Bok van Blerk - Afrikanerhart

2009-08-18 07:57
 
Bok van Blerk
 
"Super Schalk" is worth a chuckle, but Wicus van der Merwe is funnier. "Brandewyn Het Nie Brieke Nie" is vintage boere pop, but Kurt Darren's "Kaptein" will outlast it by years.

Bok's latest record, Afrikanerhart, tries its best to flesh out the musician behind the manifesto, but in the end, what we really want to hear is his thoughts on Afrikaners, past and present.

Like Madonna, Bok’s popularity is something people love to draw conclusions from. They say: "this is where the country is heading" or "the youth have so-and-so on their mind", usually in tones of desperation. Unlike Madonna, Bok seems to take his negative press very much to heart.

Open up Afrikanerhart and you’ll see a little disclaimer in capital letters:

"Afrikanerhart is nie ‘n lied wat roep na enige vorm van revolusie of opstand nie. Die lied kom uit die musiekspel ‘Ons Vir Jou’ en al wat ons probeer sê is dat die Afrikaner ook gebloei het om Suid-Afrika te bou. Met respek vir alle kulture en hulle geskiedenis kan ons die land saam selfs nog sterker maak."

That's Bok himself deflecting criticism that he’s a right wing, Rainbow Nation-hating opportunist who is selling Afrikaners a dated dream of cultural supremacy. With this release, he must have imagined scores of lefty journalists waiting in the wings, ready to pounce on him at any moment and plaster him from kop tot toon with stickers proclaiming: "Racist!"

He'd be right. A lot of people would love to see him fail. And suddenly you’re smack bang in the middle of the Bok van Blerk world: the world of adversity. Like "De La Rey", Bok's most powerful songs on Afrikanerhart tackle the challenges, imagined or not, of being white and Afrikaans in post-millennium Mzansi.

It is hard to listen to a track like "Die Kleur Van My Vel" and not be violently transported from the middle ground between disgust and admiration. That’s a job well done in the music business, as Madonna knows, and for everyone who will spit at his likeness on the pages of Rapport, Bok can be sure of another volkstrotse fan buying his record wherever they can.

It's not good pop, but it's good politics, and that will always be worth talking about.
Let’s face it: Bok van Blerk is much more interesting as a cultural force than he is as a musician, even as an Afrikaans musician.

What to read next: Kalahari
Read more on:    bok van blerk

JP Potgieter 2009/08/18 8:14 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Why cant people just leave Bok van Blerk alone??? He is a normal song artist trying to make a living, and everybody is now making such a huge thing out of it just because of ONE song which HAS BEEN SUNG BEFORE and no one made a fuss about that??? For crying out loud, leave the man alone let him do his thing!! No one is going on about Kurt Darren on Ray Dyllan like this???!!!!
Hans 2009/08/18 9:03 AM
Ray Dylan and Kurt Darren don't have songs like De La Rey or Afrikanerhart, that's why.
marius du plessis 2009/08/18 9:15 AM
Jy kan nie n geveg betree sonder om nie raakgeslaan te word nie,ou BOK taakel belangrike oderwerpe in die afrikaner hart noodwendig sal n andersgesinde hom daarvoor uitkryt,ek se wel gedaan BOK !!STEUR JOU NIE AAN ONDESKUNDIGE KRITIEK
blakat 2009/08/18 10:46 AM
Bok is trying too hard, he should face up to what he is. A mediocre singer that got lucky with De Larey
Weskus girl 2009/08/18 11:59 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Ag Neil jy praat die grootste klomp stront wat ek nog gelees het. Gaan vlieg 'n kite man !!!!
shawn 2009/08/18 12:16 PM
lets be honest, even DE LA REY is a 2/10 song as far as songs go. this is nothing but political outdated ideologies. shame the poor afrikaner, boo hoo. really, overseas, this album wouldn't sell 1 copy. but in a leon schuster kurt darren loving nation ANYTHING sells. viva suid afrika
shawn 2009/08/18 12:17 PM
lets be honest, even DE LA REY is a 2/10 song as far as songs go. this is nothing but political outdated ideologies. shame the poor afrikaner, boo hoo. really, overseas, this album wouldn't sell 1 copy. but in a leon schuster kurt darren loving nation ANYTHING sells. viva suid afrika
Parreira 2009/08/18 1:14 PM
Weskus Girl, gaan LEES die bleddie review. Dan lees dit weer. Dan gaan loop Engels 101 of iets, en lees dit dan weer. Ek sweer party mense sien twee woorde raak wat hulle nie like nie en dan is die hel los. Ag, wat is die punt? 'n Gesofistikeerde uitkyk word altyd gestraf met 'n onnosel gehoor.
Willem van der Merwe 2009/08/18 1:15 PM
aa whell, i dont care what he sings ,any way the new rambo nation is a huge disaster in anycase.Our gov is a racist gov like the old one and so on and so on. And bok likes singing about old school sa,and i dont care ,how boaring and colourd sa would become become if we didnt hate each other so much. face it blacks ,whtites ,colourds ,indians and so on secratly in our own little haerts no matter how friendly we are with eachother we truly hate one and other even if we dont show it.thats all have a nice day!
Johan 2009/08/18 1:23 PM
Willem, how am I supposed to have a nice day after you said something like THAT? Jirre man, is jy dan so 'n bleeksiel? I think I'm going to flirt with a beautiful black woman tonight to help "build" the nation and make up for your depressive ranting.
preshen govneder 2009/08/18 1:46 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Bok van Blerk makes my panties go wet
Willem van der Merwe 2009/08/18 3:56 PM
Hey johan that's all good ,as long as you enjoy your little flirt with the ladys "rainbow style" thats all good man.me ill keep it pedigree ,no pavement pounding for me tonight!no siree not for me ,have a nice day once again.hahahah
Willem van der Merwe 2009/08/18 3:58 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
sorry guys about the album ,bok is allways bfk ,brilljant soos altyd
Mala 2009/08/18 4:18 PM
OK..being a ...erm..."anderskleurige"...I have just returned to south africa, after 7 years of working abroad... I fell in love with his music...his passion for his culture surpasses that of Kurt or any other musician I have heard in a while. The intensity of his lyrics is a realisation that South Africans should be proud of their culture and their heritage..and I will continue to love his music.
Albie 2009/08/18 4:53 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Bok die songs is uitstekend.
Gerdien 2009/08/19 8:45 PM
Jy sing Ongelooflik. kom jy ook n keer holland toe, I LOVE YOUR MUSIC Hou so aan Groete Uit holland Gerdien Breukink
FRANCOIS 2009/08/20 1:37 PM
weskus girl ....jy is seker van saldana of laaiplek en werk in die local kefee
Hannes 2009/08/20 1:57 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Ek se as enige spisifieke lied nie iets vir jou beteken nie moenie weer na dit luister nie!! Daar het swart mense ook gesneewel in die anglo boere oorlog! dink daaraan my vraag is hoekom mag ek nie as n wit man nie geskiedenis of kultuur he nie ek was n gedagte in my Pa en Ma se oe toe die sekere wit mense die res verdruk het om hul self ruik gemaak het die OU sing BEFOK en van sy mesiek maak my trots om n Afrikaner met kultuur tewees NOG NOOIT HET EK GEVOEL EK WIL MY BAKKIE VIR N PERD IN RUIL EN N ENGELSMAN GAAN DOOD MAAK NIE hou so aan ek en baie ander geniet dit tot Preshen Govneder
Vrye Denker 2009/08/21 9:12 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Ek glo die haters is maar net jaloers omdat hulle hul kulturele identiteit moes prysgee, en ons te hardegat is om ook so te maak. Bok van blerk is 'n goeie musikant in 'n bedryf wat oorloop van spookasem pop. Miskien kan hy nog 'n paar sanglesse neem, maar ek speel nou nog Hatfield Jol kliphard in my kar as ons op 'n Vrydagaand uitgaan.
Vrye Denker 2009/08/21 9:43 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Ek glo die haters is maar net jaloers omdat hulle hul kulturele identiteit moes prysgee, en ons te hardegat is om ook so te maak. Bok van blerk is 'n goeie musikant in 'n bedryf wat oorloop van spookasem pop. Miskien kan hy nog 'n paar sanglesse neem, maar ek speel nou nog Hatfield Jol kliphard in my kar as ons op 'n Vrydagaand uitgaan.
NEXT ON CHANNELX
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.