Susan Boyle - I Dreamed A Dream

2010-01-07 12:54
 
I Dreamed A Dreamed
 
Without any styling, choreography or much in the way of sanity, Susan Boyle made the world's jaws drop with her flawless performance of "I Dreamed a Dream" from Les Misérables during her audition on Britain's Got Talent. It was a moment so special, so momentous that when it was posted on YouTube, it went viral and was viewed as many as 3 million times within the first 72 hours.

With instant fame like that, the real proof of her stardom is to be found on this, her debut album of pop classics, traditional standards and the odd new song. The first single and opening track is a spine-chilling cover of the haunting Rolling Stones song "Wild Horses". It might seem an odd choice for Boyle's full-bodied voice – but there is an innocence in her tone that sweetens the song for her wide and varied audience.

The song that launched her to fame follows, and nothing will ever quite match the surprise and immediacy of her initial audition performance of "I Dreamed a Dream", but there are such big moments in the song that you can't help but stand up and applaud her performance, as you probably did in front of your PC when you first saw her unleash her voice.

On record, Boyle's voice isn’t the most majestic or commanding – she is better suited to the gentle tones of hymnals "How Great Thou Art" and "Amazing Grace", but that doesn’t preclude her from giving some Madonna a go as well. On "You'll See" (from the Material Girl's mid-90s drama-ballad phase) keeps it simple and sophisticated – as she does on The Monkees' "Daydream Believer".

In the Britain's Got Talent finale, SuBo (her cool nickname) didn’t actually win the competition. No one really cared though (have you ever heard of Diversity?) but she nonetheless became the voice and image of the reality-obsessed TV era. And as a species, we're prone to fickleness – so there's no telling where Boyle will rate on our relevance scale come the next flavour of the season. I Dreamed A Dreamed is at least a worthwhile memento of how an extraordinary moment gave birth to a distinctive talent.


The internet. You've got to love her. Her powers are vast and unpredictable. How else to explain the astronomical rise and cultural phenomenon that is Susan Boyle - a frumpy, middle-aged Scottish, plain-Jane nobody who was the most famous person of 2009 (until Michael Jackson died and seemingly eclipsed the sun in ghostly form)? Ok, so her talent – a particularly well-hidden one – had much to do with it as well.

What to read next: Kalahari

Candace 2010/01/02 3:21 PM
Susan does not need to rely on gimmics and choreography becasue she can actually sing. Keep it real!
Justine 2010/01/05 8:45 AM
I agree that the first 2 tracks on the cd are fantastic, her cover of Wild Horses gave me goosebumps, but the hymns and Christmas Carols I could have done without.
THUNDACAT 2010/01/05 9:09 AM
No one should be questioning her rise to fame. With all the drivel polluting our airwaves, Susan Boyle was a revelation musically in 2009.
Pop Idol 2010/01/05 9:49 AM
No doubt she has talent but shes so dayum ugly,looks like one of these poor whites from ruyterwacht or nigel
@Pop Idol 2010/01/05 10:06 AM
See, you're a perfect example of what is wrong with the world today. Judging people by appearance only shows how shallow and worthless you are as a human being. This lady has more talent than the top ten artists of 2009 combined. I suppose you're one of those sheep that follow everything that is 'cool' because it makes you feel good inside...get a life please.
@ Pop Idol 2010/01/05 10:35 AM
You are meant to listen to her not look at her. I understand though how your mindset has been changed, if you look at the latest music videos you cant help but wonder whether most female "artists" are strippers or singers. Is there a world wide ban on female singers wearing pants in their videos or on stage? May lightening strike Madonna for starting the bloody leotard trend.
TC 2010/01/05 11:02 AM
I bought her cd, its very enjoyable and she has a beautiful voice - thats why you buy music because you want to enjoy what you are listening to :-) I think she also has a great personality, no pretence and trying to sell souless music with sex appeal
C C 2010/01/05 11:15 AM
The fact that Susan Boyle had the "guts" to enter the competition must have been Devine Intervention. She was born for this. I applaud her.
C C 2010/01/05 11:15 AM
The fact that Susan Boyle had the "guts" to enter the competition must have been Devine Intervention. She was born for this. I applaud her.
C C 2010/01/05 11:15 AM
The fact that Susan Boyle had the "guts" to enter the competition must have been Devine Intervention. She was born for this. I applaud her.
Celia 2010/01/05 11:23 AM
The fact that Susan Boyle entered the competition must have been intervention from God. She was born for this.
Fleoni 2010/01/05 12:06 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
What a voice!! I am fortunate enough to have received her CD as a Christmas gift. The look on Simon Cowel's face when Susan sang during the competition was just priceless! I wish her everything of the best and may she continue to share her wonderful gift with the rest of us.
Jo 2010/01/05 12:06 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
If it was not for the Simon Cowel incident, chances are good that I would never have bought the CD. The CD is nice, though.
THUNDACAT 2010/01/05 1:01 PM
To the editor of this article...Jive Records is not her record label, it is in fact SYCO music...get you act together.
Edwin 2010/01/05 4:05 PM
I think it's overrated. People are 'buying' the rags to stardom story rather than being objective about the music.
admirer 2010/01/06 5:53 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
WOW WOW WOW - How privileged we should all feel. She is a true miracle and a blessing. STOP always needing some scantily clad; pelvic-gyrating hooker to keep you entertained. Can't those sorts of PEOPLE please just go get AIDS at Teasers and leave us a decent world with more SuBo's to enjoy. Good on you Susan... you sing like an angel.
admirer 2010/01/06 5:53 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
WOW WOW WOW - How privileged we should all feel. She is a true miracle and a blessing. STOP always needing some scantily clad; pelvic-gyrating hooker to keep you entertained. Can't those sorts of PEOPLE please just go get AIDS at Teasers and leave us a decent world with more SuBo's to enjoy. Good on you Susan... you sing like an angel.
admirer 2010/01/06 5:53 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
WOW WOW WOW - How privileged we should all feel. She is a true miracle and a blessing. STOP always needing some scantily clad; pelvic-gyrating hooker to keep you entertained. Can't those sorts of PEOPLE please just go get AIDS at Teasers and leave us a decent world with more SuBo's to enjoy. Good on you Susan... you sing like an angel.
G Joubert 2010/01/06 6:23 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
a Huge suprise. Very good. Talent is her first name. I'v baught her cd, as well as the one of Paul Potts
Pam Joynt 2010/01/06 6:41 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
This lady has got SPUNK big time and SIS on all of those of you who have judged her negatively. I would like to see YOU go on stage, sway your hips, say what she said and then SING like she did. The CD blew us away and we (hubby and I) haven't stopped listening to it since we laid hands on it. Her makeover also is awesome and I bet that has made her confidence soar even higher - try and beat that! Here's to many more releases (which we will buy just by the way!) BLOWN AWAY
NEXT ON CHANNELX
There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.