Orkez - In Opsomming

2006-09-08 13:39
 
Orkez have that "Afrikaans-band" sound that would go down well at music festivals popular with the varsity drinking crowd. They're four guys, in average white-oke attire, making music that B-Com first years and BA grads on the average koppie will find goes down almost as well as the beer.

In Opsomming is a fitting title - for an album that is really a compilation of the salient features of the hipper face of Afrikaans rock music.

The lineup includes names like Dave Saunders and Barrie Van Zyl. These are names that are starting to turn up on more and more on bigger SA music releases. Unfortunately, the parts of Orkez are greater than the sum so far. Tracks like "Soektog" and "In Opsomming" are neatly constructed. But they're also nothing more than a compilation of Alternatiewe Afrikaans blues-rock tricks (some might call them cliches) borrowed years ago from Dire Straights and Nick Cave. Johan Zietsman's old-school regular-guy vocals lack expression. There's no denying the skills and talents of those involved, but it's frustrating to hear these talents produce such an average and unoriginal album. Listening to it, you can't help thinking how much better if might have been if someone gave everyone involved a bit of a push.

The photography (of a winter holiday lagoon or some such) on the cover fits with the thoughtful themes of the songs. But otherwise, the CD is also lazily packaged. No lyric sheet, no detailed production information... Just a double folded piece of shiny paper. Why buy it? Well, exactly.

If you're an Afrikaans music fan and own everything Valiant, Koos and the like did, Orkez have a sound you will find familiar, and pleasing. But it's a mere shadow of its inspirations, which is almost worse than if it hadn't been so evocative of them in the first place.

- Jean Barker
What do you get when you throw a whole bunch of SA rock talent together? Not always a great album when the parts are greater than the sum.

What to read next: Kalahari

Gert 2006/09/12 2:55 PM
Orkez - A great album. I take it that this reviewer probably enjoys listening to uninspired artists such as Kurt Darren and Nicholas Louw because she knows absolutely know about this band, what they stand for or the changes they are making in people’s minds. I have the CD and it's been in my car radio for the last couple of weeks. Although I do agree that the cover sheet is not that great, I must disagree about the music. They have a unique sound and a sound that has been taken from a past where Afrikaans never featured. It's like they started all over again and brings you music that is raw and exciting. This is totally different than your normal Afrikaans tunes and brings words with depth and honesty. The pulsating drum rhythms, fantastic guitar solos and energy from the vocals makes this one of the best Afrikaans Rock albums I have listened to. Maybe they needed a push, but I can’t wait to hear their next album. If you see watch their music videos (MK89 and ROTS Compilation DVD) you will se
Gert 2006/09/12 2:56 PM
Orkez - A great album. I take it that this reviewer probably enjoys listening to uninspired artists such as Kurt Darren and Nicholas Louw because she knows absolutely know about this band, what they stand for or the changes they are making in people’s minds. I have the CD and it's been in my car radio for the last couple of weeks. Although I do agree that the cover sheet is not that great, I must disagree about the music. They have a unique sound and a sound that has been taken from a past where Afrikaans never featured. It's like they started all over again and brings you music that is raw and exciting. This is totally different than your normal Afrikaans tunes and brings words with depth and honesty. The pulsating drum rhythms, fantastic guitar solos and energy from the vocals makes this one of the best Afrikaans Rock albums I have listened to. Maybe they needed a push, but I can’t wait to hear their next album. If you see watch their music videos (MK89 and ROTS Compilation DVD) you will se
Herman 2006/09/14 5:26 PM
Orkez rock Ek kan ook nie saamstem met hierdie persoon nie. Orkez is 'n great band met great songs, heeltemal ongewone musiek en iets nuuts op die oor. Orkez rock!!
Pieter 2006/09/20 8:15 AM
Orkez Rock Ja nee die reviewer het hie genoeg aandag aan die album gegee nie. Orkez klink glad nie soos iets wat al gedoen is nie. Blues rock tricks... Genugtig daar is soveel ander style op die album dat mens wonder of hy/sy ooit na al die tracks geluister het!
Foxx 2006/10/05 3:26 PM
TO GERT What do you know about unispired artists such as Kurt Darren and Nicholis Louw. Maybe you should listen to depths, passion and honesty in their music... Hallo, Duh....
Foxx sucker 2006/10/30 6:59 PM
Foxx sucks Kurt Darren sucks, Nicholas Louw sucks, Foxx sucks...................but Orkez ROCKS!!
yolandi 2007/01/04 10:54 PM
miss ill give you a piece of mind
CINDY 2007/01/13 5:51 PM
nicholis louw he is the best singer eva with the best personality,everything he do he do with all his heart
nuraan 2007/03/07 12:26 PM
nicholous is the best he is a very talented singer with the most sexiest ass ever and i love him to bits
Heidi 2007/03/14 9:08 AM
Nicholis louw the best artist eva!!!!! Personality great, nicely build with the most amazing smile, voice and butt... Very energetic .... Go Nicholis.........
Roxanna 2007/04/10 9:07 AM
Incredible Can I just say that Nicholas Louw is extremely talented and extremely hot, he is the next Elvis Presely/Beatles sensation. People will be listening to his music years from now, I am an english speaking 22 year lady from JHB and I dont listen to afrikaans music, but when I heard him for the first time I quickly learnt how to sokkie. Nicholas you might never read this but if by some chance you do, KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK SUNSHINE YOU ROCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!
LOLLY 2007/04/13 3:23 PM
nicholis louw HEY NICKY! DAN BEGIN ONS WEER VOOR EN DAN DOEN ONS DIT OOR!!!JY IS ABSOLUTELY GORGEOUS!! MET 'N VERY SEXY TIGHT BUTT!!!MWAAAA!!!
Lizelle 2007/04/29 1:38 PM
Nicholis Louw hey Nicholis is die hotste sanger wat daar is ek love hom en sy musiek. Nicholis jys my trou man!!!!!!!!!!
Heidi Mouton 2007/05/18 12:12 PM
Ms NICHOLIS LOUW ROCK!!!!!!!! Hey Nicholis, THANK YOU a lot for your new cd. Its different but still fantastic. My friend saw it and all they did was buying Hier naby jou!!! Sure gud stuff... Keep surprising us hey! Love u to bits
Heidi Mouton 2007/05/18 12:18 PM
Hier naby jou!!!!!!!!! NICHOLIS LOUW ROCK!!!!!!!! Hey Nicholis, THANK YOU a lot for your new cd. Its different but still fantastic. My friend saw it and all they did was buying Hier naby jou!!! Sure gud stuff... Keep surprising us hey! Love u to bits
marilee 2007/06/06 2:40 PM
Nicholas Louw Nicholas AL jou cd's is great. Jy is verseker een van ons land se sexiest en talentvolle sangers. Ek is mal oor jou musiek.
Sharon van Rooye 2007/06/08 1:50 PM
NICHOLAS LOUW My hero jy rock defnitief daai lyfie. Kan nie wag om jou show in PE te sien nie. Besit al drie jou cd's. Ek erken dat jy dit vir my doen, maar nou ja ek sal maar settle vir my verloofde. Sien jou binnekort!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Luv Shaz
nellie nel 2007/07/05 1:07 PM
hier naby jou Dit is 'n lewendige maar tog smaakvol vir oud en jonk
Polly 2007/07/09 5:26 PM
Tussen die lakens Ek wil daar saam met jou wees engel!!!!!!!!!!!!
Samantha 2007/07/24 12:44 PM
Nicholas, jou stem is soos 'n engel s'n Nicholas, jou musiek laat my altyd dans, al sit ek by die werk! jy het 'n stem soos 'n engel, ek is so dankbaar jy gebruik jou stem so mooi. Ek is ook mal oor Westlife en jou stem klink so mooi soos hulle s'n. Jy moet aan hou doen wat jy goed doen. Ek wil jou vir my troue bespreek, dit sal die tweede ding wees wat my dag sal maak, om jou daar te he! Van die meisie wie jou in Panarotti's by Mimosa Mall in Bloemfontein ontmoet het.
NEXT ON CHANNELX
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.