Axene - 16

2009-12-15 12:35
 
16
 
But giving South Africa's latest teen pop sensation, Axene's bright pink CD and songs like "Speechless" and "So Sensitive" a spin it seems like we shouldn't judge it on its magic marker cover alone. Like the Miley Cirus and Hannah Montana tag team that took the world by storm, we may have a mini pop weather wonder of our own.

The blonde babe's musicality is a far cry from the heydays of Afrikaans pop star Nadine's "Krappies en Krefies" hit where a cute little girl with a big voice catered for a much more mature audience. Axene knows the teenage market (well, duh) and hits it smack on target with lyrics on life ("Daddy Don't Go"), boys ("Goodbye, Goodbye”) and being yourself ("What you see is what you get"), all sung in an almost country twang that's oh so Miley and very sexy.

Axene's album may be a sweet 16, but she definitely knows every teeny bopper is a wannabe Britney minx waiting to happen. Hence "Little Sister" with lyrics like "I’d say you're about twenty and I'm not running away, just take your time coz there's plenty of guys who're willing to be more than a brother to me...."

Hers is a typical pop sound with ballads evening out the upbeat tunes and catchy chorus lines. Axene has it spot on when she sings "I'm a small town girl that's gonna rock the world...." on "Small Town Girl". Well, South Africa is a good place to start.


Stereotyping is the art of judging on face value and past experience. This technique usually saves you from listening to a smiling fresh-faced teenager surrounded by butterfly and flower designs decorating her debut album cover, and in doing so miss out on the inevitable gag reflex.

What to read next: Kalahari

Ann 2009/12/17 8:42 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
fresh!upbeat
Jimmy 2009/12/17 8:44 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
What you see is what you get!!
James 2009/12/17 8:46 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Ek is mal oor die Album!!!
Ashley 2009/12/17 12:13 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Amazing!You are most definately on your way to the top Axene!
Debbie 2009/12/17 4:08 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Fantastic... You go girl!!!
Riana Fourie 2009/12/18 8:41 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Absolutely awesum
cal 2009/12/18 9:09 PM
Adjectives alone cannot describe how good this album is. With musical input from one of the country's top musicians, top notch international mixing and of course a very spectacular tallent from Axene this is more than just a teen album. This is the debut album of a future bright star. Well done and every success.
Tiaan Vermaak 2009/12/20 9:13 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Absolute loved it... When is the second album coming out? You go Axene!!
SB 2009/12/22 8:59 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Awesome!!! I saw her on the news one morning and thought: how fresh, funky! Absolutely gorgeous girl!
roger 2009/12/22 10:09 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
we saw this chick at the fifa final draw. yoh! she was horrific! and she had this old guy following her around all the time taking photos. really creepy.
namlion 2009/12/22 3:55 PM
i cannot comment on her talent, never heard of her..but her photographer should be "axed", what's with the old fashioned tea-cosy on her head??
Lindsay 2009/12/22 4:21 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Horrible single even more horrible voice. You need to not whine so much. Like your sony say "Im confused."
Lindsay 2009/12/22 4:21 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Horrible single even more horrible voice. You need to not whine so much. Like your sony say "Im confused."
Lindsay 2009/12/22 4:21 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Horrible single even more horrible voice. You need to not whine so much. Like your sony say "Im confused."
preshen govender 2009/12/23 9:14 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
hope she makes a sex tape
Dylan 2009/12/23 11:08 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Pure Talent!
Liz 2009/12/23 11:16 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Saw her at Canal Walk! Damn she's good!And a lovely person!
Silk 2009/12/23 12:39 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Now really. I know people have a desire for the simple and straightforward. The insanely happy little bubble that is pop music IS comfortable. But even by that standard, Axene is incredibly shite. Her vocals are average, her lyrics could be defecated by someone as insipid as Shakira, before her morning snort and it shows NO creativity. With all the good music coming out in SA at the minute, why the FCUK would you listen to Axene? Crisis!
Superman 2009/12/23 1:28 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Lovely album, amazing talent and a really good personality! these simpletons with their negative comments should keep it to themselves, they dont know siht! they`re obviously jealous and just cant take it that theres sum1 more suksesfull and likable than their own sorry asses out there! i pitty you all... Dont let these intellectualy challenged people get you down axene, they`re nothing!
ChristinaP 2009/12/25 10:30 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
While she is a really sweet person, her vocals tend to be screechy and not all that amazing. I have heard many talented youngsters, much more than she, that do not have albums which is a shame. Some of the songs are alright but she does nothing for me. She is in the vein of the current 'Disney Channel' stars who have the look but sadly, not so much talent. I do wish her luck though
NEXT ON CHANNELX
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.