It's been four weeks since hackers calling themselves Guardians of Peace began their cyberterrorism campaign

Brad Pitt was called to perform his civic duty but was then deemed too distracting to pull through!

Rihanna - Talk That Talk

2011-12-14 08:15
 
If the formula isn't broke, don't fix it. Call it the Def Jam way.

Take Mariah Carey: Four years after her Glitter flop, she officially bounced back with the label's The Emancipation of Mimi, one of the last decade's best albums, and she followed that with E(equals)MC2, which had the same musical plot.

Rihanna's latest, Talk That Talk, is her version of E(equals)MC2, and it's the follow-up to last year's Loud, a top-notch effort from the pop singer.

Talk that Talk is just as good as Loud, full of upbeat jams and some slower ones (albeit those are the weaker tracks), all helmed by today's top hitmakers.

Calvin Harris, a singer and DJ from London, produced the album's best track and lead single, "We Found Love." He works with mega-hitmaker Dr. Luke on the danceable "Where Have You Been," and Dr. Luke also composed the album opener "You Da One," another hit on the charts. More than the producers, Rihanna's secret weapon is Ester Dean, one of the best songwriters in contemporary music. Dean co-wrote seven of the 11 tracks.

Rihanna's raunchy throughout the new disc - her sixth effort in six years - and it works. She's downright nasty and demanding on the addictive "Birthday Cake," produced by The-Dream and Tricky, and she's schooling her man in the bedroom on the fun "Watch N' Learn." Though sexually charged, Rihanna can get away with having these played on radio, and we're not sure if anyone else could. She did it with "S&M," and will surely do it again.

Rihanna may have mastered the upbeat sound, but her slower songs need work: "We All Want Love," produced by No ID (Kanye West, Common), drags, as does the album closer "Farewell," helmed the Alex da Kid, who also produced Rihanna's hit with Eminem, "Love the Way You Lie."

- AP

NEXT ON CHANNEL24X

AC/DC - Rock or Bust

2014-12-02 15:01

Add Your Review

(Comments may be edited or deleted at the Channel24 editors’ discretion)
Kiki 2011-12-02 11:36 AM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
i dont agree, i am Rihanna fan and i love Farewell and We all need love. i give the whole album ******
Cleo Charles 2012-01-30 04:34 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Rihanna has the capability to surprise, hypnotize and stir emotions within you with everyone of her albums. This particular one is no surprise. All things are not for everyone but if you are a Rihanna fan like I am, this album is for you. You Da One is wicked to say the least and I must say she has out did herself. We found love featuring Calvin Harris is one of the popular tracks on the album and is truly a track for any girl who has fallen inlove with a bad boy and did naughty girl things with him. Rihanna is upbeat, her voice seems to mature every every new musical adventure she decides to pursue and if you want sex, drugs and beats to make you dance like a Dance-hall Queen, get to your nearest music store and get Talk That Talk
kgothatso 2012-02-16 03:12 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Riri is the best. her music is awalys in line with what the fans want. she also know how to do great music videos not forgetting her live performances. she is excellent. she always work hard to make her fans happy.
Teneale 2012-06-09 04:49 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Talk That Talk is one of Rihanna's most amazing album's yet. It proves how much she has grown in the music industry and she now has her own personal style going back to her roots and where she came from. The artists featured on her album was a brilliant choice as they are all extremely successful and all of the collaborations blew me away, there was not a single song that didn't. The album also shows the opposite side of Rihanna that everyone got used to - She takes more risks and doesn't care what people say about her or think about her - It's just all about the music and making it sound good. Definitely an amazing album and worth the buck!
ELMO WILLIAMS 2012-06-12 06:17 PM
  • Rating:
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
i love this song
Your Name
Comment
Please enter the following text
Captcha
Your rating
for this album
Rate Me...  
 
 

Recent Reviews

AC/DC - Rock or Bust

2014-12-02 15:01

The album is based on lead guitarist Angus Young's butt-shaking, foot-stomping guitar riffs, elegant in their simplicity and their ability to burn themselves into your brain. Read More »
Add your review

Morning After is moody, dark and without a doubt a must-have if you're an aKing groupie like us! Read More »
Add your review

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.