A man involved in planning an outdoor concert where 16 people were killed has been found dead

Kris Jenner feels "torn apart and angry" that Bruce Jenner is now dating her friend and assistant

Lira - Soul In Mind

2009-03-06 16:18
 
Soul In Mind
 

Actually that's a little unfair. While this follow-up to her Sama-winning début is another signature set of 'after hours' Afro-jazz originals, the mood isn’t exclusively one of supper club sedation. This doesn’t mean that Lira’s suddenly started conversing with her ancestors, ala Ubuntu balladeers like Simphiwe Dana or Thandiswa though.

Whether it’s a breezy Afro-Latin tête-à-tête ("Wa Mpaleha"), a percolating funk declaration of perseverance (“Rise Again”) or a suave old school soul caress (“Made For Me”), Lira knows how to pull off a 'quiet storm' seduction.

The title track is an impassioned piano-kissed prayer about embracing her femininity. "Another Day" and "Believer" give Sade's soulful urban pop torch songs a ready to wear Afropolitan revamp. And later a simple acoustic guitar kissed confessional about finding freedom ("My Company") is complemented by an inspirational adult contemporary crossover croon celebrating naivety ("Heart of A Child"). Shucks, is there anything for the guys, or is Soul In Mind tailored exclusively towards the sisters?

Not exclusively. "S'thandwa Sam" is a funky kasi-kissed two step about a girl wondering why her so-called boyfriend won't make their relationship public. And the upbeat finale "Celebrating Life" makes for a welcome invitation to finally hit the dance floor. To his credit, Jazzworx producer Robin Kohl keeps the ambience conversational with an un-intrusive canvas of acoustic guitar strums, mid-tempo drum sequences and always understated bass vamps.

Watch ‘Wa Mpaleha’ video


Lira continues to ease her brand of smooth jazz vocal seduction into bewitchingly chic spaces on this stylish set of Afropolitan wallpapers about femininity, faith and falling in love.

What to read next: Kalahari

Read more on:    lira
NEXT ON CHANNEL24X

Ella Henderson - Chapter 1

2014-10-14 11:10

Add Your Review

(Comments may be edited or deleted at the Channel24 editors’ discretion)
promise 3/20/2009 11:49 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Lira, the SAMA is your G-I-R-L :)
Skhumbuzo Bradley Mthembu 5/5/2009 11:27 AM
I love it
ZiG 5/8/2009 11:00 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
This is clearly a 4.5 star effort, your 3 stars is unfair
itumelng 6/11/2009 9:50 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
ausi lira i love your music,its like you sing what i want to tell my girlfriend,am so in love with you knew album soul in mind.
petunia 8/21/2009 9:41 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
oh lira i love your music girl it is perfect
Mokhalahali Shale 9/8/2009 9:37 AM
Basadi ba tswanang le wena r really going places.Keep up the good work and keep feeding our souls with ur beautifull music.
Mokhalahali Shale 9/8/2009 9:37 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Basadi ba tswanang le wena r really going places.Keep up the good work and keep feeding our souls with ur beautifull music.
cebile 10/19/2009 12:05 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Super cool music, you rock Lira! I also loved you 1st album and i have a copy
cebile 10/19/2009 12:05 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Super cool music, you rock Lira! I also loved you 1st album and i have a copy
cebile 10/19/2009 12:07 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Super cool music, you rock Lira! I also loved your 1st album and i have a copy
Sese 12/1/2009 10:09 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I looooooove Lira's album. The music is amazing, the band is amazing and she is amazing. Granted that she is no Whitney Houston vocally but she works with what she has and the results are magnificent.
lesiba rakgotho 3/26/2010 8:07 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
i blast myself with your live dvd at carnival city,wow u are a legend lira .thanx for the good music.we want more,we want more, we want more.......
lesiba rakgotho 3/26/2010 8:07 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
i blast myself with your live dvd at carnival city,wow u are a legend lira .thanx for the good music.we want more,we want more, we want more.......
susan 5/20/2011 2:31 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
GIRL!i love you,and uyangi khuthaza ngasosoke isikhathi pls keep it up
Your Name
Comment
Please enter the following text
Captcha
Your rating
for this album
Rate Me...  
 
 

Recent Reviews

Ella Henderson - Chapter 1

2014-10-14 11:10

Fresh, young and totally capable of hitting any note at any time perfectly, this talented British artist brings something fresh and new to the pop world with her debut album. Read More »
Add your review

Prince's release of two stylistically distinct discs on the same day emphasises his freakish versatility. Read More »
Add your review

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.