Britney – The Singles Collection

2009-12-22 09:11
 
The Singles Collection
 

And they are hits. The CD sleeve tracks the chart success of every song, and it reads like a straight 'A' report card. But today, they just sound like naughty versions of nursery school rhymes. Imagine getting down to "Oops!... I Did It Again" at your office Xmas party? A little apt perhaps, but not cool. Some songs from yesteryear make you go "Aaah I love this song!" and others just make you go "Argh! Remember when we used to listen to this crap?" It's definitely the latter with at least half of this album.

Once we hit "Toxic" at number 11, Britney shakes off the girl and gives us a woman. It's a whole new sound, and the hilariously naughty video was just a taster of what was to come post 2004. And boy did she vamp it up....

"Gimme More" was her first 'comeback' single in 2007 after the head-shave and the meltdown. While she looked deranged and sleazy in the video (and what about that VMA performance!), it's one of my favourites. It's so raw and dirty. Despite what hell she was going through personally at the time, she called the public on their obsession with her in this sexy slap 'n tease.

Sadly, these winning tracks are destined to go the way of their predecessors in a few years' time. But then she'll just hire an 'it' producer, do some sexy dance and slap up something else for you to go gaga over for a few months. You and she both know that that's exactly what we'll do. Britney has beaten the odds by being recyclable in an era of disposable music.


Britney is one of the most interesting pop phenomena of the 21st century, morphing right in front of our eyes from coy schoolgirl to messed up mother of two. And along the way each momentous occasion has been backtracked by one of her hits.

What to read next: Kalahari
Read more on:    britney spears

Jason 2009/12/28 7:37 PM
And when she starts doing drugs again? What is the plan then?
PRESHEN GOVENDER 2009/12/30 9:02 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Hope she wearing panties the recession hit her bad
PEDRO RITMO FERNANDO 2009/12/30 3:46 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
amazing how people can be so critical over someone like BRITNEY SPEARS who's record sales in the last ten years make her the planets best selling female artist ..and she deserves every accolade for her amazing,relentless hard work and very loved songs..make no mistake she is the reigning pop princess with only MADONNA thee official QUEEN OF POP...BRITNEY has carved her way into official record books ..so any hypocrite out there get your facts straight before passing judgement ...no one is perfect yet BRITNEY pulled herself together to have one of the top grossing tours of 2010...the facts speak for themselves and the fans have multiplied worldwide..give BRITNEY credit ..POP PRINCESS and her personal life ain't got nothing to do with her pop phenomena - its the grit of pure strive and work till you drop that makes her a strong role model today ..period''
Cyberax 2010/01/04 9:24 AM
She should do drugs again - it brings out the best in her music when she has a meltdown.
George 2010/01/05 8:07 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Britney -> trailer park proof that the world is filled with idiotic sheep that will buy anything the great media hype will tell them to - but shes not alone. bouncy beyonce, puffy lips, 50 percent, enima, etc - all crap and you all run to buy it. ptah!
Pieter 2010/01/05 8:29 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
every body has problems at least she deals with it.Best of luck Britney
GermanCarFan 2010/01/05 12:16 PM
@PEDRO RITMO FERNANDO - Since when is a lip sync performance called "the grit of pure strive and work till you drop" ?? Remember Milli Vanilli anyone ?!
mike 2010/01/05 1:28 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
The fact is she is one of only a few modern artist who actually can sing. Yeah lots of people don't like her music but she even manages to get a reaction out of them. In fact just shows you how good she is at what she does because even they listen to her music, if just to crictise. To me she's one of the greatest artists alive and I hope she keeps producing aweosme cd's.
Jono 2010/01/05 3:32 PM
Hey Pedro Pedro the music man, before you start crying again about checking facts please check yours as the best selling female artist on the planet IS NOT Britney (maybe you should be sitting down for this). While i do enjoy her, she has some way to go before she even smells the sales which Madonna, Nana Mouskouri and Mariah Carey have racked up. Facts do speak for themselves, but only if they are factual. Boo yah.
Simco 2010/01/05 4:04 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
We all human, just cause she is in the media eye she isnt alowed to forget her mistakes which is not fair people must stop judging others and look in the mirror and itz not like anyone is perfect i bet everyone has made one or anther mistake in their lives just cause britny is a singer and made a mistake does not mean she has to pay for it are you paying for your mistakes for the rest of you like at lease she can admit when she was wrong that is more than i can say for most of you people posting ugly coments maybe it conforts you to live off other peoples mistakes so that you can forget your owe
JOE 2010/01/05 4:20 PM
who deleted my email???????????????. i luv to suk britney's cake
mike 2010/01/06 12:45 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Well interesting, facts are Celine Deon is the number 1 best selling female artist of all time. Madonna is 2nd, Mariah 3rd, Streisand 4th, Olivia Newton John 5th and Britney is 6th. However Britney is the number 1 best selling female artist over the last decade.
Lithium 2010/01/06 3:44 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I could not resist commenting even though I am a Metal fan. Preshen, Cyberax and George's apt quips made me laugh ... I'm still laughing! From Pop to Death Metal and everything in between, fans in all music genres love to disagree. Radio Stations in SA only play Pop with a token nod at Alternative by indulging in Seether and Linkin Park on rare occasions. As Slipknot & Godsmack and others are not available to purchase in mainstream music shops, one has to resort to downloading from the net (don't ask lol) My point being that those of you who only listen to Pop might consider exploring other music as well. Not saying you need to dive into Gimmu Borgi but at least Google and investigate different music to the norm. Must admit, I draw the line at the Jonas Brothers ... their mother lied to them, they can't sing lmao
NEXT ON CHANNELX
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.