn and Linkin Park also use loops etc. Go figure! Why is an electronic drummer better than a real live one?.......you only have to punch information into the e-drummer ONCE :-) Live musicians are not a hallmark of quality. Many rock records were recorded by session musos while the "real" band were high on crack. Does that make their band better! Wake up!
Your Name
Comment
Please enter the following text
Captcha
Your rating
for this album
Rate Me...  
 
 

Recent Reviews

AC/DC - Rock or Bust

2014-12-02 15:01

The album is based on lead guitarist Angus Young's butt-shaking, foot-stomping guitar riffs, elegant in their simplicity and their ability to burn themselves into your brain. Read More »
Add your review

Morning After is moody, dark and without a doubt a must-have if you're an aKing groupie like us! Read More »
Add your review

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.