Check out the 7 most cringeworthy moments in the history of the MTV Video Music Awards here!

Namaqua festival shut down due to fears of racial tension at Steve Hofmeyr’s proposed performance

Red Hot Chili Peppers - I'm With You

2011-09-07 15:49
 
I am a long time Chili Pepper fan, owning close to 40 original Chili Pepper CDs which include singles, collectors items and limited edition releases. And I'm very disappointed with the new RHCP album!

The best songs on the album would be considered mediocre songs on previous albums.

Overall, there is a lack of bite and edginess on I'm With You that the Chilis are renowned for.

The passable tracks on the album would be "Look Around" and "Even You Brutus?", purely for the fact that these songs have the most edge and have some resemblance to what we would expect from the Chili Peppers.

These songs stand out in the sense that they break the feel of an album that is just going with the motions.

As for the rest, when there is a catchy moment in any of the songs it is quickly reversed into something placid and often soppy, which changes the entire feel of the songs. For a band renowned for edgy songs regarding sex, drugs and funk, this album seems to lack all of it.

Kyle Pretorius plays in Cape Town rockabilly band Ratrod Cats and can be followed on twitter.com/theratrodcats.Do you have any reviews or articles to submit? You could win a Kalahari.net voucher - email your article of max 300 words (and photos) to music@channel24.co.za.

Read more on:    red hot chili peppers  |  music
NEXT ON CHANNEL24X

Add Your Review

(Comments may be edited or deleted at the Channel24 editors’ discretion)
Johan 8/30/2011 1:03 PM
Bands change, so did the peppers, its how it is, dont compare the new album to previous stuff, listen to it for what it is...and its a great album, 'nough said...
Kyle 8/30/2011 1:33 PM
I disagree completely. We have every right to compare the sound to previous albums as the majority of Chili fans became fans from said previous albums. I have to also unfortunately say that listening to it for what it is still equates to a mediocre album by any standard.
Art 8/31/2011 10:34 AM
I lost all respect for the Chili's when i saw them live in 2004. It still is the most boring concert I have ever seen. James Brown was the opening act, and 20 minutes into the Chili's set, I was wishing for James Brown to return. HIS show was BRILLIANT! Also, everything after BSSM become limper and less interesting than the previous effort. I used to be a fan ... not anymore
David Lipman 9/1/2011 8:23 AM
I too disagree. Initially I found the album unsatisfying but after a few more listens, I think that it shows maturity and yet still has that unmistakable RHCP sound and feel.
Jet 9/1/2011 8:51 AM
Are there any songs about California on this one?
Annel 9/5/2011 3:30 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I think the new album is great, more of the old stuff, which they were so good at.
gdfgfdg 9/5/2011 3:32 PM
sadfasdfsadf
Michelle Evert 9/6/2011 11:30 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I totally disagree. I think any "comeback" album RHCP released was going to struggle to live up to the incredibly high standards set by Stadium Arcadium - a masterpiece which, let's be honest, was very much all John Frusicante. As we know, Frusicante has left the band, and it would be impossible to expect the new and much younger Josh Klinghoffer to even come close to replicating him. He still needs to grow in confidence. I personally think that, considering the loss of such an important and influential band member, I'm With You is a great effort by the Peppers and in no way a disappointment. For me the album was instantly likeable, maybe for others such as yourself it will be a grower. You can't honestly tell me songs like Did I Let You Know, Ethiopia, Brendan's Death Song are mediocre - just give this record a couple more listens with an open mind.
Kyle 9/6/2011 11:50 AM
I must say that after listening to the album more it is still mediocre. Ethiopia is a good song, and I will agree on that. The other more laid back songs are a far cry from the 'happy-go-lucky' Chilis of years past. The band themselves have even commented that this is an entirely new band and not the old Chilis. My complaint comes in that it feels like they are forcing the funky songs and the more soppy songs seem to come more naturally now. It could be age, it could be a lack of John Frusciante, it could be something else, but more than 60% of I am With You cannot be regarded as good old Chili Pepper style. The problem with being such a huge RHCP fan is that we became fans for a reason and would at the very least expect the Chilis to push the boundaries as they always used to! This album reinforces my fear that my favourite band may just be losing the edge which I fell in love with.
Alvin 10/25/2011 2:53 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
It's as simple as this. Heard "Adventures of Rain Dance Maggie" on the Radio - Bought it - Listen to All the Tracks - Love it! Annie Wants a Baby is an Enormous Track!
Your Name
Comment
Please enter the following text
Captcha
Your rating
for this album
Rate Me...  
 
 

Recent Reviews

The stunning collaboration of no more than 3 people has shaped a stunning collection of tracks. Read More »
Add your review

Ed Sheeran - X

2014-07-18 14:27

The 12 tracks are made up of heartfelt, acoustic ballads (in a good way) as well as fresh beats to swing to. Read More »
Add your review

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.