Amp Events has announced that rock icons Pixies will be touring South Africa in March next year!

Meet Iain Thomas, the 36-year-old South African poet who is famous all over the world except in SA

J-Lo - Brave

2007-11-19 11:26
Actually who cares? With such droning vocals and crap lyrics like ‘heart-breaks are over-rated, stay together is the new trend’ on synth-disco jam “Stay Together”, it’s no wonder Brave is a commercial flop. After playing the pop game for almost a decade you’d think J-Lo would have learnt a thing or two about what works.

After sitting through this retro water torture you realize that she clearly doesn’t have a clue what's hip on the dance floor these days. The only song worth listening to is “Brave”. It’s very emotive, but up-beat and uplifting as well and is one of those tracks that you could put on repeat for a whole Sunday morning. Other than that the album is a complete waste of time.

-Tiisetso Tlelima

When we hear of a title like Brave we expect something…if not ambitious, then out-of-the-ordinary. Instead J-Lo gives us more of the same – sloppy but danceable love songs. She doesn’t take risks with her voice and there’s no cross-genre experimentation which has you wondering what makes her think she’s so brave.


mandy 2007-11-16 09:09 AM
past it sorry Jenny from the block. your flashdance thing is so 90s. sounds like she need to hang with Britney.
vincent 2007-11-18 02:07 PM
brave's just the one Dnt listen to the critics Jlo, they got nothing to critisize. i bet none of them ever had time to listen to the whole album. i think the album is a BANG!!!
Nic 2007-11-18 02:30 PM
New JLO album is AMAZING I think Tiisetso Tlelima is one of the many jealous people of jennifer lopez! Gees can you sing, dance, act and design clothes and look like amazing well u doing it? No all u can write are lame little artcles about people whose level u wish u could reach one day!
Michelle 2007-11-18 08:07 PM
Gone... I agree with Tiisetso. It's awful. Jenny from the block, it seems you are ON the chopping block this time. Sorry. And WOW ~ Nic and Vincent ~ with grammar and spelling like THAT... Well, let's just say it's no wonder that you enjoy this mindless, innordinate crap.
Anele Nzimande 2007-11-19 08:33 AM
J-lo=Jolly Low Jlo your last album(Get Right) was superb& unlike wine, which gets better with age, you are ageing dis-gracefully in the music industry. Sorry, better luck next tym!!!
sala 2007-11-22 11:42 AM
Nice review! It's time for Jen to give it up!
QueenS 2007-11-26 03:08 PM
give it up it time for her to take a bow-gracefully!!!
Daemos 2008-03-10 11:03 AM
Sies This album is disgusting, I made my friend throw her copy away and bought her an Adele CD instead

Recent Reviews

This weekend Scott Stapp, the voice of legendary rock band Creed, kicks off his world tour in South Africa. Read More »
Add your review

Ciara - Jackie

2015-07-17 12:53

Ciara’s sixth studio album has beat and sex appeal but lacks heart. Read More »
Add your review

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.