Sasha-Lee – Sasha-Lee

2009-12-18 10:11
 
Sasha-Lee
 
Power ballads are her forte. Even though she proclaimed she's a 'rock chick' on the reality show (citing P!nk and Kelly Clarkson as influences), the album has a funky, up-tempo R&B sound, and quite a few of these tracks could be serious radio rashes.

The album opener "The Game" resembles what a Jamali/Flash Republic colab could sound like, and her vocals are strong. However, she shines brightest on the emotive, gospel-esque "Sing" and the slow, melancholic "Before You".

Finally! Her duet with Jason Hartman, "I Finally Found Someone" is on disc, and don't they sound cute together? Neither one is overpowering, and it's just so flippin' great that they complement each other so well.

Her debut album is by no means flawless, however. Sasha-Lee veers dangerously into tacky territory with the techno-fabulous "How Did I Get Here", while "Sugarwood" makes her sound 14 again. "True Believer" is surprisingly one of the lesser tracks.

The cover screams outdated 90s over-exposure and she's looking somewhat racoon-like with all that eyeliner. The mesh dress, the chained-together rings and bracelet a la Sasha Fierce – who came up with this design disaster? Then I see that 'stylist' Christina Storm was in charge of the cover shoot. Remember her last porn-star effort on Munro's CD? Ugh.

While Sasha-Lee's voice is powerful, it doesn't belie her youth and she could do with some more training. That's something we knew from Idols already. But for starters, this is good. Real good.


Sasha-Lee is a great recording artist. While she's got the personality of a wooden mic and she doesn't do well under pressure, put her in a studio and you've got pop-tastic pleasure.

What to read next: Kalahari
Read more on:    sony music  |  idols

Anonymous 2009/12/21 10:52 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Listened to a few tracks - she remains an average, immature singer - some potential but definitely room for improvement. Better than Jason - NO!
Anonymous 2009/12/21 10:52 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Listened to a few tracks - she remains an average, immature singer - some potential but definitely room for improvement. Better than Jason - NO!
Skroyd 2009/12/21 1:35 PM
Im glad Sasha's Debut album is finally ready. I will surely buy it. As i did with Jason's. They both South Africans and I love to support all local talent as far as possible. To those people still hung up on the idols issue..STOP. How many of you have really bought the CD's? Stop acting immature and start supporting our local talent.
Anon 2009/12/21 1:37 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
WOW, you rock!!! Definitely better than the other who took part of your prize. Talent.. Sorry but J.H. doesnt appeal to the majority of music lovers in SA. Its the truth, keep banging in your garage thou
Adela 2009/12/21 2:45 PM
Anonymous!!! you are so jealous (average immature singer, my ass) you probably used to Karaoke style, I just listened to all the tracks, it is FANTASTIC, cannot wait to get to Musica to go & buy this CD
preshen govender 2009/12/21 3:19 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
I LOVE HER,she is better to look at then Jason
Carey 2009/12/22 7:57 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Listened to all the tracks - what a pity that Sony couldn't dignify their "Idol" with a single real instrument - all fake, electronic, kareoke-esqe backing. I really think she deserves better. Would have rated it better, but unfortunately there is more to music than just the voice.
Bra G 2009/12/23 8:34 AM
A good Talent in progress but a note of caution to all aspiring musicians-"Remain Humble" and remember its the fans that either make or break you. Peace Bra G
Lucille Matthews 2009/12/24 9:46 AM
Sam Brighton don't you have anything better to write then putting such childish comments on here. Also, since when do you have a ear for excellent music....you are a underpaid journalist that has nothing good to write, no wonder you work for News24. Your articles is not worthy do see the cover of newspapers....
LUCMAT 2009/12/24 9:51 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
The album is fabulous and I listen to it everyday. Every song has a meaning and you can hear that she sings from her heart.Her vocals is superb and the backing is excellent. You must remember that the Sasha haters inspires her to do better and to grow. She is only 19 and she has the whole world infront of her.....
NEXT ON CHANNELX
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.