Leon Schuster - Op Dun Eish!

2006-12-19 16:58
 
Leon Schuster, love him or hate him, is very very good at making people laugh at South Africa, and on this album, as always, he's found a way to access everyone's laugh trigger. He's even good enough to do it against your will. But, depending on how sensitive and politically correct you are, some of the material is genuinely offensive and most of it is marred by the ugly cancer of uninterrogated racism.

Let's start with the first track, in which Vusi (complete with Ja Baas accent) gets Jannie's job and through his own incompetence ends up electrocuting himself.

Hilarious! Because you know how stupid these blacks are. Nowadays, you have to call them blacks. It's more polite, see. And we have to call Pretoria "Tswane", too. Why can't we just keep the name given by the Apartheid government, not the name most people living there actually use? And the corruption portrayed in "Lekka by die A.N.See" is just the kind of thing that racists everywhere (particularly those who miss job reservations for white folk) love to hear. The track is packed with rubbish, like the implication that the ANC's solution for Aids and pregnancy are "showers" and "abortion". Proving that his humour depends on laughing AT people, Schuster appeals to people's prejudices against a certain kind of Afrikaner with his satire of Karen Zoid's "Afrikaners is Pleserig", an amusing rip off of the stereotypical drunken, overweight, Blou Bulle fan. "Babe het jy nog drank vir my [x 3] / Ek gaan dit by Teaser's kry".

The generally "treffer-type" music (composed with the aid of Steve Hofmeyr) is generally nothing more than a vehicle for the humour, which is sometimes affectionate for "the only country in the world where people dance when they're unhappy" or the unlicensed driver of a stukkende minibus taxi named Lucky or Chicane who ran away "... in case ou PV wants to bath him."

Unfortunately, Schuster's deeply held conservatism (essentially what's behind the humour) rears its head again and again. Not least in the initially amusing Fokofpolisiekar rip-off "Hamba Polisiekar”, complete with bad singing and unnecessary swearing, that ends up telling them off for rejecting the volk's values and standards.

The question is, if you accept that this is all okay because it's "just a joke", you still have to worry about whether the 30 000 odd Schuster fans who bought it realise that what he's saying is not all "funny cause it's all true". You have to worry that it merely helps feed and justify their prejudices. So in some moral sense, Schuster is perhaps, himself, on rather dun eish.

Chances are, he's making far too much cash to care whether what he's doing is morally right or not. In any case, the results are fascinating and sometimes unfairly funny.

- Jean Barker
What does the fact that by mid-December Leon Schuster's new album was already sold out on Kalahari.net say about South Africans?

marlise 2006/12/18 6:50 AM
dun eish dit is baie goed en ons is ook almal die beste span dit is die vrystaat
Piet 2006/12/18 7:50 AM
op dun eish Dit is vreemd dat indien jy nie pro alles is wat in ons samelewing gebeur nie dat jy 'n rassis is? Jean Barker jou kommentaar is tipies daarvan. Alles waarop Schuster sinspeel is realiteite wat elke dag gebeur. Die waarheid is ongelukkig nie aanvaarbaar in die nuwe SA nie.
Elza 2006/12/18 8:19 AM
Nonsense Since when did the Apartheid Government give Pretoria its name? Leon Schuster a racist conservative. What utter nonsense. This man has been giving Africans opportunities long before the so-called liberals got on the bandwagon.
ALFRED 2006/12/18 8:21 AM
dun eish IF SOMEONE CAT TAKE THE TRUTH OF THE CURRINT S.A PUT IN IN A JOKE SO THATEVERYONE CAN HAVE A LAUGH ABOUT IT GO FOR IT. IF HE STANDS ON ANY TOES SO WHAT " WE CAN SETTEL OUT OF COURT" GO LEON AS LONG AS YOU ARE DOOING A HONIST DAY WORK I WILL STAY A FAN!!!!!!
neels 2006/12/18 8:36 AM
dun eish Ek dink Leon slaan die spyker op die kop met meeste van die liedjies. Dit is baie snaaks en tog steek daar n bietjie waarheid in alles. Great cd Leon !!!!!!!!!!
wouter 2006/12/18 8:37 AM
dun eish Schuster, jou lekke ou, ek dink nou nog mens moet jou president maak, almal sal vir jou stem, swart, wit, bruin, wat se kleur ook al. Jy kom so ver al, my eerste sakgeld 30 jaar terug het ek my eerste Schuster "tape" gekoop, briekdans, nou sing jy 30 jaar later oor ons land se probleme, en ek lag nou nog. Hoop net Hie kom die bokke kan die jaar beter speel.
Dormehl 2006/12/18 8:37 AM
Brown Nose Jean Barker, you looking for a job in the goverment? Face the truth, it does sometimes hurt, you are probably one of those british that couldnt do anything in your own country and now try to do it hear, probably have something to say about Bok van Blerk's De La Rey aswell.
Neville From PeterRoad 2006/12/18 8:42 AM
Schuter's Ice is still THICK thank you. People People!! Schuster is a comedian, What Ever he does, is comedy targeted. You as "consumer" decide if its true or not, and keep it to your self. You like it? = Buy it. You Dont like? = You Dont buy. Just, Sour People Critisize Funny things. Keep it up LEON, A legend like u wont die easy (",)
john 2006/12/18 8:58 AM
Jean Barker Waar kom jy aan jou nonsens jy moet lekker wees. Daar is geen man wat al meer vir die "Blacks" gedoen het as Leon nie jou klasifikasie van 'n "racism" het jy seker by 'n laerskool kind gekry
Leon 2006/12/18 9:55 AM
Jean Barker, ANC MP? Jean Barker really sounds like someone desperate to get onto the ANC's election list. I am no Schusster fan, but he does stereotype everybody he does not like very much - including Blou Bulle fans, as Jean rightly points out. And a very prominent ANC person did give exactly the solution for Aids mentioned, and abortion is official ANC policy - so it is the ANC's rubbish, Jean, not Leon's. But your drivel about Pretoria being the name given by the Apartheid government really shows how much you're spewing false ANC propoganda. The city was built long before the National PArty even existed, lovie, and there was no city in existence where Pretoria was built. Of course black people lived in the vicinity - in kraals, made up of huts constructed with wood, grass and mud. If one of them was named Tswane, that may be so - but there is no written record of that. And I yet have to find a black person calling it Tswane - excluding the political activists, of course.
Bruce 2006/12/18 10:05 AM
op dun eish Your reviewer does not seem to have a grasp on the mechanics of humour and satire. Any comedian draws his/her (would it have been more p.c. to have put her first?) material from the issues that resonate in the audiences culture. We live in a country dominated by racial issues. The A.N.C. government is still using the racial classification of the Nats!!! Look for a job, and you'll be faced with a race issue. Lose a job, it could very well be a race issue (we all know someone!). Even crime is a race issue- what race was the person who hi-jacked you, raped your wife, broke into your home, held your family up at gun point, stole your cell phone? Watch most black comedians, and their whole routine is about race. Are they racists too? I would have been a lot more comfortable with a review that reviewed the C.D. rather than highlighting the reviewers predjudices (or lack therof). Loosen up doll, maybe you'll have a good laugh- very good for you! Or even have some fun!
Mada 2006/12/18 10:34 AM
Jean - don't know what you're talking about Maybe, you're living in that dream world where everybody lives in harmony. Where I live, everything that Leon jokes about, is the truth. The only thing is that Leon is one of few people who isn't scared to speak out. It's about time!! I grew up in apartheid SA, but racism is more alive under black people in SA today, and it's get fired on by people with political motives. Most people today know that what Leon jokes about, is the truth. They will just never admit to it. GO LEON!!!!!
NJ 2006/12/18 11:20 AM
Corruption Even the African peer review has found that corruption is in danger of becoming endemic in South African society. South Africans love Leon Schuster's comedy for the fact that it represents the worst, but unfortunately very prevalent side of our society in a humourous way. Grow up Jean Barker, open your eyes and see SA for the sick place that it has become, and appreciate someone like Schuster for putting a light spin on it so that we have a reason to smile for once.
Siegfried Berger 2006/12/18 1:16 PM
Op Dun Eish Dear Jean May I suggest you familiarise yourself with Africa’s history by reading Indaba My Children and revisit the definition of prejudice before you next dip your pen into the venomous ink of those who peddle propaganda hearsay. Your sources amongst which one could find Schnucks of SABC infamy stray further from reality than did Dr Joseph Goebbels who unlike the previously mentioned ANC mouthpiece was awarded his degree by an internationally recognised and respected university. You will find that Leon does not base his expose on prejudice but millennia of black behaviour, which cannot be altered overnight by a handful of genetic deviants or propaganda ‘facts’. Africa has specialised over the past millennia, in either losing or breaking that which more advanced peoples have introduced them to. A case in point close to home is the Zimbabwe ruins and the actions of the present regime repeating history accurately. Good luck with your research! Siegfried
Jean 2006/12/18 3:02 PM
Siegfried Berger and others Thank you for proving every point I made about his fans with your reactionary and disproportionately aggressive comments. If my review were half as unbalanced as your reaction, I'd understand. But I made lots of positive points about the CD and gave it an above average rating.
NJ 2006/12/18 3:34 PM
Who's the aggressor? With comments in your review like "the ugly cancer of uninterrogated racism" you can hardly point a finger at any of the reactions as being overly aggressive. Grow up.
Jean 2006/12/18 5:18 PM
NJ, take it easy I'm not condoning corruption or any other evils that (I agree) are a danger to South Africa's future. I admit that there are funny bits, and tender bits, on this CD. But I am criticising Schuster for exploiting prejudice. Those who don't agree with me have become hysterical and shown their worst side, and see him as their spokesman. If you want to be associated with comments like "You will find that Leon does not base his expose on prejudice but millennia of black behaviour, which cannot be altered overnight by a handful of genetic deviants or propaganda ‘facts’." (berger) then go right ahead. I'm sure Schuster would find them utterly revolting.
NJ 2006/12/18 5:40 PM
Prejudice The fact of the matter is that your prejudice towards Schuster fans is no different to the perceived prejudice that you accuse them all of. You categorically stated that 30,000 Schuster fans are possibly having their prejudices fed and justified through this CD. You are therefore judging all of them in one huge, general foul swoop. Perhaps you should go and take a look in the mirror for the proverbial beam that you are bound to find there. Good luck with that.
JAN 2006/12/19 8:13 AM
Op dun eish DIT IS GOED DAT HULLE DIE NAME VERANDER WANT DIE PLEKKE IS NIE MEER DIESELFDE NIE,ONS KYK MAAR NA ONDERHOUD,STALLETJIES ENS.GEE N PLEK N NAAM WAT BY HOM PAS.LEON JY WEET HOE OM N DING VERSTAANBAAR OOR TE DRA,TIEN UIT TIEN VIR JOU.DIE OUENS WAT KLA OOR DIE CD HET IN ELK GEVAL NIE VEEL KULTUUR NIE,SO LOS DIE UIT WAT HULSELF KAN UITLEEF EN GENIET.
Jean 2006/12/19 9:51 AM
"NJ" I am not a fan of Leon Schuster fans, specially after the kind of crazy stuff I've read here from people, like yourself, hiding behind pseudonyms and flaming me on the web. You're not doing yourselves any PR favours, or proving yourselves better and more rational people. You're ignoring the fact that I gave the album a good. Etc. etc. etc. Trying to get through is becoming exhausting though. So if you want to have this conversation with me, at least have the balls to use your real name.
NEXT ON CHANNELX
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.