With just over a week to go until UB40 kicks off their SA tour, we bring you some interesting facts about their opening band, Grassy Spark

Angelina Jolie was reportedly questioned by the FBI for four hours over the Brad Pitt private plane incident

SA song of the decade: Nominees! - SA song of the decade: Nominees!

2006-03-29 18:54

SONG of the DECADE nominees

Click on the track names on the left hand side to listen to clips by the nominated artists. Then TO VOTE for your favourite, CALL 083 123 SAMA (083 123 7262). You can also review the clips on this page (just scroll down and fill in the form!)

Arthur - "Kaffir"

Bayete - "Mmalo - We"

Brenda Fassie - "Vuli Ndlele"

Hugh Masekela - "Thanayi"

Mafikizolo - "Ndibhamba Nawe"

Mandoza - "Nkalakatha"

Phuzekhemisi No Khethani - "Imbizo"

Rongo - "Sondela"

TKZee - "Dlala Mapantsula"

Vicky Sampson - "African Dream"

Get the latest on SAMA from News24.

Daniel Dibete 2004-05-27 01:58 PM
Song of the decade Ringo
Nakedi Mphela 2004-05-27 03:44 PM
Song Of The Decade Brenda : Vuli Ndlela. Undoubtedly the best song in the last 10 Years, whether at a party, wedding and evene FUNERALS,you will move to this song!!
Michael Segage 2004-05-28 08:11 AM
Song of the Decade Hugh Masekela: Thanayi. This is what I call African music at its best. For the next decade this song will still be there, mark my word.
Vuli Ndlele" 2004-05-28 09:07 AM
African Dream These are beautiful songs which got international recognition.Definite my strong nominees.
Motlagae Mashabela 2004-05-28 09:29 AM
Ndi hamba nawe With Tebogo being the father of my child,I would say ndi hamba naye.It's a beautiful song and I can't stop listening to it.
Juliet Mojela 2004-05-28 11:02 AM
Mafikizolo Ndi hamba nawe
Nomvuyo Tshaka 2004-05-28 12:27 PM
Vulindlela Vulindlela rocks
Jackson Marakalala 2004-05-28 12:52 PM
African dream-Perfect 4 the celebration of democracy in music. I think African dream is the song which perfectly describes the road that Africa has walked to freedom. It was a real dream at the beginning and now we see it life. It is just perfect for the celebration of SAMA 10 and 10 years of democracy in SA.
Khutjo Morwatsehla 2004-05-28 01:43 PM
Brenda Vulidlela rmorwatsehla@transunionitc.co.za
spooky 2004-05-28 02:10 PM
Nkalakatha No South African muso has ever achieved such crosss-over success...a South African anthem!
SUSAN MONCHONYANE 2004-05-28 03:21 PM
Hugh Masekela - "Thanayi" i am voting for thanayi by Hugh Masekela
monty 2004-05-28 03:44 PM
my vote goes to Brenda Vulindlela
samuel stolo 2004-05-28 11:23 PM
vulindlela this award must be given to bongani,to honour his late mother mabrr!!!
Kgosi 2004-05-29 12:01 AM
Hugh Masekela Bra Hugh has taken SA music from generation to generation. As a young person who enjoys having fun, Bra Hugh provides entertainment for both the young and old, so that means a lot of families get together and enjoy the same music. Taahhh bra Hugh and long live!!
OFENTSE 2004-05-29 02:30 AM
MAFIKIZOLO Their music caters for both young and old and in terms of music it fits in many categories, jazz, pop etc. Their music is enjoyable and suitable for different occassion, parties, weddings etc. Keep up the grand work homies.
Nombuso S. 2007-03-06 04:24 PM
Mafikizolo Ndihamba nawe I vote for theis song. Its was the first song in my life that was loved by everyone in S.A, including grandparents, parents youth and even the small children in the street, even now i'd never had anyone criticise that song. From that year Mafikizolo is still rocking.its suitable everywhere u can sing it even in churdh. oooooh

Recent Reviews

This weekend Scott Stapp, the voice of legendary rock band Creed, kicks off his world tour in South Africa. Read More »
Add your review

Ciara - Jackie

2015-07-17 12:53

Ciara’s sixth studio album has beat and sex appeal but lacks heart. Read More »
Add your review

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.