With just over a week to go until UB40 kicks off their SA tour, we bring you some interesting facts about their opening band, Grassy Spark

Angelina Jolie was reportedly questioned by the FBI for four hours over the Brad Pitt private plane incident

Bantu Soul

2007-11-29 17:01
Apart from the two urban African slow jams, “Kgomo Ya Moshate” and “Not Every Woman” - which would do better in an R&B album - Bantu Soul delivers a great collection of mid-tempo house party-starters. Moments worth mentioning are the jazzy “Love Back” and “God Bless the Woman”. You’ve just got to love the piercing saxophone and sprinkle of Tswana vocals on the former. Also look out for smooth melodies in the R&B and house-flavoured “I Get Lo” and a rendition of Louis Amstrong’s “What a Wonderful World” which Bantu Soul puts a Proudly South African stamp on to encourage us to celebrate the magic of Mzansi.

-Tiisetso Tlelima

While Bantu Soul starts off slowly with songs which may put you to sleep it soon picks up and you’ll find yourself breaking your back to up-beat tunes like “Shake It Harder”. Although nothing will blow you away, it’s one of those albums that grow on you.


kyab 2007-12-01 08:11 AM
kayb I like it
Sipho 2007-12-03 02:33 PM
I love it Album is great I amust get it but I am still broke at the moment.
msiphoza 2007-12-26 02:20 AM
rocking big time this album is great, i just love having you around. bantu soul got soul, you go man
THABO 2008-01-13 07:06 PM
bongani 2008-02-15 09:26 AM
Bantu Soul One of the best House/ Neo-soul in the world. Rated with cats like Eric Roberson. Uyashisa, unfortunately not many people understand this genius who fused different gendres of music.
kevin 2008-02-20 09:33 AM
VERY VERY GOOOODDD!! Very proud ka the growth and the music within the sound. You've grown frm an entertainer to a musician. Loving it son..............!!
Dadycool 2008-02-20 01:07 PM
Bantu Soul Simply good music, melodies & rythms well balanced, something lacking in SA sounds. This would be my 1st official album by a local artist. Don't let number of sales divert you into bubble gum as well, u have a market share that understands u, just sustain it.
Kwanda 2008-02-20 02:20 PM
Simply the best Keep it up boy, you rock!
xolile 2008-11-25 11:16 AM
lekker i happen to hear one of bantu soul track on the radio and i must say is was da bomb

Recent Reviews

This weekend Scott Stapp, the voice of legendary rock band Creed, kicks off his world tour in South Africa. Read More »
Add your review

Ciara - Jackie

2015-07-17 12:53

Ciara’s sixth studio album has beat and sex appeal but lacks heart. Read More »
Add your review

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.